8/6 Skooter PMPS 209 +1.5 114 +2.5 83 +3.5 100 +5 89

Status
Not open for further replies.

MollynSkooter

Member Since 2014
the HOLY #%(*()#$ Condo (08/05)

I am still not certain if I can come home during lunch, but I am still a little worried about shooting, just with how he has been diving down so.....

going btb for an hour before T/F/S time, so we shall see where he is there. Just thought I would get this up in case anyone could take a peak at it.....
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125

You're right -- this is a hard one to call. At +11, it looks like numbers are heading up. It still begs the question, though, if Skooter will decide to take a dive if you shoot and, there's no way to know for sure.

Skipping, if you feel that's the best decision, will allow the depot to drain a bit more quickly. Skooter did fine when you skipped on 8/2.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163

His AMPS is 163, which I think is his version of a bounce and I am not comfy with him going higher than he is.

So I will shoot his 1.5u and figure out a way to come home to test him during lunch...
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163

I think that's a good call Molly since he's moving up without food. Hopefully he'll get a decent food spike before you have to leave so you can feel better about leaving.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163

Last cycle was fine and he has a higher rising AMPS so that makes me feel more comfortable. He is also getting less insulin so ...That would be great to come home during lunch so you don't worry and in case he dives. Sending a prayer for Skooter to surf safely.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163

What an exciting day for Skooter yesterday....surf if safely today, Skooter!!!
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143

Ugh, this cat is gonna kill me...


SKOOTER LISTEN TO YOUR MOMMA - SAFE SURFLY OR ELSE!!!!
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143

Hi there :cool:

So much for the bounce . . :lol:

Time to surf Skooter!

[youtube]/watch?v=XZMjMi2Vz_A[/youtube]
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143

the thing to remember is that cat's patterns change as they move through phases in FD. what he did before isn't what he's doing now. As his pancreas is healing, which you can see it is because his dosing needs are reducing, he is putting out insulin to supplement what you are injecting.

Hopefully you carbed him before you left and left food out for him.

you've moved into a really intense phase, molly, but just hang onto your hat and hopefully Skooter's going to slide into Home OTJ Base before long! :-D

didn't you say your sis is here visiting from Germany? was that you? if so, could she get a crash course in testing and help you out for a few days?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143 +5.25 47

HOLY CRAP! This cat's mission is to give me a heart attack!

I am not shooting him tomorrow morning at the rate he is going, regardless of his number....I thought I was safe.......

Ugh....the 47 is a combo of two tests a 51 and 43 as I didn't believe the 51.....

I hadn't thought to leave out MC or HC food before I left because I thought he would surf for me....soooooooooooo wrong!

I gave him some HC food and retesting soon....

This may not be a true 911, but I am gonna have to go back to work at some point, so HELP!!!
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143 +5.25 47

you can't take it out once it's in, molly, so just do the carb-poke low numbers routine until he's safely up.

if you have dry food, you could give him some . . . not a great choice cuz it might mess things up. but it would bring him up and keep him there.

best option since he's not too low - i'd give him gravy and retest in 30.

can you stay home for a couple of hours then go back in?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143 +5.25 47

i can't stay on with you now, but wanted to just encourage you that you do know what to do. hang in there.

any way to take him back to work with you? i don't know what you do or how feasible it is? anyone have an office he can hang out in?

just keep up the routine.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52

Taking him with me is not an option. UGH!!!!

I am trying to get someone to cover what I needed to start doing at 1215 but not having much luck...I have a message into my boss.......
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +11 125 AMPS 163 +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52

Molly, this could last for awhile so I hope you can someone to cover for you until it is safe to leave. Idt's only 15 minutes since you fed Skooter so it might not have kicked in yet. Some cats take 25-30 like Max.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62

It looks like it is starting to kick in.....he has not had any food since +5.25......
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62

At this point, I am already gonna be late....it would be great if I could leave my house by +6.5 to +7....which is still pushing it.....
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62

If you have kibble handy - you could try a few like 3 or 4 pieces. In general it takes longer to hit the blood and longer to clear .
There was a member who used this method when she knew she would be gone long.

