Re: 8/6 - Cleo - AMPS (219) - Dose Reduction??
Kathy, in the previous condo, you wrote: "She's definitely climbing quick now. Do you think I need to go ahead and give her LC food considering how high she already is? And, assuming she's high in the AM (high 200s) should I go ahead and shoot the 1.75 like Marje suggested and then reduce for the PM dose? I can't be home to monitor tomorrow since I have work, so I'm a little hesitant on that front..."
And I replied:
"And about the bounce-shooting: I think, given how Lantus works, that you'd likely not see much of a difference in the upcoming (AM-)cycle whether you
(a) shoot through the bounce for one last run on 1.75u, or
(b) shoot the new reduced dose of 1.5u this upcoming AM cycle.
Instead, I think you're more likely to see the effects of the upcoming cycle's shot in the *next* cycle (the following PM-cycle). Would you ready (and able) to possibly stay up a test through the wee hours for that?
I hear your hesitation though, and you're the one holding the syringe. IF Cleo is well in the 200s, I personally would probably try to summon my BOS powers and shoot through the bounce (but I have the luxury of never having *had* to do that), because Marje would *never* tell you an option that it wasn't ok to choose. But YOU need to be comfortable and feel safe."
Now she's at 219 at AMPS - given meter variance and whatnot, I have a feeling you're not quite comfortable shooting the "old" dose of 1.75u through this - am I right?
Jane
ETA I take it's shot-time now, yes?