8/6 Mary AMPS 223, PMPS 307, +1 300, +2 294, +3.5 312,+5 273

Status
Not open for further replies.
Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223, +2 359, +6 342

So I'm suspecting that Mary may be getting too much vs too little insulin since I am seeing no improvement in her glucose levels as I've increased her insulin levels. Is there a way to tell? The one thing I could think of would be to do her injection tonight but not give her her food for a few hours. If her glucose levels increase then it's probably too much insulin/somogyi and if it drops it probably not enough insulin and keep going with the gradual increases. Does that sound right or is there something else I could try?
 
Re: 8/6 Mary AMPS 223, +2 359, +6 342,+10 335. Somogyi ques

First, the entire concept of Somogyi is controversial, at best. The original research was done in 1938 on a very small number of human subjects. That original research has never been replicated which is the hallmark of good science. Further, the original research was not done with a long acting insulin like Lantus or Levemir. Fundamentally, chronic Somogyi rebound has taken on the cachet of an urban legend. In addition, Mary's numbers don't suggest a bounce. Her numbers are relatively flat.

Mary is not on a great deal of insulin. You are also holding her doses for longer than is necessary. If there's anything that may explain the flat numbers, IMHO it's glucose toxicity. I think you need to be following the protocol and increasing the dose every 6 cycles.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top