8/7 China AMPS 271,+5 213,PMPS 340,+2 361,+5 344 Increased

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo/vet vist report


Everyone had a good night and China forgave me almost immediately for unceremoniously dropping her into the soft carrier and dragging her all over heck and back..and having to put up with that strange man that pokes, prods and peeks everywhere. Today I'm going to do some calling around...see if ANY vet closer than a 2hr drive has more experience in dentals on cats and the equipment to keep them safe through surgery. She was happy to get back home to her fuds too! Last time she went traveling, she puked all the way there so she didn't get fed after +3 so by the time we had to be on the road, she would hopefully not get sick (It worked too...she wasn't covered in ick when we got there this time)

This morning, after her test/shot, I gave her the usual 1/2 can of Natural Choice which she ate well (no faster or slower than normal though) and about 15 later puked every bit of it up (if not more!..looked like a lot more than 1/2can) This is the 2nd time in a few days she's had a major puke event so I'm a little concerned about why all the sudden she's doing that. Seems like as soon as she pukes, she's hungry again too

I'm going to once again ask for dose advice. She's just staying in the yellow so much of the time..except for when she's pink...and she's not spending near enough time blue/greens

Sending healing vines to anyone in need, and my deepest sympathies going out to Ann at the loss of her dear Maggie. All the hearts of Lantus Land are aching with you at your loss
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271 PUKE & DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Good morning Chris - glad you had a more successful car trip with China yesterday. Sorry about all the yellows and the puking - hopefully you can get some good advice today. Looks like we are in the same boat today - I asked for dosing and hairball advice. I've stepped on quite a few cold, nasty hairballs lately.... :o

What exactly are you looking for regarding dentals? Bob is probably due for one soon and I'm not sure what I should be looking for. I think my vet does ALOT of them, but I just want to make sure they have all the right equipment too (whatever that is!). :smile:
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271 PUKE & DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Dara, look in my link to Yesterday's condo. Sienne posted several links to get more information about doing a dental. They were very helpful in what questions to ask
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329 PUKE & DOSE ADVICE PLEASE

Hi guys .. No dosing or puking advice from me, sorry .. We had mocha's one and only dental done at a feline dental specialist, nearly 2 hours away .. mocha ended up having 8 teeth extracted, including her two upper canines .. she came home that same day and even ate that night .. But if we were to do another dental on her, I'd find one closer and maybe not even a dental specialist .. I think we paid a lot of extra $$$ for the word "specialist" Have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349 INCREASE 2NITE??

Well I know I've been told to give her a couple more cycles at .5, but once again I'm wondering if I should go ahead and go back to .75? When it comes to these increases, knowing the difference between a failed reduction and just needing to be more patient, I'm absolutely lost.

China just doesn't seem to be doing very well at this dose (anymore)...she's had some great numbers, but in the last 11 cycles, only had 3 greens (lowest 78, then 86,99) and lots of yellows


Is it time to go ahead and increase? Or wash the patience pants again and put them back on? Really appreciate some help on this!!

Recap of today:

AMPS 271
+2 329
+5 213
+8 349
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349 INCREASE 2NITE??

china may very well need a dose increase, but the bounce is due to break any time now (tonight) or tomorrow (AM cycle). it's for this reason that i'd exercise caution in taking the dose up at the moment (be prepared to monitor very closely) if you should decide to increase the dose. there's extra momentum/oomph placed on any given dose when one increases as a bounce is clearing. make sense?

that 349 @ +8 might be a high before a break. something we often see with kitties.


just my thoughts...
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349 INCREASE 2NITE??

Thanks Jill....no matter what, I always stay up and test until I'm sure she'll be safe...makes for some short nights though sometimes, doesn't it?? :-D

I asked a couple days ago about increasing her and was told the same thing...that it might be a high before a break...but I haven't seen the "break" part yet :sad:

8/5 Condo

That's why I figured it was time to ask again! I'll wait if that's what you guys think...just getting a little antsy to not be seeing some better numbers at this point
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349 INCREASE 2NITE??

yep, sienne's advice made sense at the time. china was clearing her bounces a little faster than she appears to be now. frankly, i do think she'll require a dose increase (you have plenty of wiggle room for a dose increase). i just wanted you to be aware of the need to monitor closely if you do take the dose up in the next cycle or two because we're nearing the 72 hour mark when *most* bounces should have cleared.

when one dose doesn't seem to be quite enough, but a higher dose drops kitty into the mid to high 40s... you can always feed to prevent that drop in order to hang onto the higher dose. i use that method with alex. maybe it's something that'll work for china...
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349 INCREASE 2NITE??

That's what I had thought too..she had been clearing bounces really quickly, but is just hanging in those higher numbers longer lately. If I don't hear any different opinions by PMPS time, I think I'll go ahead and do the increase to .75

Try to get a little more juice in the depot and see if she does any better. I have my hypo kit ready and a spare box of strips if she does throw one of her curveballs.

She does get several small meals through the day (her bigger ones are immediately after shots)...but this morning she puked it all back up about 15 minute later so have been giving her a little more per meal today to replace what she puked

I have to be gone tomorrow for a little while (to take mom to get her stitches out from having the 3 teeth pulled) but will be able to get a +2 before I have to leave (as long as I don't have to stall in the morning) Shouldn't be gone more than about 2 hours though, so as long as she's safe at +2, I should be home by +4 or +4.5

Will see where we are at PMPS and go from there

Thanks for the reply Jill!!
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349,PMPS 340 WENT TO

Well I went ahead and increased to .75 since I'll be able to test tonight. I just hope it'll be both safe and effective for China...she seems to be stuck in the 200-300's lately

Got my pajamas laid out if I end up having a PJ party!

Recap of today:

AMPS 271
+2 329
+5 213
+8 349

PMPS 340
+2 361
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349,PMPS 340 WENT TO

but this morning she puked it all back up about 15 minute later

oh! don't you just hate that??!!!!! :shock: I do. nothing worse than test, feed, shoot....relax.....oh....no....no relax. puke.

now what??!!!!!

good luck with your increase....I would have done the very same thing.

will be watching....work that juice girl!! momma is ready for a PJ party :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


~kelly
 
Re: 8/7 China AMPS 271,+2 329.+5 213,+8 349,PMPS 340 WENT TO

oh! don't you just hate that??!!!!! I do. nothing worse than test, feed, shoot....relax.....oh....no....no relax. puke.

It's especially fun first thing in the morning when you're not really awake and you're on your hands and knees cleaning it up :YMSIGH:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top