8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+7.75(43)+9.33(48)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Doug N Libby

Very Active Member
6/7 Hershey



HAPPY WEDNESDAY!!!

OT: Two months since our last condo...Jessica's summer classes have ended and fall classes start soon. Joseph is enjoying his part-time job and management seem to like him, so that's a YAY! The kitchen/dining room renovation is mostly finished. A few finishing touches and light fixtures to be added when time/budget permits. Still trying to figure out where to put ALL the stuff that came out of the cabinets. WHO KNEW we had accumulated so much?!?! And, we went down to SC last month for Doug's family reunion. Nice to see the family, but the van decided it was time for the radiator to go (without warning, of course). Doug spent much of his time replacing that (in the pouring rain!) only to learn the head gasket was blown, too. Long story short - van was towed home and Doug is tinkering on it (in his spare time ;-) ).

OT (SAMMY): For those who ask about Sammy. We got to see him a few hours at the reunion. Good thing, too, since we don't transportation to get to him right now. :cry: He's 10-1/2 months old, is pulling up on everything and will be walking soon! I'm enclosing a picture at the bottom.

Hershey Travel: Y'all may remember all those nice greens Hershey saw when we took him to the beach (and the mountains, too!) last year. He seems to really enjoy getting away for a few days. He loved going to SC, too! (Check his SS 7/3 - 7/6) The trip was pretty last minute and I forgot more than ever before, including his Miralax! I became a little concerned about him as he stopped eating for a meal or two. We were able to get some Miralax from a family member and he started eating, again. (Not sure if no Miralax/not eating were related or not, but I was happy to see him eat!) Unaware our ride was ready, we hurriedly packed our stuff and left his box of testing supplies. We reduced his insulin to .5u (easier to eyeball than .65u) and used the iPet meter until we got it back. He was very forgiving and settled back in to his dose.

DOSAGE SAGA: He dropped below (50) a few times, but we were also moving his shot times to get him back on schedule, so I waited until he dropped below (50) three times at normal shot time (so, once he was back to 5a/5p shot time) before shaving to .55u. Dropping below (50) two of the first four cycles, I thought he was asking for a little more of a shave and we went to .5u (7/22 AM). After 13 cycles, it seemed Hershey wanted another drop or two, so back to .55u (7/28 PM). (8/5) Two nights ago, Hershey was PMPS (177) and +2.75 (53). "Warning - Danger Will Robinson!" Sure enough, it was a jammy party! He's usually easy to bring up/keep up, but that night it took a whole additional meal = 3tsp (19%) + tsp (7%). We decided to shave those drops back off, but a miscommunication delayed the shave until the following PMPS (last night - see screen shot above)

QUESTION: Hershey also had a 'spell' ... an 'episode?' I don't know what it was. He initially seemed like he smelled something. Then, like he was going to have a hairball. Then, it was a brief few moments (that seemed like HOURS!) of almost a cough/sneeze/wheeze. This is maybe the second time he's ever done this, but it was pretty scary! I've researched asthma, but this doesn't seem to fit anything I've read/seen. Maybe with the renovations/spring-type cleaning + him sticking his nose into everything, he got dust up his nose or something? It's been a while since he went to the vet (Nov, 2011) so I know it wouldn't be a bad idea to take him in for a check-up, but everybody running on one vehicle (and funneling finances toward getting another one) has put a lot on the back burner. Any thoughts on what might be going on?

WOW! Sorry - didn't mean to write a book!! Thanks for visiting us today and for dancing this dance with us!!! Hoping to get around to visit some of you in the next little while. It's taken the better part of the day to get this typed up - someone keeps claiming my attention. But, kitties are fed (:45 until shot time), kids are at work and Doug is under the hood of the van. So, maybe I've got just a few minutes. :smile:

Libby (& Hershey, too!)