One caveat is there is no telling how long kibble would take to show up in Skooters BG. . .(like before you have to leave to return to your job or not)
others may have experience and know. . .

Like Julie said, not the best option, however no others are coming to my mind. . .
Hopefully someone who may have been in a spot like this can offer guidance
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72

This isn't going to help you NOW, Molly, but I'd say this is s great argument for getting that timed feeder. Then you could set it to turn every 30 minutes or so and give him some MC. Whatever you do, I'd definitely suggest leaving plenty of food available when you do leave.

Good luck. Sending safe surfing vines! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72

Tricia - I did order one and it was supposed to arrive this week. Then got an email from them yesterday saying they cancelled my order because it was on back order and they were not sure when it was going to come back in. The ones I have seen in pet stores are for dry crap and not wet food. So hopefully tonight will have some time to breath and look for another source for one.

I am going to test at +6.5, which is an hour and fifteen minutes from his last eating. If he is still rising at that point, I will leave some MC out in a couple spots and just go on faith (as that is all I have at this point) that he will be ok......


I know I shouldn't be looking ahead, but I don't see myself shooting tomorrow morning....

Also, he technically earned a reduction today, do I take that reduction since he just earned one yesterday morning? Or do I need to wait to see what his numbers are tonight?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72

I hope your boss is a cat person.

I have heard people here say that when the BG goes low, the cat will naturally look for food to bring it up. So, hopefully, if you leave plenty of food out for him, he will be fine until you get home.

Also, I found that just a few (4 - 5) dry kibbles made Oliver's BG go way up. (I found this out by accident. I wasn't trying to raise his BG. I was just trying to tempt him to eat his canned food. Mistake! The kibble really caused a jump.)

Hang in there! I really think Skooter is heading for OTJ.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72

I don't want to feed him any dry because 1. I don't want to drive up his numbers TOO much and 2. He has done so well without it, I don't want to run the risk of him then not eating the wet food.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +1.25 143 +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72

Molly, I agree about the dry food. Only when there is no other option would I do that.

Where did you order the feeder from? Here is the one I use:

PetSafe Automatic Feeder

Looks like you have two rising numbers so far without food influence. Is that correct? If so, and your next number is higher than the last, I'd say you're good to go. Good idea to leave food out.

Sending safe surfing vines.....
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

I feel like crying.....I want him to be safe, but I do have to go back to work at some point......

As for the timed feeder, does that one give the option of adding the ice blocks to the bottom to keep the food nice and fresh?

At this point, do I feed him more?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

There are ice packs you can get. I bought one but haven't taken it out of the box yet. Max is such a sissy I think he will be afraid of it. I really need to try it out or return it. They are cheapest from Amazon.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

That is what I am trying to do, I have someone covering right now, but I can't ask them to do it all afternoon.....

I have told Skooter, this is ok to do on weekends and Friday and Saturday nights....but the work week is different......
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

Just throwing this idea out there so others can comment on it

If she were to skip tonight (barring Skooter bouncing high) and let the depot drain a bit, then resume the 1.5 tomorrow, do you think that might keep Skooter safer, while also giving Molly a "night off" to relax and recharge her batteries? I know she has to be riding on the edge of exhaustion

I know she's thinking of not shooting in the morning, but it seems like if she skips tonight instead, it would drain more of the 1.75 depot so make shooting the 1.5 tomorrow safer for Skooter

Remember, the last time she skipped, he hardly noticed..no big bounce high (for those who haven't followed her journey lately)
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

One thing to remember about the dry food...it's just a one shot deal and even if his numbers skyrocket, they WILL come back down. When you do have to leave for work, how long will you be gone?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

If you need to, you can abort the cycle and just give Skooter a good amount of HC or MC now that you see his numbers coming up. I'd also leave some MC food out.

For later:

I think you could probably reduce Skooter's dose tonight a bit more so his depot is drained and you don't have to keep making yourself a worried wreck.

