8/6CharliePM385+2 301+3 265+5 182+6 130+8 112+9.5 108+11 110

Status
Not open for further replies.

charliesmom

Member Since 2012
yesterday

Still in the pink but in a good mood this morning. Wish I didn't have to go to work today.

Happy Monday everyone.

Pray that we have no leukocytes or ketones! Vet appointment with urine test at 12:30.
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374

Good morning, Jill!



We know you like pretty pink, but why not try a different colour, ok? Now that you've got some pink sparkles in here, it's not like you have to go without :mrgreen:

Jane
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385

Hi guys,

My head is full of cobwebs this evening from a very high stress workday, information overload, and a lack of sleep lately due to my sweet little sick Charlie. I'll try to summarize the latest status from my partner's trip to the vet this morning, but if I can't answer everything please understand why. I'll do my best. I cannot exactly explain the vet's reasoning on all of this, as I wasn't there and could not take off work. Here's an overview of the current status and assumed next steps:

Here goes:

- On the spot urine test showed that there are STILL leukocytes/white blood cells in the urine. However, the vet put the same urine under the microscope, and she couldn't see any infections or crystals in it when she looked at it like that. Everything else according to the test strip came out normal (no ketones, no blood in urine, etc).

- Due to the leukocytes though, our vet still thinks this is a sign that there's an infection. She specifically thinks it's a bladder infection of some sort. As I've said before, Charlie doesn't exhibit ANY of the signs of a typical bladder infection (peeing outside litter box, straining to pee, blood in urine itself). However, due to the leukocytes, our vet wants a follow up test. Still, she thinks Charlie doesn't have kidney disease or cancer. How she could know this, I have no idea. She told my partner that it would be more clear from Charlie's behavior that she was real sick, and since Charlie doesn't have blood in her urine, still has a healthy appetite, is not real sick and is not only peeing small amounts, our vet perceives that this is not something bigger.

- The vet agreed to do a urine culture and sensitivity test as a next step. We have to wait a week until next Monday to do this, as the vet says Charlie still has antibiotics in her system, and it's best to allow some time for this to clear first.

-In the meantime, we will revert back to the holistic meds ("Bladder comp liquid").

- The vet looked at our stats and she too thinks we should hold Charlie's dose at .5 for the time being and keep testing. She also pointed out that some cats take a very long time to get regulated, and others never get regulated.

So the plan is to hold the dose, give the bladder comp, and return NEXT Monday to do the urine culture and sensitivity test.

During this next week, we are thinking about getting a bit more strict on a couple of variables in order to see if we can bring some more control over Charlie's numbers, enabling us to get more "data ready" and at LEAST learn where Charlie's nadir is. We were thinking about giving Charlie very fixed amounts of just 1 kind of food at very specific intervals for the coming week (just to see if it would help the vomiting stop, and give us a clearer idea of the nadir point).

Currently Charlie is sick one day, feeling better another, and her activities and levels of eating (plus types of food) vary from one day to the next. We consistently feed ONLY wet food under 1-2% carbs, but the type of food varies. We're giving her different types of food on different days, and maybe (just maybe) one of those foods isn't sitting well with her and that is producing the vomiting? Also, perhaps the nadir will be easier to find once Charlie has a more strict eating schedule & routine?

Meantime, let's hope for no MORE vomiting and diarrhea and LESS red and pink!
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385

Hope Charlie sees some better numbers. Sending leukocytes-be-gone vines.
Liz
 
8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385 + 2 301 vomit

Charlie just threw up again. :sad:

"Every day is a winding road."
- Sheryl Crow
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385 + 2 301 vomi

Hi there! My girl civie is a Charlie too :smile:

Orange and Charlie and I are sending some get better wishes!

Hang in there with the numbers, they will improve! Most (all?) of us started with high numbers and bouncing around all over the place. Just look at the first couple of weeks on Orange's or any other kitty's spreadsheet. And, even if they still continue to bounce over time, you will have more data on your kitty and know to handle it better specifically for her.

Nice to meet you!
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385 + 2 301 vomi

Hopefully the vomit was just from the stressful day and vet visit.
We're sending get all better soon vines to Charlie.
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385 + 2 301 vomi

Thanks Julie and Orange. That's what people tell us. Bounces and high numbers are something we're sort of getting used to. It's the low numbers, vomiting and diarrhea that makes us worry about the old girl. We are in it for the long haul, so I'm hoping in a couple of months from now, we'll be off the roller coaster and on the more stable path. Let's hope so as this drama is action packed over here. Great to meet you guys too. Thanks for sharing your story.

