8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +7.25(52) +8(62)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Member Since 2012
8/6 Hershey

HAPPY TUESDAY!

Yesterday started off GREEN, quickly went BLUE, then PINK and ended YELLOW. AMPS back to PINK and now BLUE.

QUESTIONS: I'm trying to plan ahead for vacation and moving Joseph back to campus.
- This is Hershey's 12th CYCLE on .9u. In the 11 completed cycles, he has seen: 1 PINK, 2 YELLOW, 4 BLUE, 4 GREEN nadirs and has done more than his fair share of bouncing. I don't want to hold a dose too long, if we ought to be raising, but I'm thinking he still hasn't really settled into this one. Could it be because it's close to where he wants to be but his liver keeps panicking? Anyhoo - this week we have a lot of life distractions/errands, so don't want to endanger him by raising, either. :YMSIGH: We have 9 cycles before leaving for vacation.

-After vacation, we'll have one day at home before moving Joseph back to campus. That time will be an 18-hour cycle time because there is no way we can take him with us. We'll be able to test at +2 and then out the door and don't think it wise to give him more juice when nobody will be around.

So - I'm thinking we just hold this dose (until he pulls something) until after move-in, which would be 30 cycles, then the 18-hour cycles (which would reset the dose counter). I'm hoping y'all can double-check my reasoning and tell me if I'm off-track. THANKS!!

Have a great day -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)

uneven-bars.gif

AMPS (320) +12 - Shot .9u at 7:05am
+3.75 (144)
+5 (80) - fed
+7.25 (58) - eating more of +5 meal - Oreo cleaning up the rest
+9.75(106)

PMPS (167) +12 - Shot .9u at 7:00pm
+4 (69) - fed
+5 (40) - fed T 7% Friskies Pate'
+5.33 (36) - fed 2tsp 19% Friskies Prime Filets Salmon & Beef in Sauce
+5.66 (38) - fed 2tsp 19%
+6.25 (45) - fed regular LC food
+6.75 (50) - NO FOOD
+7.25 (52) - NO FOOD
+8 (62)
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) + 3.75(144)

Hi guys .. hmmm .. I really can't offer much in the way of advice .. but that +3.75 sure looks good! I'm sure others will be around soon enough to chime in, get you guys a nice little schedule going for your upcoming busy times .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) + 3.75(144) +5(80)

Hey, Devon - Nice to see you. :-D Hershey is now celebrating GREEN with a full tummy nap :lol:


+5 (80) - fed
 
Re: ??? 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) + 3.75(144) +5(80) +7.25(58)

+7.25 (58) - eating more of +5 meal - Oreo cleaning up the rest
 
Re: ??? 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) + 3.75(144) +5(80) +7.25(58)

I think Hershey was reading his condo. Great to see those greens again today on this dose!
 
Re: ??? 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) + 3.75(144) +5(80) +7.25(58)

Well, look at Hershey go! :mrgreen:
Carl
 
Re: ??? 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) +3.75(144) +7.25(58) +9.75(106

Hey, Wendy and Carl; thanks for visiting us! Hershey appreciates the compliments :-D

+9.75(106)

Today's AM cycle makes me think my reasoning is on-track...thoughts??
 
Re: ??? 8/7 Hershey AMPS(320) +3.75(144) +7.25(58) +9.75(106

Is Hershey going with you on vacation or who is caring for the kitties? You may want to think about adjusting the dose to an amount that's on a syringe line if someone else is shooting.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167)

Hey, Sienne - Both kitties are going with us for the first time. nailbite_smile Doug thought it cruel to leave Oreo home and take Hershey. Four adults and two kitties...fun? ;-)


PMPS (167) +12 - Shot .9u at 7:00pm
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167)

Hershey is doing soooooooo well. :smile:

I do think he was reading his condo. I don't see a reason to increase his dose just yet. The 58 is a good nadir, and most of his bounces are only one cycle long so I think he's making progress. If you look at Lucy's spreadsheet she bounced every morning cycle almost to the end, and holding the dose (until she earned a reduction) worked for her. If it's not a good time for you to adjust, then I would just wait. If he loses the green then I would increase, but otherwise I think he's doing well.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69)

balance-beam.gif

Hey, Libby - Good to see you! Thanks for double-checking my reasoning and the support. :-D He just hit GREEN, again, so maybe he likes this dose? (*hoping*)

high-jump.gif

+4 (69) - fed the +5 meal
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69)

Woohoo, Hershey Mint Kiss! :mrgreen: :mrgreen: Have you been watching a lot of Olymic gymnastics?
Liz
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40)

Hey, Liz - In fact, he HAS been watching gymnastics! :lol:


+5 (40) - Had debated about testing again at +4.5...guess I should've...but, thought his regular food would do it for him, especially since I heated it to make it more enticing. Now feeding T 7% Friskies Pate'

So - what does THIS do to my earlier reasoning??? :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36)

+5.33 (36) - fed 2tsp 19% Friskies Prime Filets Salmon & Beef in Sauce

REALLY should've been expecting something since we all have 9am appointments...
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36)

Hershey is still newly diagnosed and so he earned that reduction despite your reasoning :-D :-D

You are giving him something to bring him out of the 30s and retesting in 30 mins ?
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36)

Thanks, Marje. I was thinking that's what I should be thinking now...the best laid plans and all that... :lol:

He ate 2tsp 19% and I was planning to retest in :20, which is about :05 from now. Was afraid to wait :30 with him being in the 30's.