Here's the link to the feeder I ordered last week after mine died.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

Yes that was his last food.....

I am doing his +7 in about 10 minutes
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 8

OK...so his +7 was a sizeable jump compared to +6.5.....

If I leave out some MC food in a couple of different places, will he be ok do you think until +10.5?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 8

Petco carries those PetSafe 5 compartment feeders here locally. maybe for the rest of the week you can get one tonight somewhere local.

looks like he's doing ok at +7. I'd leave him maybe 3oz of low carb food right now so you can go out.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

Looks like Sienne and I are thinking in the same direction tonight.

Whether to skip tonight completely or give a reduced dose and let the depot drain a bit.

If skipped, it would give Molly the whole night off to rest and relax, and hopefully drain enough to make the 1.5 totally safe tomorrow...but with the possibility that it drains too much and sets them back a little on their OTJ journey

If a light dose tonight, she'd still need to test tonight (not as much hopefully though) and leave a little more in the depot than skipping....but with the possibilities of setting him back a little, or having a repeat of today since the depot didn't drain as much as a skip would.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 8

With the one you are talking about Julie, can I add the ice thing at the bottom to keep his wet food fresh?
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 8

Skooter - BEHAVE YOURSELF FOR THE REST OF THE AFTERNOON!
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 8

Sienne and Gabby said:
If you need to, you can abort the cycle and just give Skooter a good amount of HC or MC now that you see his numbers coming up. I'd also leave some MC food out.
I agree.

eta- I'm glad you managed to wrangle some extra 'lunch' time from your workplace and that Skooter is coming up. :cool:
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61

Molly, the feeder I sent you the link to does have a place for an ice pack. That's the 5 meal one. The two meal feeder does not appear to have a slot for ice. This one does not come with ice packs, but the CatMate one does. I had some left from an old feeder, and I ordered some more. They are about 3.5"x8"x.5".
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.25 47 +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 8

Molly, I, too, am a single cat caregiver, so I understand the stress not having anyone else to depend on when you have an emergency. I was thinking about what I would do if I were a situation like you had today - having to go back to work. I think I would drop Oliver at the vet and ask them to monitor him. Of course, my vet is only 2 blocks away and I have been their client for 25 years. They will do pretty much anything I ask them to do (for a $$$price$$$, of course.) Anyway, while you are getting Skooter regulated - or off the juice - maybe you could talk to your vet about helping out in these situations.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 81 +10 157

So kind of at a loss and not really sure what to do for tonight's shot or tomorrow morning's shot....

Technically he earned a reduction down to 1.25, I know he just earned one yesterday, but after today's shooting of a 163 brought him down to a 43, I am inclined to give him the reduction to 1.25, thoughts?

I know that some people were throwing around ideas of maybe a lesser shot today or no shot tomorrow morning, I just don't know enough about how the depot works to know what to do with him. Normally I would say, pffft, 157, shoot it no fear, but today I shot a an AMPS of 163 after a +11 of 125 (so he was definitely trending up) and look what happened.....

Any help/advice would be greatly appreciated. Shot time is now about 30 minutes away. I am willing to do what I need to for Skooter to go OTJ as that is really where he seems to be heading and at night and the weekends, (except this Friday :-D ) I don't mind the not doing things and the exhaustion as much, but my biggest worry is during the work day. There have been so many stories of people saying they come home from work and there the cat is in a hypo episode. I am hoping after shooting him to run to the pet store real quick before his +1 and see if I can find even a two compartment feeder I can start using in the short term at least and pick up some more food as I noticed this morning I only have enough through tomorrow.

