8/6 Morgaine+3 127.+6 138,+10 144 more ?s

Status
Not open for further replies.

skybar22

Member Since 2010
yesterday

Not much change since yesterday. We had such a lovely first day on this 2.50 u dose and now we are creeping up a bit. Just wondering if Morgaine's body responds to decreased number by raising them a bit even if she is not hypo. Has anyone experienced this? I was reading some articles by Dr. Rand last night and this was mentioned but generally the cats are on much larger doses and have higher BGs, at least to start. I am thinking that Morgaine spent a long time in what I thought was remission with borderline numbers and this may be her "normal". If so, how do I change that or do I keep raising the dose every 10 cycles? Does anyone ever try a .50 increase to see if that normalizes things? I know her numbers look very good but I do see a pattern of response here every time I increase. Maybe she will come down more today. Paws are crossed.
 
Re: 8/6 Morgaine A<PS 181 more ?s

Hi
I was going to suggest, early cycle spotchecks, like around +3 or so once in a while in either cycle,...u have mid cycle numbers but i wonder if we may be missing current nadir as it isn't always necessarily at the +5, +6 mark, nadirs can change,... What do u think?

As for the dose, some of us fatten the dose - that may be an option for u, but see what others can add thru the day.
Either way blue amps are just as good!
 
Re: 8/6 Morgaine A<PS 181 more ?s

Generally, doses aren't increased by 0.5u unless the cat is generally experiencing nadirs that are over 300 or if the cat is already on a larger (e.g., more than 5 or 6 units) of insulin. I do understand your point about maybe shaking things up, though. It's something I'd have to think about and I'd want input from Libby and/or Jill, as well.
 
Re: 8/6 Morgaine A<PS 181 more ?s

skybar22 said:
yesterday

Not much change since yesterday. We had such a lovely first day on this 2.50 u dose and now we are creeping up a bit. Just wondering if Morgaine's body responds to decreased number by raising them a bit even if she is not hypo. Has anyone experienced this? I was reading some articles by Dr. Rand last night and this was mentioned but generally the cats are on much larger doses and have higher BGs, at least to start. I am thinking that Morgaine spent a long time in what I thought was remission with borderline numbers and this may be her "normal". If so, how do I change that or do I keep raising the dose every 10 cycles? Does anyone ever try a .50 increase to see if that normalizes things? I know her numbers look very good but I do see a pattern of response here every time I increase. Maybe she will come down more today. Paws are crossed.
you've received some excellent responses. i agree with sandy's comment about NDW. we see it happen over and over again. i like ronnie's idea to get some random spot checks. nadirs can be early or late. it's possible morgaine is dipping lower than we know earlier or even later in the cycle. mix your spot check times up a little. maybe the spot checks will offer more information than we're seeing now.

as far as increasing by 0.5u rather than 0.25 unit...
with the numbers you're seeing i think it's best to hold each dose for 6 cycles and then increase by 0.25u only. like sienne, i get wanting to shake things up, but morgaine has been throwing some high greens. there's not a whole lot of wiggle room if an increase of 0.5u ends up being too much insulin. you might have a heck of a time bringing her numbers up.

fwiw, just my thoughts...
 
Re: 8/6 Morgaine A<PS 181 more ?s

Thanks everyone!

I did a +3 and she was 127. I feed her at +3 and will check again at +6. I will also do a +10 later and see where she is.

I am comfortable going with .25 increases every 6 cycles if need be and I agree that I do not want to increase by .50 with these numbers. Glad I am getting similar thinking about what is happening with her.
 
Re: 8/6 Morgaine AMPS 181,+6 138,+10 144 insulin ?

So I checked her at +3, +6 and +10 and these numbers are not any lower. I am really not sure what to make of this and I do have concerns about continually raising her dose as I am wondering if the insulin may be starting to lose a bit of its potency and if that is the case, giving her higher doses could really cause a dive. I am unsure what to do. Does anyone think I should open a new vial and see if that changes anything? I have 2 unopened in my refrigerator as I get them sent to me 3 at a time. All have expiration dates of 12/11. If not the insulin then it seems Morgaine has a hard time holding a dose increase without numbers going back up in a day or two. I am seeing a difference in how she behaves with numbers near 100 as opposed to those near 140 and above. She begins to drink more and pee more often. I would say that we are now at numbers where I thought she was in remission but they are closer to her renal threshold in actuality.

Jill, are 6 cycles really enough to determine if a dose is working, especially if it seemed to be so good the 1st day? I know there are no simple answers to any of this. I hate to waste inslin but I am wondering what you all advise on this. I have never had insulin start to go bad on me. It has either been fine or it has gone bad but nothing in the middle. does Lantus lose some of its potency slowly? Am I just not being patient enough?
 
hey hi

good morning, may I suggest you repost your last post of follow up questions into your new condo for the day?
just to make sure Jill will catch it.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top