? 8-7 Govie amps 325/gave 1u

Status
Not open for further replies.

Govies mom (Karen)

Member Since 2017
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/new-slgs-advice.181851/
Okay so bg is back up a bit, due to last nites token dose. Had to work today, so no testing. Now I just fed her at 5:30 p.m. which raises the question that I'm running into as far as feeding times and testing times. Now that I'm off dry totally, I am feeding several times a day putting it down and leaving it. As much as you guys test here which I am working on doing myself I'm wondering if the feeding and they're eating times have anything to do with your testing times. My idea right now was I fed at 5:30 and was going to wait 2 hours to test her now tonight through the night I'll be doing the testing as I normally did during the day but because I work was unable to do today
 
The most important time to make sure they don't eat is the 2 hours immediately before shot times so when you get your Pre-shot tests, they aren't influenced by food.

Other than that, it's one of those ECID things.....Some cats can graze throughout the cycle without problems, but some do better if they get the majority of their food before nadir so that as the insulin is naturally wearing off, you're not adding carbs.

You might want to consider getting an auto-feeder like the PetSafe 5....you can set it to rotate to an empty slot 2 hours before shot times so you'll know he hasn't had any food for those 2 hours
 
The most important time to make sure they don't eat is the 2 hours immediately before shot times so when you get your Pre-shot tests, they aren't influenced by food.

Other than that, it's one of those ECID things.....Some cats can graze throughout the cycle without problems, but some do better if they get the majority of their food before nadir so that as the insulin is naturally wearing off, you're not adding carbs.

You might want to consider getting an auto-feeder like the PetSafe 5....you can set it to rotate to an empty slot 2 hours before shot times so you'll know he hasn't had any food for those 2 hours
I had been doing an am meal (I give shot while she's eating), an afternoon meal and a pm meal along with the pm shot. I would pick up the dish after 20 or 30 min. Now that they are no longer free feeding the dry, I am working on gently adjusting the amt and frequency. I must say I do notice a difference even though this is the first week off of dry completely that they do not miss it and they seem to be much more content they sleep better their fur feels better and frankly I feel better LOL
 
I must say I do notice a difference even though this is the first week off of dry completely that they do not miss it and they seem to be much more content they sleep better their fur feels better

Yeah that was one of the first things I noticed when I got rid of the dry too....all my kitties became softer and even prettier! Amazing what a species appropriate diet will do!!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top