8/6 Onyx - AMPS 346, +2 344, +4 236, +6 277

Status
Not open for further replies.

Onyx & Klepto

Member Since 2013
Good afternoon, LL!

So I have a confession to make--and I hope I don't get yelled at too much.

We'd decided to fast-track Onyx since she was showing no signs of improvement, and I was supposed to increase her dose this morning .5 (2.25U). Well, I spent the day yesterday thinking about how sensitive she was 3 weeks ago to her original 2U dose, which was what made me find FDMB in the first place. Well, thinking about that--along with how everyone says that sometimes the tiniest amount can make all the difference--I considered only increasing her today .25, bringing her to the original 2U. When I went to bed last night, I decided I'd see how her numbers looked overnight, then I'd decide when I did her AMPS today. Well, she was staying even in the mid 300's, no bouncing up into the 400's (I think), and her AMPS was the lowest it's been since I started home testing (346). Soooo, I decided to follow my gut and only increase .25. Well, I'm happy to say I just got the lowest reading in nearly 2 weeks at her +4 (236), so I'm crossing my fingers I made the right choice. If it ends up being a fluke, I figured it wouldn't hurt anything, and I would go back to the .5 increase after 4 cycles. I just couldn't get out of my head how sensitive she was to 2U before, so for peace of mind, I had to see what would happen.

On another note, the Weruva and Halo Freeze dried treats came today, but of course, she got annoyed at me for putting them in front of her. UGH!!! Of course Klepto loved them both like they were candy-coated-crack or something...lol. But I'm not giving up on her. The Weruva has no cat food smell to it, so if there's a chance of bringing her over to the "wet side", it will happen with this one. I'm sure of it. If not, the Young Again will be here in a few days.

I'll give more test updates later.

:smile:
 
Evening....
I won't fuss at you.
I'm glad to see a little improvement there.... I hope you get some more yellows tonite. And a blue would be even better.

Hope you find a food that interests her soon....
 
Thanks, Rhiannon. It might not be a huge improvement, but it's enough that she's actually been playing today. Something she hasn't done all year. I'm crossing my fingers for a blue or two tomorrow.

And she might not be interested in any wet foods yet, but oddly enough I did just find something that she liked: Coconut Oil! I rubbed some on some bald patches she won't stop chewing at, and she got really excited. I think she's gonna have fun licking it off later...lol.
 
So I have a confession to make--and I hope I don't get yelled at too much.
Nope, no yelling here. We might nag a little bit to get another test now and then or tell you to put on your patience pants. ;-)

We made a suggestion and you didn't feel comfortable with that. That's perfectly ok. You know you cat better than we do.

Let's see how this increase pans out over the next day or two.

Then, you can go up another 0.25U. ;-) if needed.
 
Thanks, Deb. I have a good feeling we're almost there. I can't wait to see what her numbers are like tomororw. Just having the numbers in the 200's and low-mid 300's today has had such an affect on her. It's so nice to see her happy, flirting, and playing. Let me ask you this, if we can get her in the 100's, can we hold her there for a little while to let her pancreas start to heal? Or will we have to keep going for the greens?
 
It's better to get Onyx down into the lower blues and greens to give the pancreas time to heal. It may be a while before we get her there.
 
Sounds good, Deb. Seeing a little bit of movement is making me really positive today, so I'll try to keep my "realistic hat" on...lol.

Thanks for your help.

:smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top