? 8/6 Ember AMPS 384 +6 97 [PM Dose ?]

Current Pancreatitis flareup (symptoms started 8/1; 8/5 ate more than normal calories)

Pancreatitis Thread: https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/pancreatitis-flareup-cont-urine-poo.292814/

8/5 PM Cycle nose dive thread: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bg-on-libre-nose-dive-pm-and-am-cycles.292858/

She has a libre freestyle glucose monitor.

basically she's doing mountains and valleys on me, and I'm wondering what I should do with her PM dose (dose time is 4pm ET). I reduced her AM dose this morning to 1.5 since the 1.75 PM dose on 8/5 sent her soaring down. the 1.5 did the same, though she stabilized with only LC fancy feast and one temptations purree treat (8/5 PM she got 14% FF, and dry hill's science m/d).

Should I reduce again to 1.25?

Also, I'm hoping that this means her pancreas is healing up? she's been much more eager to eat the past couple days. She's still getting management meds (cerenia x1, gaba and ondansetron x3)


IMG_9304.png
 
It sounds like the pancreatitis flare is ending. I always kept all meds in play until eating and acting like normal and then tapered one at a time so that if symptoms returned I knew what was helping or needed. Since you are still feeding some dry food you would stick with the 1.5 dose unless the bg falls under 90 again and if that happens reduce to 1.25. I’m glad the appetite is returning.
 
It sounds like the pancreatitis flare is ending. I always kept all meds in play until eating and acting like normal and then tapered one at a time so that if symptoms returned I knew what was helping or needed. Since you are still feeding some dry food you would stick with the 1.5 dose unless the bg falls under 90 again and if that happens reduce to 1.25. I’m glad the appetite is returning.


Thank you, I’m so happy shes acting more like herself. Re: dry food, she has had access to it during the flareup, but rarely eats it. It was primarily offered last night as a high carb option because she was going low on me and I was out of canned (she wouldnt eat the wet m/d) versus something I’m normally offering at meal time. Her “normal” flareup meal is FF low carb. She will maybe sometimes eat a few kibbles, but otherwise ignores it. Would I still want to stick with 1.5? She didnt eat any this morning (i think i saw her sneak a couple about 20 mins ago, but im not sure how many). Since shes normalizing and coming through the other side, I’ll be picking that up so she wont have access to it, i just always had some of whatever wet she had most recently eaten plus some dry down so she could eat when she wanted even if I was sleeping/unavailable.
 
If you aren’t feeding dry and want to follow TR, don’t reduce. Would you add TR to your signature and spreadsheet if that’s what you want to do? Reductions will be if under 50. It would be a good move in my opinion. Go back to 1.75 tonight.
 
I dont think im quite ready to follow a protocol at this time. Shes still not back to normal and not eating consistently/predictably.
 
Yes, im doing urine testing daily - she’s somewhere between trace and neg (she was neg at the vet on weds last week) and the past few days have seemed to be getting closer to the neg color than trace
 
Back
Top