8/6 Tashie AMPS PMPS=356/+2=144/+2.75=98/+3.75=73 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8/6 Tashie AMPS PMPS=356/+2=144/+2.75=98/+3.75=73

Status
Not open for further replies.

BorisV

Member since 2013
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=101571

Okay so I completely HATE myself! HATE myself! I did something bad but I was panicked.

Get a before bed test last night and it was 535. The night before it was 527 and I did NOT get a before bed test and somewhere in the night she went low and in the morning she was "only" 312 .... which is a LOW PS for her! As the numbers from the two nights were SO similar I got a before bed last night - which was a +2.75. She had dropped to 279 from 535 ---- that is a drop of 256 points in less than 3 hours! Yikes! And I was just SO SO tired! Wrap my head around the fact that I'll HAVE to stay on top of her as she could go REALLY low......okay, gearing myself up - setting alarms on my phones etc; financially get into bed KNOWING that I won't sleep anyway as I am a horrible sleeper as it is ...... my head going round and round ...then the phone rings and a family member had been rushed to the hospital with a possible brain aneurism (D.H.'s family) and he was freaked and I HAD to go with him.......but ALL I could think of was Nataschia .......what if she goes too low....OMG! How long will I be gone OMG!

.......so, in my tired state I did a complete no no ......... I put some DM dry down as I knew she would eat and that she wouldn't dive bomb. I should probably have used MC food but I just didn't have time to think this out - we had to go.

We were gone most of the night but home for her AMPS --- no surprise that she was HIGH! She was doing SO well on the dose decrease and I have just ruined it! But, at least she didn't have a Hypo.

I really think that she is responding well to the .5U and I am keeping ALL her carbs UNDER 5% ........ how long does it generally take to get the dry out of her system? And, once she settles down, can we start this new dose all over again, or, does it not work like that?

I need to completely ditch the dry food. Need to TODAY! I just reached for what was fast and what would work.

On the family member - he has just been life flighted up to Cleveland Clinic and I think going straight into brain surgery - yikes!
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH -My fault had to abort the cycle!

Wishing for your family member to make a full and speedy recovery, and am also wishing for Nataschia's #s to settle down very soon for you. Try and have a good day.
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH -My fault had to abort the cycle!

OK, this is the part where I talk you off the ledge ;-)

First, prayers for DH and your family.

Second - hating yourself is not allowed.

Third, you didn't mess anything up. That was a big drop in three hours and would likely have caused a bounce even if she didn't keep dropping or go really low.
The dry food will be "gone" before her next shot. It doesn't take that long to digest. And it won't affect her numbers once it makes it to the litter box ;-)

Lastly. Ditch the dry. Today :-D
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH -My fault had to abort the cycle!

Hey Bern! Listen to Carl - he is the voice of reason!

I hope your family member comes out of surgery ok. How scary.

You know, if something like that happens, you can always put down high carb canned food. I'm not giving advice, just telling you what I have done in the past. When I couldn't come home to check on Bob during the week he was on canned food and I knew he would go really low, I put high carb canned food in his timed feeder. Weruva CAts In the kitchen makes pouches of Tuna & Pumpkin Soup and Bob loves it because of the tuna so I knew he would eat it. It's like 21% carbs, but better than feeding the dry. I'll send you a couple if you want to try it. I also gave him the Grandma's chicken soup, but there was a chance he wouldn't eat that one. I have a plethera of canned food left so I can send Tashie a care package with some high carb she may eat instead of you having to syringe feed her the HC when she goes really low. Send me a PM with your address.

Don't be so hard on yourself. Everyone knows how it feels to be scared for your kitty. That's why I've cut Bob's insulin in half at times, but then regretted it later.
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356

Thanks guys for not slapping me silly today - believe me, I did it for you - especially when she was +6.5=313! Gurrr .......but the little beast has given me a PMPS of 356 - wants to keep me on my toes! That is anther "red alert" number for me .........PLEASE PLEASE Tashie, I need SOME sleep tonight :-D just don't drop 100 pints an hour like you did last night! But you can get your toe nails painted GREEN, okay?

Carl: you are SO "Bosley" ....... thanks for talking me off the ledge today I really needed it! THANK YOU!

