8/6 - Cleo -AMPS(219);+2(211);+11(289);PMPS(274);+2(150)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kathy-and-Cleo

Member Since 2012
Cleo and I had a nice adventure in the greens last night, where she definitely earned a dose reduction. The question is, do we do the dose reduction for this morning's dose or for the evening dose? I cannot be home to monitor during the day.

Here's yesterday's 8/5 Cleo Condo
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219) - Dose Reduction??

Kathy, in the previous condo, you wrote: "She's definitely climbing quick now. Do you think I need to go ahead and give her LC food considering how high she already is? And, assuming she's high in the AM (high 200s) should I go ahead and shoot the 1.75 like Marje suggested and then reduce for the PM dose? I can't be home to monitor tomorrow since I have work, so I'm a little hesitant on that front..."

And I replied:
"And about the bounce-shooting: I think, given how Lantus works, that you'd likely not see much of a difference in the upcoming (AM-)cycle whether you
(a) shoot through the bounce for one last run on 1.75u, or
(b) shoot the new reduced dose of 1.5u this upcoming AM cycle.
Instead, I think you're more likely to see the effects of the upcoming cycle's shot in the *next* cycle (the following PM-cycle). Would you ready (and able) to possibly stay up a test through the wee hours for that?
I hear your hesitation though, and you're the one holding the syringe. IF Cleo is well in the 200s, I personally would probably try to summon my BOS powers and shoot through the bounce (but I have the luxury of never having *had* to do that), because Marje would *never* tell you an option that it wasn't ok to choose. But YOU need to be comfortable and feel safe."


Now she's at 219 at AMPS - given meter variance and whatnot, I have a feeling you're not quite comfortable shooting the "old" dose of 1.75u through this - am I right?
Jane

ETA I take it's shot-time now, yes?
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219) - Dose Reduction??

You're right Jane, plus re-reading what Marje had said, she had said to consider shooting the 1.75U if Cleo bounced into the high 200s. Since she's only at 219 (I'd consider the low 200s) I'm very much leaning toward doing the dose reduction this morning and only shooting 1.5U.
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219) - Dose Reduction??

I'd go with that then. It's no good you going out and worrying the whole time! It was an *option* to stick with 1.75u, but not mandatory. Even knowing that most likely it won't affect the cycle too differently either way - your stress-levels are just as important a factor! ;-)
Jane
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219) - Dose Reduction??

I kept writing this, and then erasing it.

RE: Shooting the new dose: That's what I would have done, being that you are going to be gone all day.

You, being comfortable, is important.

Best Of Luck with the new dose :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219)

Whoo hooooo! Awesome, Cleo.

(My most beloved cat was named Cleo. I miss her still after so many years that she has been GA.)
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219); +2 (211)

Aw, thanks for the kind notes you guys!

I was able to grab a +2 reading off Cleo before heading into work (just came in a bit late). She's holding steady at 211. I imagine she'll come down a bit over the next few hours while I'm not home, but hopefully not nearly as far as last night!!

Talk to you all in about 8 hours!
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219); +2 (211); +11 (289)

Well, don't know what happened during the day, but by +11 she's up to 289! Sheesh. We'll see where she's at for PMPS in an hour...
 
Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219); +2 (211); +11 (289); PMPS (274)

Good job!! I think shooting the 1.5u dose was the way to go considering your circumstances and I don't think she bounced too high at all!!!

Good luck with the reduction :-D :-D
 
Another big drop from PMPS. Could be another long night. I know she is still high but maybe check her at +3 and catch the drop. :-D
 
Kathy

We're having thunderstorms and flickering electricity. I may or may not be able to be on tonight. I think you did great last night so I'm not worried. :-D
 
PMPS - 274
+2 = 150
+3 = 103
+4 = 96

Still falling, but only slightly right now. I will check again at +5.

Thanks for all the help last night Marjorie - get some rest tonight and I hope the weather gives you a break!
 
PMPS - 274
+2 = 150
+3 = 103
+4 = 96
+5 = 97

I'll stay up to do another check at +6 and make sure she's on her way back up instead of lingering or going lower... I think I'm glad she tends to hit nadir on the earlier side, or I'd never sleep...
 
PMPS - 274
+2 = 150
+3 = 103
+4 = 96
+5 = 97
+6 = 105

A small rise, but a rise after holding stable, so I'm going to bed! Catch you guys in the AM.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top