8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 /6 382

Status
Not open for further replies.

tortie58

Member Since 2012
Previous
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76435
Yesterday:
A black AMPS which slowly came down to a blue at PMPS, purple recorded at PM+7
@Roni; thankyou for your visit.
Today:
Heavy rain during the early morning hours at outskirit of the city, a hot & sunny Monday. Today marks the start of Autumn in the old Chinese calendar. I cannot believe half a year gone already...Amazing how time flies.

AMPS 410 gave canned breakfast & 1u (w food at +2)

:?: Today will be the 6th cycle of Rosy on this 1u. I havent see any improvement with her bg. If no green for this PM, I want to take her up to 1.1u Advice needed.
 
Re: 8/6 Rosy AMPS 410/ 5 311 Dose increase?

AM+5 311 Rosy slowly coming down into the purple.
 
Re: 8/6 Rosy AMPS 410/ 5 311 Dose increase?

Rosy, whatcha doing up there? Guess you are hunting Rupert who has decided that the Red floor was worth exploring this evening! I'd be thinking a dosecrease is required but I"m sure someone will check with you to confirm! I upped Rupie back to the 2.25 since his shave wasn't holding.
 
Re: 8/6 Rosy AMPS 410/ 5 311 Dose increase?

Aww...Pip sorry that Rupert is not holding his reducie but he is doing much better than before. Hope he can work the juice & come down from those red floor.
 
Re: 8/6 Rosy AMPS 410/ 5 311 Dose increase?

Hi Helen!

Sorry about the icky numbers in the past few days. I was looking over your SS just now. I think, unless I'm counting wrong, this is the 5th cycle on 1.0u, and tonight will be the 6th cycle, correct? Given that today is most likely (and hopefully!) the day when the new dose of 1.0u will show it's settling in, and considering that today's AMPS is 100 points lower than yesterday's, I would (optimistically, of course) suspect that this may be a sign that the dose might do some good things for Rosy yet.

Remember the protocol - and of course I know that Rosy is a special kitty, with her high sensitivity to minute dose changes - and the guideline of giving the new dose 3-5 days? She's had nadirs from 130-140 since she's been on 1.0u as well. Here's the quote from the TR Protocol Sticky:

Increasing the dose:
Hold the dose for 3 - 5 days (6 - 10 consecutive cycles) if nadirs are less than 200 before increasing the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 200, but less than 300 increase the dose by 0.25 unit.
After 3 days (6 consecutive cycles)... if nadirs are greater than 300 increase the dose by 0.5 unit.


I know you're understandbly anxious about those high numbers. Still, I'd give this dose another day and see if you get another, even lower AMPS, and whether there are any other signs that this dose might do some good on Rosy's SS. IMHO.

But I'll defer to objections of course. Just my protocol-based input :smile:

Happy Monday!
Jane
 
Re: 8/6 Rosy AMPS 410/ 5 311 Dose increase?

Helen

Yikes...what is going on Rosy? Is everything ok with her? Mod you think you could have a bad pen even though you just changed it? With these numbers, if you take her up, I'd do more than just a fat. You might think about a .25u increase.

Something just doesn't seem right......
 
Re: 8/6 Rosy AMPS 410/ 5 311/ 9 353Dose increase?

AM+9 353 this is an hr after canned food.
Usualy Rosy's usually low at this time but today, different. Hope she's following the LL curve somehow.
What did I do different today? I did not turn on the aircon. The temp is not very hot. Ive got 2 fan turned on . Rest of my cats are sleeping.

Thanks Jane & Majorie for the advice. Yes, this is totally strange. Other than the wonky numbers & Rosy's still weak hind legs, I cannot find anything suspicious about her.
I talked to my vet today (which he's not helping much with DM!) & asked him if I should do a blood work to rule out any infection. He said infection will not cause bg to rise! nailbite_smile
This is not only a new pen but a new box I got on Jul 22nd.
I'd expect her PMPS to be much higher because she is on the rise now.
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410/ 5 311/ 9 353 PMPS 292Dose increase?

