meatball_mommy
Member Since 2013
Well I apparently screwed up royally. More explanation below for how I got here so I can get feedback on where I interpreted wrong, but for right now - here's where I'm at (Please note that I TEST WITH AN ALPHATRAK)
AM + 10 362
PMPS 364
Upped to 2.25 units from 2.00 units (based upon how I thought I was interpreting protocol - more below)
PM + 2 152: knew I was in trouble at this point)
PM +3 51: following hypo guidance. Gave food, ate well.
+3 and 20 minutes: 72 and gave tablespoon of food. ate well.
Will test again in 15 and post.
So, the dose increase (insert "I feel like I royally f*d up" icon here). I have the University of Queensland guidance from AlphaTrak (Table 3B) on my fridge. We'd been reviewing his data since going up to 2.00 units 5.5 days ago. In reviewing his info, we didn't see any < 80s (which would indicate a reduction on AlphaTrak) so we followed the following:
"If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200 mg, but peak is > 200 mg, increase every 5-7 days by .25-.5 U depending on if cat on a low or high dose of insulin)."
What I now suspect is that rhiannan and shadow were exactly right on in this earlier post today(now wish I would have seen that before upping to 2.25 units!). He must have dropped low last night which may have even meant a dose reduction. UGH!! I suck at this.
AM + 10 362
PMPS 364
Upped to 2.25 units from 2.00 units (based upon how I thought I was interpreting protocol - more below)
PM + 2 152: knew I was in trouble at this point)
PM +3 51: following hypo guidance. Gave food, ate well.
+3 and 20 minutes: 72 and gave tablespoon of food. ate well.
Will test again in 15 and post.
So, the dose increase (insert "I feel like I royally f*d up" icon here). I have the University of Queensland guidance from AlphaTrak (Table 3B) on my fridge. We'd been reviewing his data since going up to 2.00 units 5.5 days ago. In reviewing his info, we didn't see any < 80s (which would indicate a reduction on AlphaTrak) so we followed the following:
"If nadir blood glucose concentration < 200 mg, but peak is > 200 mg, increase every 5-7 days by .25-.5 U depending on if cat on a low or high dose of insulin)."
What I now suspect is that rhiannan and shadow were exactly right on in this earlier post today(now wish I would have seen that before upping to 2.25 units!). He must have dropped low last night which may have even meant a dose reduction. UGH!! I suck at this.