Dara: Will PM you later ....... :-D :-D :-D
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356

Hi Bern, how about putting Tashie's name in your first subject? We can all probably guess who it is, but give her a little credit. :lol:

Following on what Carl said, our number one concern here with the kitties is safety. You gotta do what you gotta do if you have to leave and can't monitor. That drop probably did contribute to her High this morning, but at least you could go out and deal with a family emergency. We're sending along a bunch of healing vines to DH's relative.

And Tashie, please listen to you mommy and have a safe gentle slide, maybe down to some upper blues tonight.
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356

Gees! Wendy! I am COMPLETELY brain dead today! Sorry! Yeah, you can guess who it is huh?!!!! Favor ......can you "refresh" my dead brain on what the +2 number "usually" tells you? I am SO tirde and need to know what kind of a night I'm in for ..........BUT NO COOKIES! I SWEAR!!
 
Re: 8/6 AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356

BorisV said:
Gees! Wendy! I am COMPLETELY brain dead today! Sorry! Yeah, you can guess who it is huh?!!!! Favor ......can you "refresh" my dead brain on what the +2 number "usually" tells you? I am SO tirde and need to know what kind of a night I'm in for ..........BUT NO COOKIES! I SWEAR!!

Here ya go, Bern:

Example of a typical Lantus curve:
+0 - PreShot number.
+1 - Usually higher than PreShot number because of the last shot wearing off. May see a food spike in this number.
+2 - Often similar to the PreShot number.If lower than PreShot number expect an active cycle.
+3 - Lower than the PreShot number, onset has started.
+4 - Lower.
+5 - Lower.
+6 - Nadir/Peak (the lowest number of cycle).
+7 - Surf (hang around the nadir number).
+8 - Slight rise.
+9 - Slight rise.
+10 - Rising.
+11 - Rising (may dip around +10 or +11).
+12 - PreShot number.
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356

Thanks Kat! Really appreciate .......I have it filed "somewhere" but I'm a little tired since I haven't slept now in .....well, lost count! TRYING not to think about it! Thanks for getting this to me - just printed out! your a gem!
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356/+2=144 YIKES!

Well then! No sleep for me! Here I go getting my gravy strained - and my LC whipped up for the syringe! Little bugger! She would do this to me tonight! If I don't post for a while it's because I'm cleaning bathroom drawers while I'm in "lock up" with her! .......here we go!
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS =HIGH/+6.5=313/PMPS=356/+2=144 YIKES!

Jeez Tashie, dramatic much?? You just want all the attention! :lol:

Bern, I don't remember, does Tashie eat at all between her shot and +2? If not, maybe you can use food to slow that drop down a little? (but just a little Tashie, don't worry!) :-D
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS PMPS=356/+2=144/+2.75=98

Well, amazingly enough, she DID EAT! And twice! And then had a pile of turkey! She was a piglet tonight (quite unusual) ...... I just syringed her some MORE food to TRY to get her to slow down - if she continues, I will have to pull out the gravy early as we are SO early in the cycle and she seems to nadir late (figures, huh?)!!!

Think it will be a L O N G one!

But, she is being REALLY REALLY sweet today - like SO sweet! And I also noticed her little back legs were "operating" better, even on the hardwood floors! That's a GOOD thing!
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS PMPS=356/+2=144/+2.75=98

oh ...what a lovely sight:

:mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:


:mrgreen:
:mrgreen:
:mrgreen:


KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK YOU 2!
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS PMPS=356/+2=144/+2.75=98

Just to add.......she has been dropping, on average, 100 points an hour both last night & tonight ....... what's up with that? I mean, that's a LOT! Yeah? I have to wonder if it's the TURKEY??? She has this "fascination" with eating TURKEY ..... and that is when all of this started to happen???!!!
 
Re: 8/6 Tashie AMPS PMPS=356/+2=144/+2.75=98

Okay so I completely HATE myself! HATE myself! I did something bad but I was panicked.
I think most of us would have panicked in a similar situation. You at least had the forethought to put out some HC food. Ok, canned would have been better, but who knew when you would even be home again.

Your DH's family member with a possible brain aneurysm trumped taking care of Tashie for a bit. Think of what you did as aborting a cycle. Nothing wrong with that. We've all done it.

You'll get Tashie back on track.

Sending prayers and healing thoughts to DH's family member. Hugs to you and your DH.
 
Just to add.......she has been dropping, on average, 100 points an hour both last night & tonight ....... what's up with that? I mean, that's a LOT! Yeah? I have to wonder if it's the TURKEY??? She has this "fascination" with eating TURKEY ..... and that is when all of this started to happen???!!!

I might be mistaken, but... I seem to recall reading here at some point that back in the "old days", when somebody figured out that low carb food was the key to diet for diabetic cats, that was noticed when they fed turkey to their kitty or kitties? My understanding is that plain turkey is zero carbs. So if she's eating lots of turkey, it's doing nothing to bump up her numbers. Which is a GREAT thing, really. Just not something that is going to prop up the numbers when they are falling.

Everything good?
 
Thanks for all the well wishes for DH's sister's "significant other" of like 30+ years - ???!!! We won't go there!

Okay, I think I have the Tashie Girl on a SLOW drop - she's in a GREAT mood (?) even with Mrs. Pokey on her case! She is so silly ....... the very first time I syringe fed her I got scratched to H & back - in fact, she left one of her nails IN me! Then the second time I wore leather gloves .......she was WILD and hated the whole process - and that was with much smaller syringes! Now, I am SO proud to say that I do not "burrito" her, the syringes are huge and she guzzles it as if she is taking milk from her momma .......just shows you what you CAN finally accomplish with perseverance! THANK YOU ALL for helping me get to this place ..... still have a LONG way to go but it is getting easier every day and I am seeing my baby girl start to look and act so much better! This horrible disease has brought us closer and she is just blossoming - she's always been SO shy but she seems to be lapping up all the attention .......maybe that is why she is SO dramatic with her numbers - she's come out of her shell and wants to be a little show off!

Signing off now - going to watch some TV, try not to fall asleep - will have ALARMS set for testing just to be safe ...... but not need to have a full blown pajama party......but, Marje, THANKS for having PJ parties with me and teaching me what to do .....makes it SO much easier when you get a little confidence! Now, that's not to say that I won't EVER freak again, but not tonight :mrgreen: :mrgreen: :mrgreen:

night night!
 
Carl, we cross posted .......

I might be mistaken, but... I seem to recall reading here at some point that back in the "old days", when somebody figured out that low carb food was the key to diet for diabetic cats, that was noticed when they fed turkey to their kitty or kitties? My understanding is that plain turkey is zero carbs. So if she's eating lots of turkey, it's doing nothing to bump up her numbers. Which is a GREAT thing, really. Just not something that is going to prop up the numbers when they are falling.

She is just being a turkey fiend! BUT, she also gets wet 5% & under - but I think the turkey is helping her with the lower numbers - now, yeah, I'm a blonde but I am not giving her the turkey RIGHT NOW :lol: :lol: :lol: I am giving 5% to help her cruise along a bit with GRAVY FOOD ready to go if needed. Don't like to do the Karo unless it's a "911"
The little Princess is getting "gourmet" turkey breast that has no MSG etc; .....who knew she'd even eat that? She's just ALWAYS been a crack addict! Maybe turkey is the new crack?

I might be mistaken, but... I seem to recall reading here at some point that back in the "old days", when somebody figured out that low carb food was the key to diet for diabetic cats, that was noticed when they fed turkey to their kitty or kitties? My understanding is that plain turkey is zero carbs. So if she's eating lots of turkey, it's doing nothing to bump up her numbers. Which is a GREAT thing, really. Just not something that is going to prop up the numbers when they are falling.

Everything good?

With DH's sister's whatever --- Eh, not really ......they have to get the swelling off the brain before they can do surgery - doesn't look too good. He's at the Cleveland Clinic though and if they can't fix it, probably can't be fixed - ya know!

Night Night!
 
Tashie looks good for now keep up the good work there, it's hard not to be hard on yourself sometimes :lol: i was so tired from 3 nights and days with Lucky i could not think so glad those days are behind us. so sorry to here of family and brain surgery I sat thought that 3 times with my son it's very stressful. Sending healing vines. Blessed be
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top