PMPS 292 gave canned donner &1u
Tested -ve for ketone, glucose 50/2.8
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410/ 5 311/ 9 353 PMPS 292Dose increase?

Hi Helen, sorry about the wonky numbers for Rosy and hope we see some good news today with her cycle. The comment with the bloodwork. I was wondering when her last b/w was done? Might not be a bad idea, as things can change even with recent bloodwork. Rosy, how about coming down today. You also mentioned the heat as a factor. I think I'm rambling. Take care, Helen.
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 Dose increase?

Thanks Ann for the thoughts! I have been thinking about all these for days but cannot figure out why the wonky bg.

PM+3 356 gave steamed chicken
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 Dose increase?

Hi Helen,
Perhaps you should take Rosy to the vet and insist on a blood panel. If something is not right, the bloodwork will show it. Even if your vet doesn't know much about FD, he should know about any other conditions that the bloodwork might indicate.
I agree with Marje that you should increase Rosy's dose by .25 of a unit. You don't want her sitting in these high numbers for a long time.

Autumn comes early in the old Chinese calendar! Maybe it will signal a return to more comfortable temperatures for you and all your kitties.

Have a good day. And Rosy: you can come down now that that threat of a dose increase has been made!!

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 Dose increase?

Thanks for the visit and feedback just now, Helen. I'm glad you're getting a lot of input on this. I'm sending you pretty-numbers vines for this cycle!
Do you think you'll take Rosy in for bloodwork, to see if there's something else going on?
Jane
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 Dose increase?

Yes Ella & Jane.
I've made an appointment with my vet to bring Rosy in tomorrow morning for a blood work to rule out anything hidden.
That will be a general blood test, anything in specific I should ask for?
I'll increase her dose to 1.25u (an increase of 0.25u) tomorrow AM. Judging from her current, unlikely there will be any breakthrough!
Since I stay home taking care of my cats, I can monitor her in case she goes low, no worry.

Thankyou for all the advices from everybody on LL! I wish to get an answer to the cause of that big flat- U Lantus curve of Rosy! Will post the blood work result tomorrow.
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 Blook work?

First, the vet is incorrect. Any infection or inflammation, whether it's a UTI, gingivitis, or something else will have an effect on BG. Illness is a stress to the system in that the body is trying to fight off the infection. Stress causes corticosteroids to be released and they raise BG levels.

I would get a routine blood panel, including a test for thyroid, and a urinalysis.
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 /6 382Blook work?

Thanks Sienne for the input. Yes, we all agree that my vet is not correct in making that statement. :lol: However Ive got to somehow rely on him for the caring of my cats, so I did not try to argue with him.
Tomorrow I'll take Rosy to his clinic for a full blood test. Hope he can have some finding.

PM+6 382
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 /6 382Blook work?

I agree -- you have to pick your battles.

You mentioned you had gotten an entire box of pens. It is possible that one pen can be bad. It is also possible that the entire box was mishandled. (I've had both happen.)
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 /6 382Blook work?

Hey, Helen -

So sorry about Rosy's numbers. Hoping the bloodwork helps you figure out what's going on.

Have a great night ... or is it day there?

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 /6 382Blook work?

Hi again, Helen,

I'm sending Rosy good bloodwork vines for tomorrow. I won't be on the board until late tomorrow, so just wanted to say that I'll be thinking of you.

Hugs,

Ella & Rusty
 
Re: 8/6RosyAMPS 410 PMPS 292/ 3 356 /6 382Blook work?

Hi Helen,

I hope the bbloodwork gives you some answers without showing anything too bad. Have a good night! We have to get that little girl down!

Melanie & Racci
 
Rosy, just because Rupert is showing off on his trampoline again doesn't mean you have to follow him up there and make goo goo eyes at him! Really, your crush on Rupert is very very obvious.. and I think he's playing hard to get!

hope you get some answers in the bloodwork. Come on down Rosy!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top