8.6 Murphy amps 262 | Feline Diabetes Message Board - FDMB

8.6 Murphy amps 262

Status
Not open for further replies.

Carol & Murphy (GA)

Member since 2015
Murphy has had a strange few days
It all started Thursday afternoon when he was having what seemed like a great day when he inexplicably went from 148 @+6 to 260 @+8 - he was high the rest of the day and night. He ate a little wet food after the +6 on Thursday so that is what I attributed the spike to -
yesterday, he was 133 @ +5 then again went to 220 @+7 and stayed high. He did not eat anything between the +5 and +7 or the rest of the afternoon yesterday
It's like suddenly the Levemir is wearing off after 5-6 hours
 
Last edited:
I see you wrote in "hairball" yesterday afternoon. If it was brewing from the day before it can raise numbers. I'm doubtful Levemir is only getting 5-6 hours of duration. With SLGS if most nadirs are under 150 for 7 days which he's had a few, you continue to hold the dose after doing a curve. IMO you don't need a curve as you test more than enough. He's had a few under 150 but barely so if it were me I'd take him back to .75u.
 
When Polly's numbers inexplicably climb at odd times, I eyeball my paper towel stash. Hairball a-coming. Sometimes they'll even brew for a day or more. Sure hope it's something that simple for Murphy.

Good wishes for the dosecrease!

Marilyn and Polly
 
Good morning, Marilyn It was just a little hairball - nothing like the really big ones he gets occasionally - maybe he still has a big one in there

just really strange how the numbers shot up so suddenly at around +7-8 in the last few days
:confused:
hope you and Polly have a good day - it's a beautiful day here - low humidity, cloudless skies, high of 80
 
I try not to overanalyze each individual cycle to figure out why something is happening. I'm saner that way. :smuggrin: Cats are by nature unpredictable. Neko's nadir wanders all over the place, based on many things. Hairballs and constipation are factors as are mini bounces. Some cats are more carb sensitive than others so a 9% can make a difference, and some cats spike based on the type of protein.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top