For some reason, we can't open up Orange's SS. FYI.
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie AMPS 374 +3 364 +7 340 PMPS 385 + 2 301 vomi

Thanks Dyana. Charlie didn't go to the vet today. Just her urine did.
Really not sure what's causing all the throwing up.
 
Re: 8/6CharlieAMPS 374+3 364+7 340 PMPS385+ 2 301vomit+3 265

Hi, You may want to ask your vet if Charlie might have bladder stones, if that was not already checked. One of our other cats showed stones on her xray, and our vet determined the irritation caused her infection. He surgically removed the stones, gave antibiotics and she has not had any recurrence.

Limiting Charlie's food variation sounds promising too. When we switched our cats from dry to canned, we tried a variety of FF Classic pate flavors that were low carb, no wheat gluten and no chicken. That left only a few choices and yet clearly some worked out better than others for our cats. Long story short, after observing the vomit vs. various flavors, we feed them the same flavor all the time now, much less food vomiting, and one less variable to consider in this ongoing journey. Good luck to you and Charlie !
Leslie
 
Re: 8/6CharlieAMPS 374+3 364+7 340 PMPS385+ 2 301vomit+3 265

Thanks for the note Leslie. When your cat had bladder stones, did she show any signs (difficulty or painful peeing, etc)?
We switched to chicken tonight after the 7pm vomiting (which I thought might have been cause by the von fienstein pate that we gave Charlie).
Just walked into the other room and found that she had thrown up AGAIN (this time with the chicken). Gave her lots of water and will keep trying out foods, but like others have said earlier, I think there's something else going on that may not even be UTI related (GI bug? I dunno).

Here's to a peaceful rest for old Charlie girl tonight.
Jill
 
Re: 8/6 Charlie PMPS 385 + 2 301 vomit +3 265 +5 182 +6 130

HI Jill, When Pearl had her bladder stones we did not notice her having any difficulty or discomfort peeing. She had a persistent brownish discharge and after we figured out it was not simply a lack of grooming we got her checked. The vet xrayed her and we could see a bunch of little stones in her bladder. Isize or location made them unsuitable for removal by flushing out so he removed them surgically. That was about 3 years ago, since then she has had one similar infection that was treated with a single antibiotic injection, and no signs of new stones on xray. If you are wondering about bladder inflection, stones are something to consider.

Re food, here the food vomit seems to have subsided, however one of our cats is still throwing up hairballs way more than when she was eating on dry food. Sometimes its just whitish slimly liquid before she actualy gets the hairball out sometime later. I guess the wet food is not enough bulk or fiber for her so we are going to give her a bit of canned pumpkin to try to smooth out her process.

I hope you both get some peaceful rest tonight!
Leslie
 
Re: 8/6CharliePMPS385+2 301vomit+3 265+5 182+6 130+8 112+9.5

Hey, Jill -

Sorry about the vomiting; I know it's frustrating when you're trying all you know to try. I hope the vet can help you figure out what's going on with Charlie.

Have a great night -

Libby (& Hershey, too!)
 
Re: 8/6CharliePMPS385+2 301vomit+3 265+5 182+6 130+8 112+9.5

Jill

What a day! I wondered there is something in the food or some variable we aren't considering that is making Charlie throw up. After she vomits, does she still act hungry or does she act like she feels sick?
 
Re: 8/6CharliePMPS385+2 301vomit+3 265+5 182+6 130+8 112+9.5

Bounce is breaking - yay! Hope Charlie is feeling better.
Liz
 
Re: 8/6CharliePMPS385+2 301vomit+3 265+5 182+6 130+8 112+9.5

Hi Jill,,

I'm just wondering if you tested her thyroid gland? That can cause vomiting and upset stomach if she's hyperthyroid.

Melanie & Racci
 
Thanks everyone. Set the alarm and woke up every few hours to test last night. This is going to be a rough day at work.

Marjorie: Charlie usually acts hungry after vomiting. It's almost as if that little eternal pit in her stomach that is always liking to be filled says, "OK, I'm empty again, now feed be". I haven't noticed Charlie having a lack of appetite after vomiting. Quite the contrary. Sometimes it takes a few minutes but it doesn't take long for her to look for more food.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top