8/6 Dallas AMPS 302, +7 347, PMPS 355. Can't make sense of his numbers

Dallas boy

Member Since 2021
I can't make sense of his numbers from these last couple of days. This dose seems too low, but when he was on 1.5 he dropped below 99. It's also hard to get 1.25 in the syringe. It'll never be exact.
 
Hi there, here is your last thread (we ask everyone to put this in their first post everyday so that we can review what happened yesterday to address the new day's concerns): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-5-dallas-amps-400-9-5-292.250928/

He's bouncing because he's not quite used to those blues he got last night. Has anyone suggested that you try using calipers for dosing? This was a huge game changer for me and Ruby's numbers became a lot more even because I was giving her consistent amounts of insulin every time.
 
Hi there, here is your last thread (we ask everyone to put this in their first post everyday so that we can review what happened yesterday to address the new day's concerns): https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/8-5-dallas-amps-400-9-5-292.250928/

He's bouncing because he's not quite used to those blues he got last night. Has anyone suggested that you try using calipers for dosing? This was a huge game changer for me and Ruby's numbers became a lot more even because I was giving her consistent amounts of insulin every time.
Ah sorry! I totally knew that and forgot :(

I'll definitely look into using callipers for dosing! Thank you. Hopefully these bounces will eventually stop. It seems to be happening a lot and I'm sure it doesn't feel great for kitty.
 
No, I’m sure it doesn’t make him feel great. You’re giving him wet food. Is there a reason you can’t move to TR instead of SLGS? I fear that having 90 as a reduction point is keeping him in high numbers. You test enough for TR.

The calipers are a little fiddley at the beginning but once you get used to it you’ll never go back!
 
No, I’m sure it doesn’t make him feel great. You’re giving him wet food. Is there a reason you can’t move to TR instead of SLGS? I fear that having 90 as a reduction point is keeping him in high numbers. You test enough for TR.

The calipers are a little fiddley at the beginning but once you get used to it you’ll never go back!
I'll have to go read up on TR again, because I can't remember what the difference between the two is. We often have to leave him home alone for ~9 hours Mon-Fri, I think that's why I chose SLGS. Right now my boyfriend has been able to come home earlier as I'm away for work (we travel together to work and I work 2 hours later than him) and he was also on leave, so he was able to check a lot more. I was advised to reduce his dose to 1.25 when he reached 76. Should he have stayed on his dose of 1.5?
 
I'll have to go read up on TR again, because I can't remember what the difference between the two is. We often have to leave him home alone for ~9 hours Mon-Fri, I think that's why I chose SLGS. Right now my boyfriend has been able to come home earlier as I'm away for work (we travel together to work and I work 2 hours later than him) and he was also on leave, so he was able to check a lot more. I was advised to reduce his dose to 1.25 when he reached 76. Should he have stayed on his dose of 1.5?
That must be why. With SLGS you reduce whenever he drops under 90. With TR that number is 50.
 
With TR you increase faster as well, every 3 days until you see blue or green nadirs and then 5 days or more. People do it and work full time. There’s a section on it. I don’t think I could have though but Max was so unpredictable.
 
Thank you!! I'm kinda curious and would like to try it. That post gave me the confident that maybe TR is doable with our work schedule. Me and my boyfriend are both in the Military, so our work schedules CAN be unpredictable, but mine more than his.

Although in a previous post I said I wasn't willing to push my morning schedule any earlier as we're both already exhausted everyday, maybe I should just so I can test at +1 before going to work. We also have an automatic feeder that came with ice packs, so if he's low one morning we can leave out medium/high carb food in there. Even though I've been doing this for 4 months (diagnosed March 2020, but went into remission for a year just from switching his food) I still feel like I'm very new and don't know much about this. His first ~3 months on Lantus he was on a sliding scale (vet's recommendation), then I started reading up on it on this group and made the change myself. With the testing we already have on him from the last 3 days, where do you think we should go from here if we want to test out TR? I'm very nervous, so I normally ask before I do anything lol.
 
I think he’s bouncing still. You don’t want to increase on a bounce clearing cycle which probably will happen tonight or tomorrow as that will give him extra momentum going down unless you can monitor. Are you off tomorrow or Sunday?
 
I think he’s bouncing still. You don’t want to increase on a bounce clearing cycle which probably will happen tonight or tomorrow as that will give him extra momentum going down unless you can monitor. Are you off tomorrow or Sunday?
I'm away for work, but my boyfriend is off tomorrow and Sunday. He's currently dropping PMPS 355, +3 292, +5.5 230
 
Unless he sees green tonight he can increase tomorrow morning. It will give him a couple days to monitor. Ask for dosing advice in the morning. This is if you switch to TR.
 
Unless he sees green tonight he can increase tomorrow morning. It will give him a couple days to monitor. Ask for dosing advice in the morning. This is if you switch to TR.
My boyfriend wants to read up on TR before making a decision. It was getting late last night. Hopefully we'll decide today :)
 
No rush. No pressure. Also know that you can switch back if it doesn’t work out.
That's true! His AMPS this morning was 274 and at +5 it's 322. I don't get it lol. I was sure we were going to see lower numbers today. Must be because he was in the blues last night.
 
I don’t think he went low last night. He’s either needing more time to adjust like many newbies need or will need more juice at the 7 day mark.
 
Back
Top