8/7 Catcat AMPS 262,+4=79,+5.5=71,+10=76, PMPS 94,+1.75=212

CandyH & Catcat

Member Since 2019
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-154-1-156-4-98-6-119-9-188-pmps-199.217809/

must have been some carryover from yesterday's doses -- glad to stay out of the pink

so sleepy yesterday I was asleep before time to test at +3 last night .. Catcat compensated, woke me up at 4:15, would NOT let me slide back into slumber, kept rustling, pawing at things, attempting to jump up and knock things down, walking up and down my sore and aching body (from the lawn repair) :mad:

so please to see that green .. c'mon Catcat, show me more :D:D
 
I hope Catcat slides down for you today. Catcat, please let momma bean get her sleep. :cat:
 
Catcat says dawn is the time to be awake .. at this somewhat northern latitude the dark is losing its grip at 3:45 even though sun won't clear the mountain to the east for hours afterwards .. and it's light out until close to 10 at night, though twilight is starting earlier now that August is here -- need to remember to stay up to watch the meteor showers coming up, next week I think
 
images
 
just a note -- removed the link to the spreadsheet I was trying to set up with World numbers -- turned out to be too labor intensive, plus I got to thinking that the only valid values to be looked at now, are those since we switched to Lantus -- too many other higher-priority things to do at the moment, than to translate USA numbers into World numbers (they're both metric -- just different scales -- the USA does use metric now and again -- soda bottles in liters, road races in kilometers, etc)
 
wouldn't that be nice ? he's sleeping so peacefully, could hope that he's dreaming of the fish as he snorkels ... more likely he's just recovering from being too hot yesterday, 81* outside but it's usually 15* warmer here in the loft -- he'd rather stay near me than go downstairs where it's cool, or outside under the trees and bushes, where there's a nice breeze from the river to the north
 
There is a world template but you put in the metric number and it will convert and plug in the US number on another sheet, not the other way.
 
There is a world template but you put in the metric number and it will convert and plug in the US number on another sheet, not the other way.
unfortunately, yes -- what I was doing was mathematically adjusting the value to the World value, then plugging it into the chart, then looking at the USA automatic conversion to see if I did it right

since I've been doing a lot of testing, to figure out nadirs, there were a lot of numbers to crunch -- I got tired of putting numbers into my handheld calculator, putting the resultant value into the spreadsheet, then flipping to the USA chart to make sure it came out right

just try putting several months of testing in, that way -- would rather spend the time WITH Catcat or doing all the other things I need to do every day
 
oh nice, nice :D:D -- he IS snorkeling in the lagoon -- +4 = 79 -- will check off and on to make sure he doesn't go diving, but he had a nice snack of LC food along with that test -- depending on when his nadir actually is -- my guess is it's either before +6, or late, around +10 -- there may be a little bit of food cushion -- I definitely do want him to get comfortable with the high end of the greens .. I'm not the organized sort of person who does the TR with ease, I'm a bit more casual --
 
oh nice, nice :D:D -- he IS snorkeling in the lagoon -- +4 = 79 -- will check off and on to make sure he doesn't go diving, but he had a nice snack of LC food along with that test -- depending on when his nadir actually is -- my guess is it's either before +6, or late, around +10 -- there may be a little bit of food cushion -- I definitely do want him to get comfortable with the high end of the greens .. I'm not the organized sort of person who does the TR with ease, I'm a bit more casual --
So happy for Catcat, you must feel so happy, and you thought Catcat would never see such great numbers. Keep it going Catcat
 
no telling if he went lower today, but looks like he was surfing those upper greens, with just a nibble of LC food now and then, and a few no carb treats :cat::cat:

one of those days when you wish for a CGM -- continuous glucose monitor -- only that would never work on Catcat, he's too narrow in the shoulders, too flexible, he easily scratches his neck and ears with his hind feet :blackeye::stop::rolleyes:

never thought I would see a "flat green" --- :D:D:D:D
 
no telling if he went lower today, but looks like he was surfing those upper greens, with just a nibble of LC food now and then, and a few no carb treats :cat::cat:

one of those days when you wish for a CGM -- continuous glucose monitor -- only that would never work on Catcat, he's too narrow in the shoulders, too flexible, he easily scratches his neck and ears with his hind feet :blackeye::stop::rolleyes:

never thought I would see a "flat green" --- :D:D:D:D
That is so awesome, Tyler is jealous now lol, keep it up Catcat looks like the switch to Lantus is working better than the Vetsulin
 
oh you betcha -- would have started out on Lantus, vet did recommend it, but there were financial considerations --