AMPS (189) +12 - Shot .5u at 5:00am - Fed + 1/8 tsp Miralax
+2 (236) - fed
+6.5 (46) - tsp 7%
+7.5 (46) - tsp 7%
+8.16 (50)
+8.58 (51)
+9.5 (40)
- tsp 7% - Scarf and Barf - Given another tsp 7%
+10.83 (59)

PMPS (61) +12 - Shot .5u at 5:05pm - Fed + 1/8 tsp Miralax
+2 (72) - fed
+4.83 (67)
+7 (50)
+7.75 (43) - tsp 7%
+8.16 (50)
+8.75 (47)
+9.33 (48) - tsp 7%
 

Attachments

  • 8-2 to 8-7 Hershey forum.JPG
    8-2 to 8-7 Hershey forum.JPG
    155.1 KB · Views: 406
  • IMG_2787forum.JPG
    IMG_2787forum.JPG
    141.7 KB · Views: 402
Re: Q 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+2(71)

It's great to see a Hershey condo and to get caught up on you and the family!!

Hershey's SS looks good - great, in fact! As for the "spell," if it occurs again I'd get him checked by your vet. At the very least, they can do an x-ray to make sure it's not asthma or anything lung related. Otherwise, I'd suggest mentioning it to your vet the next time Hershey s in for a check-up.
 
Re: Q 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+2(71)

Thanks, Sienne, for stopping by and for sharing your thoughts about Hershey's 'spell.' Wish I had thought to grab my camera and videotaped a snippet of it so my description was more accurate (for y'all and the vet). But, honestly, all I thought about was trying to comfort him and pray it stopped quickly!


With Hershey being (71) at +2, I was hesitant to wait for the regular +6.5 - +7 test.
+4.83 (67)
 
Re: Q 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+2(71)

Hi Libby, it's great to see you and Hershey and get an update. Hershey's looking good. My Sammy's getting big! :o Sorry about the van, it's a pain when you are down to one vehicle.

If there is a next time for the episode for Hershey, I'd recommend getting a video of it on your phone (or camera) it you can, to show the vet. I have a friend going through a very similar sounding intermittent incident with her cat and so far all she's done is pay for a lot of tests that came out negative. :roll:
 
Re: Q 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+2(71)+4.83(67)

Hi Libby! Always nice to see you around and to see Hershey and OH MY GOODNESS...Sammy is HUGE!!!! He's like a little man! :shock: :-D Hershey is looking great and I love that he enjoys traveling and checking out all the vacay spots! :lol: :lol: Sorry to hear about his episodes. It sounds like he and Shasta have had similar "spells" except I think I've caused Shasta's issues. She's just not cooperative while syringing antibiotics. So as soon as I can get the syringe in her mouth, I unload the 1mL. :sad: Then she starts this wheezing/hacking business that freaks me out...I'm sure I've choked her with this stuff that's suppose to make her better. :YMSIGH: I have to figure out how to do this better so that I don't hurt her. I hope you can get some answers and help him feel better. We've missed you!
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+7(50)

Hey, Wendy - Thanks for coming over. Sammy is getting big; I know kids grow fast, but it seems he's growing before my eyes. Sure wish they lived a little closer. But, at least we're on the same continent...same state even! :-D Thanks on the van. I mean, you KNOW a vehicle isn't going to last forever, but it's never a good time for it to go.

Yikes on testing ($$$) and still no results. I'm hoping he won't have another 'spell,' but if he does, I'm hoping to have the presence of mind to grab my camera.

Hey, Deborah - Thanks for visiting today. I know what you mean about Sammy. Ginnie sent me a video of him toddling along holding onto a push toy we bought him and he's sooo close to walking! Jessica is hoping he'll wait a couple of weeks so he doesn't walk younger than she did. She was my youngest walker and doesn't want to lose that record to Sammy. :lol:

Sorry to hear about Shasta's "spells." I have a hard time giving Hershey anything by mouth. He'll let Doug do anything he wants to him without any fuss. Maybe because Doug has large hands or maybe because he knows Doug doesn't play around. I don't know.


