8/6 Newbie Adjusting Dose

Status
Not open for further replies.

sirswithin

Member Since 2013
AMPS 250. Adjusted dose from .75 unit to 1 unit this morning after nearly two weeks on insulin. Will check levels at +5 and +9. Just coming over from the Main Board.
 
Welcome! When you post, you should include kitty's name and the numbers you've gotten so far in the cycle. So it would go '8/6 Grady AMPS 250 - newbie adjusting dose.' It's sort of the standard way everyone posts. Looks like you got some pretty blues recently. I hope the bump up gets you back there again. Glad you found us!
 
Hello and Welcome :-D

Don't worry about the pink number this afternoon Sometimes cats will go up when starting a new dose. We call that NDW (New Dose Wonkiness) and it could be just a bounce from the blue number yesterday. He may have gone down a little farther than that 155 by +6.

I'm glad you found your way here.

Keep on keeping on, and keep on asking questions, so we can help you.
 
Welcome to lantus land!!

People here feed different ways, some feed twice a day, some give mini meals and some (like me) leave food out all day for their grazers.. Personally I prefer the latter two since I wonder if a big meal twice a day will spike BG.

Wendy
 
Hi Dwayne & Amie-& Grady---and Welcome to Lantus Land!!!

I'm Kat and Gobbles is my sugarboy-in-remission. We're from NE Ohio. Gobbles was diagnosed 11/17/12 and had his last insulin shot on 5/16/13--he was OTJ ("off the juice") in exactly 6 months. I'm glad to see you're posting here on the Lantus Tight Regulation group. Do you plan on following the Protocol? It is a very good way to get Grady into remission.

Please be sure to ask ANY questions you have. It looks like you are doing a very good job with testing, which is awesome and will help build "history" as to how Grady reacts to insulin. You may also want to weigh him once per week and note that on his SS, as well as any changes in eating and litter habits.

Are you testing for ketones? It is extremely important that you do. That's another thing you may want to jot down on your SS.

Do you have a hypo kit ready? Extremely important as well.

Hang in there--you are doing a great job!!!
 
Welcome to Lantus Land!

I'm assuming you're Dwayne and Grady is the sugar kitty. Here's the link to your first post on the Health board.

It looks like Grady is beginning to respond to Lantus. It was a good call to increase his dose. You're doing a great job with home testing. I'm hoping that someone directed you to the starred, sticky notes at the top of the Board. Here's an overview:
  • Tight Regulation Protocol: This sticky contains the dosing protocol that we use here. There are also links to the more formal version -- the “Tilly” Protocol developed by the counterpart of this group in Germany, which was also published by Kirsten Roomp & Jacqui Rand, DVM in one of the top vet journals.
  • New to the Group: Everything you wanted to know about this forum and more. Info on our slang, FAQs, links to sites on feline nutrition and to food charts containing carb counts, how to do a curve and the components to look for, important aspects of diabetes such as ketones, DKA, and neuropathy, and most important, info on hypoglycemia.
  • Handling Lantus: how to get the maximum use from your insulin and what to not do with it!
  • Lantus depot: This is an important concept for understanding how Lantus works.
  • Lantus & Levemir: Shooting & Handling Low Numbers: What data you need in order to be able to work toward remission or tight regulation as well as information if you have a low pre-shot number or a drop into low numbers during the cycle.
You may want to read the "New to the Group" and the "Tight Regulation Protocol" stickies first as a way to get oriented.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top