8/6 Maggie AMPS=126, +5=50, +6=62, +9=98, PMPS=142, +3=126

Status
Not open for further replies.

Alicia & Maggie (GA)

Member Since 2017
Yesterday's post: http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/...s-119-2-142-6-146-9-88-pmps-105-3-115.181760/

My internet has been down, so I'm late reporting. Sorry this is long, but I wanted to record what is happening this morning. My question, if you don't want to read all this, is: does buprenorphine come in any other form than liquid to be deposited in the cheek?

It was business as usual, except after T/F/S Maggie was pacing. I got her calmed down and in her bed after she wouldn't use the box or drink water, but after not too long she started pacing again.

Her ears have always been sensitive and itchy. I can tell sometimes they are painful to touch and sometimes she presses and wants me to put my finger in her ear, which I don't do...

She had cleaned her face after a treat, and I noticed she was holding her left ear funny and trying to scratch with her hind leg, which I stop when I see. She started pacing more urgently. I tried to get her calm again and I noticed her left eye was shut and fur around the outer edge had been rubbed away. She pulled away at any effort to touch the area.

She is all but blind from undetected high blood pressure, so she occasionally runs into things; usually her whiskers help avoid a major collision. She also has allergy/sinus problems, and I think sometimes changes in pressure, weather, or pollen make her head and ears hurt. Vets have said her ears look fine. And she has had trouble with her teeth, which can make her head hurt.

Anyway, I don't know if she scratched her eye while grooming or if she ran into something while pacing, or if it was one of the other issues, but I could tell she was in pain and I couldn't get her to calm down. I have some buprenorphine from previous dental work, so I burritoed her and eventually got some in her cheek. I've had limited success with it in the past, probably because she doesn't like having her mouth messed with and it doesn't always get absorbed like it should.

Seems to have worked this time because I got her in bed and stroked her back until she napped. Haven't tried to get another BG test because I didn't want to get her started again. Hopefully there's no damage to the eye and it just needs to be left alone to recover.
 
does buprenorphine come in any other form
Sorry about the eye/ear. I would definitely have the eye checked by a vet if not much better tomorrow.

Bupe can be compounded to administer topically (to the inside of the ear). I don't use bupe so if someone who has more knowledge doesn't chime in add the question to your title with a "?"

Do you use neosporium with pain relief on her ears?
 
Poor Maggie. I hope her eye heals quickly. I agree she may need to see the vet if it is not better by tomorrow. I believe the changes in barometric pressure can affect our kitties too. I have one cat that has allergies and she shakes her head a lot and scratches at her ears when the weather changes a lot. I give her 1/4 of a tablet of Zyrtec and it seems to help.

Maggie has had some lower nadirs lately, so I think she legitimately gave you the 50. I'm not sure if you should reduce because TR says below 50 to reduce.
 
You can actually put your finger in her ear and rub if that makes her feel better.
So far every cat I've had likes having the insides of their ears rubbed and I put my finger or thumb and rub because it does get itchy in there.
7e9178595e73d33bf4f8f41557455eed.jpg


You can rub any area above the ear canal.


But with the other parts hurting, there are things you might want checked.
Has she been checked for glaucoma, that could be painful pressure on her eyes and head and there are drops to relieve the pressure.
That should be treated.

Has she ever had dental xrays? She could have FORL
I dealt with that issue and it can get so bad to make their entire face hurt.



As for the reduction, technically it's supposed to be 49 before reduction.
But you can make that decision.
If she doesn't hold her reductions well, you might want to wait for that 49.
 
I have one cat that has allergies and she shakes her head a lot and scratches at her ears when the weather changes a lot. I give her 1/4 of a tablet of Zyrtec and it seems to help.
Sounds like Maggie. I'll ask the vet if Zyrtec would be OK to take with her other conditions/meds.

You can actually put your finger in her ear and rub if that makes her feel better.
Good to know, thanks.

Has she been checked for glaucoma, that could be painful pressure on her eyes and head and there are drops to relieve the pressure.

No she hasn't been checked for glaucoma.

Has she ever had dental xrays? She could have FORL

Yes, she had several FORLs dealt with last October.

And I think I'll wait on a reduction unless she has lower numbers later.

Thanks for all your responses.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top