ETA: He seems to like the shaves better than the .25u...do you think the shave is okay or should we do the full .25?
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36)

Up to you on the test. I've often found it takes a good 30 mins to see food kick in.

:lol: I don't think he's giving you a choice :lol:
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36)

With numbers that are below 40, especially in a new diabetic, I'd go with safety first and reduce by the full 0.25u.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36)

Didn't see your edit until now. I agree with Sienne...I think you should try the full reduction....he's pretty low.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5(40) +5.33(36) +5.66(38)

Marje - Didn't see your :30/food note until after testing.

+5.66 (38) - fed 2tsp 19%

Thanks, Sienne and Marje - So, as of tomorrow morning, we'll try .65u. Oh, Doug is going to love trying to measure that one with sleepy eyes! @-) ;-)

Retest in :30, which is :20 from now
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5.33(36) +5.66(38) +6.25(4

Yes, ma'am, and thankful to have the calipers! :-D Doug has been using them since we got them to try to make the dosing as consistent as possible.

+6.25 (45) - Think I'll see if he'll eat a little more of his own food. I doubt it - after getting the 19%, who can blame him? Kind of like being offered plain oatmeal after just having a hot fudge sundae! :lol:

Test in :30
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5.33(36) +5.66(38) +6.25(4

Ha....that would be a tough one for me....I love plain oatmeal :lol: :lol:

Thanks for testing again in 30. He's got his reduction so he needs to come up if he wants to surf.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5.33(36) +6.75(50)

:lol: Marje - I like oatmeal in Oatmeal Raisin Cookies, or better yet, Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies!! YUM!!

+6.75 (50) - NO FOOD - want to see how he does in :30 without food
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5.33(36) +6.75(50)

Hi Libby,

Just letting you know I'm around. Everything ok? Looks like I missed the real fun!

Carl
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +4(69) +5.33(36) +6.75(50)

Hey, Carl - Thanks for checking on us. Never a dull moment with Hershey. :lol: Hoping he starts surfing soon as we have to be at the eye doctor's in less than 7 hours. @-) Guess you're working nights? Almost time to retest - hoping for 50+. Surely he's hit nadir; we're past +7...
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

Agreed on the cookies....with pecans :-D

Off to bed for me....TBP tomorrow. Hope you get some rest.

hey Carl :-D
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

+7.25 (52) - NO FOOD

Okay, with meter variance the +6.75 (50) and +7.25 (52) are the same number. Sorry, getting foggy. I need two rising numbers without food, right? Not sure I'm okay with leaving him in these numbers anyway...but, it's 2:20am...could I put off testing to an hour and grab a nap?
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

Actually I'm off the next five days. :-D
Hard to find his nadir. Some cycles it seems really late, and what I seem to remember reading is Lev can nadir a +8? Let's see what you get.

Carl
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

What do you think, Marje?
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

Carl - How sweet that you're spending your days off with us! :-D
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

It's only about :30 until +8, so I can probably make it that long. Marje usually signs off about 3am here; I think that's about midnight for her. So, she may not still be around. I'll test at +8 and see what he looks like.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

Libby,
He's already earned the reduction. You can abort the cycle by feeding him if you want to and get some sleep.

Carl
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

I've fed him 4%, 7% and 19%. He napping all fat and happy. I hate to pump him full of carbs if he's trying to surf on his own, ya' know? I'll hold until +8 and then see if I need to do that. Do you plan on getting any sleep tonight? or are you trying to catch up with newbies needing help? I had tried to keep up on HEALTH, but can't even visit within the TR group like I should, so pretty much gave up on HEALTH. :sad:
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey PMPS(167) +5.33(36) +6.75(50) +7.25(52)

Yeah, I'll sleep eventually! There's too many new members to even try to keep up with lately. And a few new ones in PZI I've been trying to help out with. And three or four here I've been watching. Never a dull moment!
I'll be here for your +8,
Carl
 
Carl & Bob said:
And three or four here I've been watching. Never a dull moment!
I'll be here for your +8

Proud to be one of the 3 or 4! :-D

+7.25 (52) - NO FOOD

I think he's okay now, what do you think?
 
I think he's okay too. He'll surf greens for a couple hours and give you a nice blue AMPS, and you will shoot the reduced dose. :smile:

Now get what sleep you can!

Carl
 
Give him a scoop of LC and let him snack when he feels the need?

Carl
 
He still has some LC in his bowl, so I think I'll crash. Thanks for the company! :-D

Hoping for a BLUE AMPS; we'll see...Goodnight I-) I-)
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top