8/7 Julia PMPS 202

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday

We'll Julia cleared last night's +2 bounce of 345 like a bull in a china shop. :mrgreen: No longer can I take it for granted that she's bouncing all night. I'm going to have to do some night time testing that's for sure since she's 67 at 10.25. I'm not as bothered by the 67 since I know insulin will be wearing off soon as I am bothered that I might have missed a low, low number. However, Julia is up and fine. She's talking away. For a few AM cycles since 7/28 (minus her big bounce) we've been guiding her with food and managing to stay above 50 but getting really close with 57, 52, and 58. However, today I think I'm going to let her earn that reduction especially with a 67 at +10.25. It's one thing to be in the green's to heal but it's another to be on too much insulin when her numbers say "Reduce me!" With meter variance she could could have been below the 50 when she was 52 but today I'll let her make it official if she wants. :lol:

Our thoughts and prayers are with Ann as she grieves the loss of Maggie. And sending tons of healing vines to kitties and beans in need. Also, special prayers that Jupiter and Jamie finally can get some healing on his paw now that they have a new vet helping them.
 
Re: 8/7 Julia +10.25/67

That's just like a cat. When we think we have them figured out, they do something different. :lol: I hope Julia earns that reduction today.
 
Re: 8/7 Julia +10.25/67

Nice green! I don't think we have stopped by to say hello yet. I hope Julia gets her reduction today. Have a great day!
 
Re: 8/7 Julia +10.25/67 AMPS 72

I was rereading the protocol for reducing and for the first time noticed the part about maintaining the reduction for 7 days before reducing again. It was last Wednesday that we reduced to the 0.75 but we had 3 cycles of big bouncing and then normal bouncing for the rest of the 7 days. Should I hold her at the 0.75 dose for another 2 days or so? I'm not sure if those bouncing days really count and I don't want to reduce too soon. We shot 0.75 this morning so we haven't reduced anything yet.
 
Re: 8/7 Julia +10.25/67 AMPS 72

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me but julia's numbers sure are looking nice ! Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/7 Julia +10.25/67 AMPS 72

I'm not sure what part of the protocol you are looking at, but there is one part that refers to 7 days (bolding is mine):
Reducing the dose:

If kitty drops below 40 (long term diabetic) or 50 (newly diagnosed diabetic) reduce the dose by 0.25 unit. If kitty has a history of not holding reductions well or if reductions are close together... sneak the dose down by shaving the dose rather than reducing by a full quarter unit. Alternatively, at each newly reduced dose... try to make sure kitty maintains numbers in the normal range for seven days before reducing the dose further.
Not sure if that's the part you are referring to, but it describes another way to earn a reduction besides going under 50. If kitty keeps all numbers in a normal range (spreadsheet is pretty much all green or at least under 120) for 7 days, then that earns a reduction. Take a look at Lucky's SS. His last few reductions before the OTJ trial were all earned by going 7 days in all normal numbers.

We also don't like to take reductions too close together, because the depot from the larger dose can impact a number of cycles after the reduction is taken. However, it doesn't take 7 days to drain the larger depot. Julia's been at the .75U dose long enough that if she goes below 50, she would earn a deduction.
 
Thanks Wendy! I didn't realize it was an either or type of situation. That's what happens when I'm reading quickly at work and trying not to get caught by my boss. :-D She didn't earn her reduction today but that's fine as she still stayed nice and green. Plus, *knock on wood* I think we may be able to bounce tonight without hitting pink which I'm super happy about. I will be getting a test in the middle of the night sometime if I can wake up. I'm setting an extra alarm for that one.

carfurby said:
That's just like a cat. When we think we have them figured out, they do something different. :lol: I hope Julia earns that reduction today.

Carla - I'm waving my white flag. Just when I think I figure something out she throws me for a loop.

Thanks for stopping by! We're shooting for 49 tomorrow. :lol:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top