Luckyducky
Member Since 2012
Hi again everyone! It's been a crazy week for Lucky, and very challenging for me, but I'm hoping things will start looking better for us both soon. Here's a link to Lucky's spreadsheet, and here are his numbers for yesterday and today:
Readings for 8/5 and 8/6
AMPS 356
+10 72
+11 47
PMPS 46
+1 53
+2 54
+3 67
AMPS 471
Lucky came back from the dental appointment Tuesday okay (they wound up removing an incisor that apparently was already very loose). When he got home he was having a lot more difficulty walking on his back legs at first (which really worried me) but he seems to be at about the same walking level now as he was before the dental appointment, though he's still not walking very much I'm afraid.
The neuropathy in his back legs has unfortunately been challenging in ways I didn't expect, as he's been sitting down to poop in his litter box and its been getting caught on his leg hairs. He's been on Clindamycin since before the appointment, which compounded the problem by giving him diarrhea (but no worries, as I've been giving him a tsp. of pumpkin with his evening meals which seems to have helped). All the same, having to clean the poop off of him and everything else in the house is exhausting and time-consuming, and is part of the reason I haven't had as much time to write on these boards recently. If anyone has any experience dealing with this kind of problem it would be a huge help... having to keep track of him throughout the day to catch him after he's pooped is wearing me down, and cleaning up afterwards too is really... ugh. :sad:
In the past couple of days I wound up skipping Lucky's shot twice, since his numbers were low in the PM cycles (54 on 8/3 and 46 on 8/5), and his dose is now down to 2.5u as of this morning. It was making me wonder, do you all think the skips were okay, and is it alright to skip shots so close to one another? I considered delaying his shots, but when I did it in the past I found that moving all of his meal-times was a big headache (he still eats 6 small meals throughout the day, since it's been difficult getting a schedule where he eats everything he's given and doesn't beg for food between cycles). It also messed up my sleeping schedule, and in the long-run I don't think it will be possible once I start working again. I'm also worried that I'm going to wind up skipping his shot again tomorrow evening (it seems like every two days Lucky's reading drops low right before the PM cycle).
I'm considering purchasing some Zobaline soon, so hopefully it helps out. I was talking to my Dad the other week and he mentioned that he saw a story on Animal Planet that said fish oil supplements were also helpful for cats with neuropathy, which I've seen some people mention in other articles online. Do you all have any experience with that? I started giving Lucky some cat-specific Salmon Oil that I bought from PetCo the other day, and I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts about that.
Any thoughts and advice, as always would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again you guys! :smile:
Readings for 8/5 and 8/6
AMPS 356
+10 72
+11 47
PMPS 46
+1 53
+2 54
+3 67
AMPS 471
Lucky came back from the dental appointment Tuesday okay (they wound up removing an incisor that apparently was already very loose). When he got home he was having a lot more difficulty walking on his back legs at first (which really worried me) but he seems to be at about the same walking level now as he was before the dental appointment, though he's still not walking very much I'm afraid.
The neuropathy in his back legs has unfortunately been challenging in ways I didn't expect, as he's been sitting down to poop in his litter box and its been getting caught on his leg hairs. He's been on Clindamycin since before the appointment, which compounded the problem by giving him diarrhea (but no worries, as I've been giving him a tsp. of pumpkin with his evening meals which seems to have helped). All the same, having to clean the poop off of him and everything else in the house is exhausting and time-consuming, and is part of the reason I haven't had as much time to write on these boards recently. If anyone has any experience dealing with this kind of problem it would be a huge help... having to keep track of him throughout the day to catch him after he's pooped is wearing me down, and cleaning up afterwards too is really... ugh. :sad:
In the past couple of days I wound up skipping Lucky's shot twice, since his numbers were low in the PM cycles (54 on 8/3 and 46 on 8/5), and his dose is now down to 2.5u as of this morning. It was making me wonder, do you all think the skips were okay, and is it alright to skip shots so close to one another? I considered delaying his shots, but when I did it in the past I found that moving all of his meal-times was a big headache (he still eats 6 small meals throughout the day, since it's been difficult getting a schedule where he eats everything he's given and doesn't beg for food between cycles). It also messed up my sleeping schedule, and in the long-run I don't think it will be possible once I start working again. I'm also worried that I'm going to wind up skipping his shot again tomorrow evening (it seems like every two days Lucky's reading drops low right before the PM cycle).
I'm considering purchasing some Zobaline soon, so hopefully it helps out. I was talking to my Dad the other week and he mentioned that he saw a story on Animal Planet that said fish oil supplements were also helpful for cats with neuropathy, which I've seen some people mention in other articles online. Do you all have any experience with that? I started giving Lucky some cat-specific Salmon Oil that I bought from PetCo the other day, and I'm wondering if anyone has any thoughts about that.
Any thoughts and advice, as always would be greatly appreciated. Thanks again you guys! :smile: