8/6 China AMPS 268,+2.7 245,+7.5 168,PMPS 227 Vet Update

Status
Not open for further replies.

Chris & China (GA)

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's condo

Was rudely woke up this morning at 4am by a brief, very LOUD storm, and a houseful of rather freaked out critters. Didn't last long, but that's no fun at that time of morning!! I guess we're in for a whole week of it :cry:

China seemed to be enjoying the chaos though. Chasing her imaginary bugs throughout the house, yowling (as only a siamese can) and for the first time in MANY years, stalking, pouncing and doing her best impression of a "gangsta kitty" with her housemates, Cheaser and Cleocatra.

Going to be bringing out "the box from hell" soon and then the gig is up. Everyone in the house will know it's "That time" for somebody

Well, I hope everyone has a great Tuesday, and we'll let you know what the vet says when I can.
 
Re: 8/6 China AMPS 268,+2.7 245 Vet today @ 3:30

Gangsta Kitty keep on keeping on, howl at those bugs. My Kalohe drives me crazy with his meowing and not Siamese. MOL

3cc8e1a1-eb23-4d59-8be6-9809140cbf89_zps0aa68587.jpg



Good luck at vetty appt
 
Re: 8/6 China AMPS 268,+2.7 245,+7.5 168 Vet today @ 3:30

Hi Chris, I had to laugh at China chasing imaginary bugs (as only a Siamese could). I used to have a Siamese and they can be insanely loud and crazy at times. Sending good vines for China. I hope all goes well

Thank you so much for your words of comfort in Maggie's condo. Thank you so much for the link to You Chose the Tears. I have read it and will keep it in my Favorites. Sienne has also sent it. It is very comforting. You're so right in that it was Maggie's final gift to me in crossing at home,
 
Re: 8/6 China AMPS 268,+2.7 245,+7.5 168 Vet today @ 3:30

Mostly, today's visit to the vet was AWESOME!! China has gained a little over 2lbs since starting on Lantus....only 2 months ago!! She's gone from 8.5lbs to 10.6 and her body score has gone from a 2 to a 5!! Another pound or so and she'll be at her "fighting weight" again! :-D :-D :-D

Printed out her spreadsheet and took it with us. Once I explained a little about how it worked, and what meant what, he just said "Wow!"
Since this vet had never treated with Lantus, was sure she'd need to start on 4 units....when he saw how she's doing on .5 he was shocked! His biggest question was "How do you see the lines at those tiny doses"? (I told him it wasn't easy!!)

He looked her over from stem to stern (even though we were mostly there for a weight check and to check her teeth), he took his time and really looked over every bit of her, listened to all those important sounds..spent almost 20 minutes just checking everything out and asking questions about the TR protocol! He also said for a cat getting poked as much as she was, her ears looked great! He expected to see some scabbing and bruising from that many pokes

The "bad" news--She does need to have at least 1 tooth pulled... not infected (yet), but does have a cavity, and she will need a dental...He suggested we do it in a month or 2. He said he wouldn't have really considered doing it 2 months ago when he first saw her because she was in such poor shape, but now that she's gained some weight and is looking healthier, said she should be able to tolerate the anesthesia/procedure well. Doesn't mean I won't worry nailbite_smile

He said I should only give her 1/2 her normal dose the night before, and none the day of the dental since she'd be getting no food. As for that, I have no idea what the best thing to do is since this is a new situation for us. Do you usually reduce/skip prior to surgery?

The other BIG problem is paying for it...it'll be about $300...which is almost half of my monthly income on SSI..with everything else I've had to squeeze into a budget that was already stressed out, I don't know how I'm going to do that :cry:

All in all, I was really happy she is doing so much better (I knew she'd gained weight, but had no idea it was THAT much!)....and the other neat thing he said was "Keep trusting what those people are telling you....they obviously know more than I do about treating this particular disease at this point!!"
(I did print out the AAHA Guidelines since he's not "into" computers....Next time I'll add the TR Protocol )

Other than the problem of not being able to afford the dental, I'm DOING A HAPPY DANCE!! flip_cat flip_cat
 
For most of us, we shoot the night before but either skip or give a token dose of insulin the morning of the procedure. Usually, it's no food in the AM, as well.

As for info on dentals, we have info! This is a collection of information on dentals mostly from my vet's office.
 
It sounds like you really impressed the vet! How nice that China is gaining weight and feeling better, too. You're obviously doing a great job of looking after her :-D
 
Chris, what a great vetty visit! So glad that your vet was interested in TRP! Sienne's info is exactly what we were told for Shasta's extraction today: last night I gave her .5u, took up her food at midnight and no insulin this morning. Congrats on a great vet report...even the tooth problem...at least he caught it early and you're making plans for it...versus it being sprung on you or an emergency! Good job, China on gaining weight! dancing_cat
 
It sounds like you really impressed the vet!

Not so much me....the wonderful people here who shared their knowledge and experience with me!! If it weren't for them, I wouldn't know anything about it..and would have probably taken the really bad advice of the first 2 vets we went to! I'm just happy to have a vet who admits he doesn't know it all!! (I know that sounds strange, to like a vet who doesn't know stuff, but I'd much rather have one who admitted they didn't know but were willing to learn, the the ones who pat you on the head and say "there, there, I'm the doctor...Just do like I say"

Sienne's info is exactly what we were told for Shasta's extraction today:

Yes Deborah...that's why I figured I'd start asking questions now..make sure when the time comes, I know what to do! But now that I've read more about dentals and extractions, I'm not sure I want any of the vets around here to do it. I don't know of ANY that have the equipment needed to keep China safe through surgery. The problem now (besides cost) is finding someplace who does have that stuff. I don't know if the vet school in Columbia, Mo even has it...but I'm going to call and ask (but they're even more expensive too...gotta pay for that top of the line equipment somehow I guess)

At least now I know what questions to ask..and IF she does need something "emergency" done, I'll know how to deal with her insulin too!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top