8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 +4 99 +5.5 120 PMPS 134 + 3 148

Status
Not open for further replies.

lovey11

Member Since 2013
Lovey had an interesting cycle and I slept through the nadir. She has been very high at shot time since she had diarrhea, but really came down fast on a few cycles.
Lovey's PMPS was 375. Her +3 was 201. I fell asleep, but woke up and did a +9 and she was 160. I also gave her a tsp of Lc since she was meowing at +9. I don't usually feed her that late in the cycle.

I already fed her. I did shoot a 126 on this dose a few weeks ago, but I don't know if the number was dropping. I don't want any drama since Lovey has had a few trips to the vet this week. If this was a usual week, I would give a normal dose.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 ?

You could try shooting a reduced dose, but she could still keep going down since she's dropping. If you're worried, and wont' be home, you could skip. I have to leave for work so I won't be able to answer anymore.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 ?

Thank Carla. I will be home and thanks for the support. Have a good day at work. I tested her now and she is at 145. I am not sure if the food registered yet, She finished it about 10 minutes ago.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119

What did the vets decide was wrong? Has the diarrhea stopped I hope? Being hungry is a good thing!! Surf safely now, Lovey.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119

My regular vet was off Monday but the other vet in the practice thought it prudent for me to go back to Er and get bloodwork and other diagnostic work since she was a diabetic. When my regular vet sends out for labwork so it would take a few days. Er vet did bloodwork, urinalysis checked for ketones, an gave SQ fluids. Er vet said maybe early kidney issues due to elevated creatinin. She may have sour stomach due to that. Her reading was out of normal range. It was 2.5. The range was .8-2.3. In past labs, it was about 1.8 . She did a urinalysis but didn't see any bacteria so didn't think any ABS were needed. I think dehydration could have influenced those results though. She said probably not much but to do the labs again when she was feeling better. The other values were good based on the in house labs. I didn't talk to my regular vet yet. Yesterday was a busy day. The ER said that an ultrasound would be a next step.

Lovey is eating much better. The diarrhea was only one time on Monday I am not sure if she went poop at all yesterday. I am not sure if it was diarrhea or pee in the litterbox. I think it was just pee.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119

Dehydration CAN cause higher kidney values. What was the urine specific gravity? That will tell you if she is concentrating her urine which is an indication of "possible" very early kidney disease if not. One would never base a diagnosis on my test. When Tiffany had a creatinine of 2.5 I was told to recheck in a month so I wouldn't go there at this point at all as diarrhea is NOT a sign of it and if it was a little pancreatitis it can throw her numbers off as well. The fact that she has improved so much is very encouraging that it was and is passing. I hope I am right. :smile:
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119

Thanks for the information and encouragement. Her urine specific gravity was in the normal range. It was 1.025. It was in the normal range. I don't know what it was in earlier tests. The Er vet mentioned that maybe the sugar in the urine was not making it concentrate as well or maybe she was taking in possibilities.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119 +4 99

I don't think the sugar would be the reason as Max has a high USG and +3 glucose in his urine at his last check. I vote for dehydration from the diarrhea.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119 +4 99 +5.5 120

Hi Catherine:

I'm glad to hear Lovey's diarrhea has cleared up. I agree that the dehydration could be the culprit on the numbers. I see you gave her the full dose, and she's looking good!

When Cinco really wants food and I feel it is too late in the cycle, I give him some Freeze Dried treats - salmon for him, since that's the one he prefers, but chicken or turkey is fine. They are really low carb and shouldn't affect the BG much. Of course, Cinco is less carb sensitive than some cats, so ECID.

Sending extra healing vines to make sure Lovey is back to 100%. Have a great day, Catherine.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119 +4 99 +5.5 120

Thanks. It is unusual for a cat not to poop after diarrhea. I haven't seen any stool in the litter box yesterday (I think) and today?
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119 +4 99 +5.5 120

I'm glad you were able to shoot and Lovey is surfing for you today.
 
Re: 8/6 Lovey AT AMPS 112 + 2 119 +4 99 +5.5 120

It is unusual for a cat not to poop after diarrhea

No, not really. It takes a few days after they're "cleaned out" before they build up more feces, and her appetite was off too, so she wasn't eating a lot either...less "leftovers"

Happy to hear she's feeling better and eating better today! Hopefully she continues to improve!

Very nice cycle today too!!

I'll add another vote for dehydration being the cause of her creatinine being a little high too
 
I reduced Lovey's dose by a two drops or so to a skinny 1.25 and gave 8% carb with her 4% food. I probably did not have to since her + 3 is a little higher. I wasn't sure if I would be home by +3 so I figured to be safe and I didn't know if she would eat extra.

Tomorrow I will be at a special beach with my kids and will probable only get to do a + 2 so I may reduce a bit but then get back on track tomorrow.
 
Sending lots of continued healing vines for Lovey. I hope you're able to enjoy your time at the beach tomorrow. You deserve the break! :YMHUG:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top