**Thanks, again, to everyone who visited. I've missed y'all!


+7 (50) - Lovin' these greens, but wouldn't mind permission to go to bed at a reasonable hour tonight (well, this morning since it's 12:15am) :smile:
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+7.75(43)+8.16(51)

Hey, Michelle - Nice to see you! Yes, I'm loving the greens, too, and hate to complain about the timing of them. Hoping they mean he'll decide he wants a few less drops of juice in the near future.

Lovin' the water pictures of Nicholas, too! Jessica said he's going to grow up to be an Olympic swimmer. :-D


+7.75 (43) - tsp 7%
+8.16 (50)

1:20am - guess the going to bed at a reasonable time ship has sailed...
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+7.75(43)+8.16(51)

Libby,
It is SO fantastic to see a post from you! Nice numbers, Hersh!!!

It's been a while since he went to the vet (Nov, 2011) so I know it wouldn't be a bad idea to take him in for a check-up
BAD Bean! :lol: Schedule a check up and make it happen. ;-)

"Warning - Danger Will Robinson!"
Nice Lost in Space reference! :lol:
http://www.wavsource.com/snds_2013-08-04_1948604593204857/movies/misc/lost_in_space_danger.wav

And Sammy is adorable!
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+7.75(43)+8.75(47)

Hey, Carl - Thanks for the warm welcome back and Hershey thanks you for noticing how awesome he is. ;-) I know Hershey needs to get to the vet, just for another pair of eyes to tell me he's okay (and I'd like for her to check his teeth. I don't think they've ever looked at them.). I keep hoping the appointment will fall at a time when he's looking really good, too, maybe it'll turn her on to TR. Who knows...

I knew you'd catch the Lost In Space reference :-D It actually comes on the retro channel late night. Joseph saw a commercial for it and remarked how lame it looked. I reminded him we didn't grow up with computer graphics! Thanks on Sammy, too. We think he's pretty adorable, too. :-D :-D


+8.75 (47) - Sure hate to feed this late in the cycle. I'm going to test again at +9 and hope he's in the 50's.
 
Re: 8/7 Hershey AMPS(189)+6.5(46) PMPS(61)+7.75(43)+8.75(47)

Joseph saw a commercial for it and remarked how lame it looked. I reminded him we didn't grow up with computer graphics!
Yeah but I can also remember thinking "Oh wow! How cool is that?" A talking robot that wasn't on the Jetsons! :lol: Computer graphics? Heck, I didn't touch a "computer" until I was a senior in high school, and our school was "cutting edge" with that beautiful black screen and amber font. I remember going to work with my Dad (Electric Company) and seeing the "computer room". It was "super cooled" because these computers were the size of major appliances, and the storage was done on these huge discs that were bigger than LPs. Probably more memory on the card in our phones than there was in that entire room.
 
Oh, I did love the Jetsons - flying around in their cars! :lol: And, i remember how cool Star Trek was :-D

I didn't touch a computer until the one my FIL loaned me...I think Joseph was a baby. It used floppies. Ohhhh - I take that back. I used a computer when I went to the Summer Science Program that App State used to have for high schoolers. We actually had to write a program for a game. And, I used a computer when I was (briefly) a computer science major. Instructors were jerks and turned me off in a hurry! Anyhoo - I know about the size! We went from "The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes" (Kirk Russell, not the remake) to ... well, my camera has a 32GB SD card in it...All of a sudden, I feel like Laura Ingalls Wilder, having seen so much change in my lifetime :lol: :lol:

It's so nice to catch up with you. I do hope each day is a little easier than the last.


+9.33 (48) - tsp 7%. Nope. Don't like feeding this late in the cycle, but I'm getting stupid tired. So, feeding and hitting the hay....


Goodnight..............
 
Thank you Libby. Each day is indeed easier. Me and Bob are doing okay.

Yeah, my Ipod can store more music than a bookcase full of albums. Pretty crazy. (And yes, I still have a bookcase full of albums! And a turntable that turns the songs into MP3's so I can put them on my Ipod. :lol: Nothing like listening to scratches, pops and all that on an Ipod. Brings back great memories.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top