Also with all the excitement going on I have forgotten to increase his raw and decrease his wet....I am thinking I will stay with the 1/4 5.5 oz can and 1 teaspoon raw until he goes OTJ or gets a bit more regulated...that might be a little stress lifted off....
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 81 +10 157

Hi there :cool:

Since I will not be available from 8pm to 11pm eastern tonight I'll just review the suggestions others have made here today-

Chris & China said:
Just throwing this idea out there so others can comment on it

If she were to skip tonight (barring Skooter bouncing high) and let the depot drain a bit, then resume the 1.5 tomorrow, do you think that might keep Skooter safer, while also giving Molly a "night off" to relax and recharge her batteries? I know she has to be riding on the edge of exhaustion

I know she's thinking of not shooting in the morning, but it seems like if she skips tonight instead, it would drain more of the 1.75 depot so make shooting the 1.5 tomorrow safer for Skooter

Remember, the last time she skipped, he hardly noticed..no big bounce high (for those who haven't followed her journey lately)
Sienne and Gabby said:
I think you could probably reduce Skooter's dose tonight a bit more so his depot is drained and you don't have to keep making yourself a worried wreck.
Chris & China said:
Looks like Sienne and I are thinking in the same direction tonight.

Whether to skip tonight completely or give a reduced dose and let the depot drain a bit.

If skipped, it would give Molly the whole night off to rest and relax, and hopefully drain enough to make the 1.5 totally safe tomorrow...but with the possibility that it drains too much and sets them back a little on their OTJ journey

If a light dose tonight, she'd still need to test tonight (not as much hopefully though) and leave a little more in the depot than skipping....but with the possibilities of setting him back a little, or having a repeat of today since the depot didn't drain as much as a skip would.

Regarding taking another reduction so soon - hopefully others will chime in.
I myself did it many times - however keep in mind it was a long way down for BK and we were often in 'free fall'

eta - err on the side of caution and think about safety, which includes making sure you don't get too strung out.
You need to stay as sharp as possible.
If he is meant to go OTJ it will happen when he is ready. :cool:
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 81 +10 157

If it were me, I'd shoot the 1.5 tonight and see how it goes. He's obviously coming up, and as long as you're able to test tonight and have all the supplies, I'd hate to see him lose the great momentum he's built up....but I don't know how tired you are so this is a decision you're going to have to make.

It's too soon to really say what might happen tomorrow

There's no way for anyone to know how much the depot will still be in play tonight.

Your choices are to shoot the scheduled dose and do what you have to do tonight....if he drops below 50 again, reduce tomorrow

Shoot a reduced dose tonight and see what happens...you may or may not have a long night depending on the depot

Skip tonight and let the depot drain and shoot 1.5 tomorrow

I'll be around tonight to hold your hand if you need it

Since he did so well the last time he skipped, I think you could do either choice 2 or 3 if you need the break. He'll get back on track soon enough
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter +5.5 52 +5.75 62 +6 72 +6.5 61 +7 81 +10 157

And just to add to your confusion, if you're going to skip a shot, I'd skip tonight. Often, you don't see the effect of a dose change during the cycle where you reduce. The effects are seen a cycle or two later. It can take a while for the depot to catch up.

However, if Skooter bounces high, you may want to shoot tonight.
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter PMPS 209

I will cry if that was a fur shot, I didn't feel the needle go all the way in, but I don't always.....I am probably just being paranoid.....

I am gonna be ok with the yellow as it is barely over the yellow line and if that is what he is calling a bounce, I shall take it....

I am off to get his food and run an errand and plan to be back by +1.5 to get a test in and see what kind of night I will be having.....

wish me luck!
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter PMPS 209

Looks like our posts crossed each other Sienne.....

He has been shot, so I guess I shall just deal with it lolol

Dearest Skooter.....

Mommabean needs you to be a good boy in your AM cycle tomorrow and then your AM an PM cycle on Friday......after that, you can have fun...but please, please please behave at the above metioned cycles.....
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter PMPS 209

As long as you have cat food, test strips and chocolate, I'm sure you'll be fine tonight shooting the normal dose. :-D

I'm looking forward to watching the Skootershow tonight to see how he does. Hang in there, Molly. You're doing an awesome job!
 
Re: 8/6 Skooter PMPS 209

Thanks Tricia :)

I am on my way out to get some more Skooter food as I will run out tomorrow and then a pit stop for a few supplies for momma....want to be home by +1.5 to test him....
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top