hadn't found the Supply Closet here yet .. and I had a lot to learn .. Vetsulin did give me a crash course ... LOL

so glad now, too, that a couple of dogs will benefit from the leftover insulin -- none of the cat rescues here locally had need for it, but Second Chance Dogs' coordinator put me in touch with the Red Waggin group, they have two, maybe three, dogs who need it .. one is a cute yorkiepoo who looks almost like a cat himself
 
oh you betcha -- would have started out on Lantus, vet did recommend it, but there were financial considerations --

hadn't found the Supply Closet here yet .. and I had a lot to learn .. Vetsulin did give me a crash course ... LOL

so glad now, too, that a couple of dogs will benefit from the leftover insulin -- none of the cat rescues here locally had need for it, but Second Chance Dogs' coordinator put me in touch with the Red Waggin group, they have two, maybe three, dogs who need it .. one is a cute yorkiepoo who looks almost like a cat himself
That was so nice of you to donate, how much does the Lantus cost you, I see 2 or 3 people selling Lantus in the supply closet here
 
one Lantus pen came from basically an estate sale, the heirs posted (Craigslist) they were looking for someone who needed the stuff but couldn't afford it at full price -- I told them my story and we agreed on $25 plus I had to drive more than an hour away to get it, gas cost me probably another $10

the partly used vial and pen came from another member here, so it cost me basically a favor, a hug, and the gas to retrieve it

someone in the next town over has an unexpired unused vial if I need it, she's asking $50 .. however I may already have enough for a year, if each pen will last 6 months; I'll use out of the vial until it loses its oomph -- could be any time now, I'm hearing duration is something like 4 months from first opening and it was first used back in February, still half full
 
one Lantus pen came from basically an estate sale, the heirs posted (Craigslist) they were looking for someone who needed the stuff but couldn't afford it at full price -- I told them my story and we agreed on $25 plus I had to drive more than an hour away to get it, gas cost me probably another $10

the partly used vial and pen came from another member here, so it cost me basically a favor, a hug, and the gas to retrieve it

someone in the next town over has an unexpired unused vial if I need it, she's asking $50 .. however I may already have enough for a year, if each pen will last 6 months; I'll use out of the vial until it loses its oomph -- could be any time now, I'm hearing duration is something like 4 months from first opening and it was first used back in February, still half full
Did you happen to see them for sale here in the supply closet, like I said I saw a few people selling them
 
OK -- tested a few minutes early just in case we had to delay -- good choice, first attempt at PMPS was 94 -- obviously he's on the way up from +10 when he had only a tablespoon of LC (have to use that, to get a test without claws and teeth) -- and yes to get this test I had to give him another spoonful --

last time I bit the bullet and shot at 129 -- and he gave us pretty much a flat cycle for the first three hours -- hate to lose this progress -- if I skip, he'll be back in the high yellows if not pink at AMPS -- so I'll test again in a few minutes, he won't get a food spike for another hour, I'd guess
 
(sigh) -- last time I shot on a low PMPS he did okay at least for the first part of the cycle, but bounced into pink on AMPS, possibly he went too low later in the night, even though I had Friskies (acts like MC for him) down for him to graze on all night

I'm not up for a pj party tonight, so I'm going to skip, he's anxious for food, clawing at the cabinet, meowing piteously (he rarely does that) -- will be a high AMPS again I'm sure, followed by a flat yellow day, but the day after that .. could be good again

green is my favorite color, I'd like to see a whole lot more of that
 
Lantus is better at holding lows than pushing numbers down. While he may bounce anyway, you could consider a BCS (Big Chicken Shot).
 
Lantus is better at holding lows than pushing numbers down. While he may bounce anyway, you could consider a BCS (Big Chicken Shot).
he's had his dinner and it's an hour late (and I haven't done a followup test) -- what's a BCS ? haven't heard that one before

@MrWorf'sMen's Mom
 
It's a reduced dose shot basically used to try to keep momentum as much as possible without flirting with a PJ party. So for instance you could knock the dose back to 0.5u or even 0.25u for the night just so he has some insulin on board. It still messes with the depot and you need to start recounting but might help keep AMPS from being quite as high.
 
shoot late works like a decrease anyway, right? Catcat is NOT going to be happy in the morning

I'll try to take an early test without any food, see what we're dealing with then, feed him a scantier meal at the regular time

then do I schedule his injection an hour and a half later than usual (8 am instead of 6:30), evening shot at 8,

then next day shots at 7:30/7:30, then 7/7, and finally back to 6:30 ?
 
Back
Top