You did the right thing. Technically, you can shoot at 208, but better safe than sorry. One way to make an educated guess about whether the BG is dropping at Amps/Pmps is to get a +11 right before. Sometimes, my cat's pre-shot is lower than +11, and then it just goes back up by +0.5 or +1. However, until you know he does that consistently, you'll want to skip when he's dropping and that close to 200 at shot time.
The good news is he's at 208. That's super! Don't worry if he's high tonight -- baby steps.