8/6 Sushi pm 79 Hypo- 40s for couple hours +5 47 +6 50 +7 45 +8 66

Sushi

Member Since 2018
Sushi isn't showing symptom right now. He napping in the window. I just want to know if I should be giving him more HC food/corn syrup.

Lantus 2 units
I have been testing every 15 mins.
+2 45/ 42/35
+3 40/46/ 45/48
+4 41/42/ 50/44
+5 47/50/47/46
+6 50/50

Condo
 
Last edited:
Yikes, I’ve never experienced a hypo, but if my cat tested in the 40s I’d be pushing a little high carb. Maybe try a tablespoon of gravy, or a spoonful of regular food with a drop of corn syrup.
 
Hi. Good to see you!
Keep testing each half hour until he is staying up over 50. They can wobble up and down a bit. If under 50 feed high carb and or honey. If over 50 you can feed some normal low carb. You will need a couple of hours with no food and up over 50 before you can leave him. I like them up a bit higher than that... in the higher greens.
Sushi has earned a reduction in dose down to 1.75.
If he’s not high enough to give a dose at AMPS you may need to skip.
 
Hi. Good to see you!
Keep testing each half hour until he is staying up over 50. They can wobble up and down a bit. If under 50 feed high carb and or honey. If over 50 you can feed some normal low carb. You will need a couple of hours with no food and up over 50 before you can leave him. I like them up a bit higher than that... in the higher greens.
Sushi has earned a reduction in dose down to 1.75.
If he’s not high enough to give a dose at AMPS you may need to skip.
I’m so glad you found the thread. I couldn’t figure out how to tag you.
 
Because that was a long struggle to keep Sushi up during this cycle, I think it would be a good idea to skip the next shot to drain the over full depot. And then shoot the reduced dose of 1.75 at the shot after the skipped one.
What do you think @Bobbie And Bubba? I am just wary after that over full depot with Tucker that resulted in that very low number a few weeks ago. And we don't know how low he dropped in the AM cycle today as there were no tests.
 
Because that was a long struggle to keep Sushi up during this cycle, I think it would be a good idea to skip the next shot to drain the over full depot. And then shoot the reduced dose of 1.75 at the shot after the skipped one.
What do you think @Bobbie And Bubba? I am just wary after that over full depot with Tucker that resulted in that very low number a few weeks ago. And we don't know how low he dropped in the AM cycle today as there were no tests.

Sushi's at 82.
 
Looking at your SS....what times are you shooting?
Is it around midnight in NY at the moment?
And can you confirm you are in the PM cycle at the moment?
 
Because that was a long struggle to keep Sushi up during this cycle, I think it would be a good idea to skip the next shot to drain the over full depot. And then shoot the reduced dose of 1.75 at the shot after the skipped one.
... I am just wary after that over full depot with Tucker that resulted in that very low number a few weeks ago. And we don't know how low he dropped in the AM cycle today as there were no tests.
I agree. Since Sushi has been so hard to bring up and we don't know what he did in the previous cycle, I think the only safe thing to do is to drain the depot.
 
How positive are you that Sushi was given a 2 unit dose?
Just covering all the bases here. We've had cats in the past who were mistakenly given too much.
 
Even though you are going to skip the next dose, you will need to keep testing Sushi after the +12 because the insulin could last for up to 16 hours.
I have to go out and collect kids from school in about 15 mins and will be gone for an hour, but will try and look in on my phone. Keep testing each 30 mins for now until we know he won't drop again and feed as necessary. If he is not dropping, just give him a teaspoon of normal low carb. If he drops again go back to the syrup and HC and test every 20 mins.
 
Back
Top