8/6 Julia PMPS 258 You were all right!

Status
Not open for further replies.
Yesterday

I need a couple of pairs of the patience pants. I listed to your advice and you listened to me whine but sure enough, her bounce cleared just about 72 hours after the vet visit and we had our lowest AMPS number yet at 88. Mom was nervous and I was happy. I overdid her 13% food in the beginning getting us a 109 in the mix but overall I think we did fine and it's still a learning curve trying to guide her with food as Marje suggested. I hope I'm doing this the right way.

Should I continue to "hold her back" and guide her down with food to stay above the 50? By the way, I'm not intentionally stopping her slightly above 50 (AM cycles on 7/30, 7/31, 8/1, and today) but that's where she ends up with the food we're using. There are a couple of times that had I not fed I know she would have gone below the 50 earning the reduction. I'm okay with guiding with food if that's the recommendation as I know it's time for her in healing numbers. On the other hand, if she's really ready to earn a reduction we can do that, too.

Again, thank you for your advice. I have no problem admitting you were all right! And I need new pants made of patience. :lol:
 
And here comes the next bounce. :-x You both did GREAT today! :-D :-D It's very nerve wracking when you first see these greens but they get to be rather addictive after a while. It's a balance - you don't want to totally prop up her numbers with HC food but you don't want to withhold food and let her drop like a rock either. The most important thing is to write down what you fed her, how much and when and then see what happens with her numbers. If you can get her to stay in the 50-120 range, that's the best. You will see what works for Julia as you get more experience.
Liz
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top