8/6 Calley AMPS 339

Status
Not open for further replies.

Kris10mo

Member Since 2014
Woke up to a little vomit this morning before I even tested her/fed her. So no clue if she got into something overnight. She is becoming mean....is hoarding her food and not letting me give her shot while eating and is fighting more with my second cat Buddy. Then at test time she is not sitting/laying still like she was.

I'm calling the vet today to give him the curve numbers to see if we need to raise the insulin.
 
Sorry about the vomiting and her attitude. Trying to find some silver lining - at least being annoying and feisty is better than lethargy and poor muscle mass!
 
Was she feisty before she got sick? Also are you giving her a reward at testing time like either a good brushing or a low carb treat?

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Re: 8/6 Calley AMPS 339; +6 187

No to the feisty-ness. She was always a calm cat. She never fought with Buddy(2nd cat)...never batted at him or hissed. She is doing that a lot lately.

She gets a few pets while I take the bg test and a bit of a pet after ward...but no...no treats. I am afraid of treats that it will make her levels go up.

Called and talked with the vet and he said I should increase the insulin by 1 unit...so the dose would then be 1.5 units/2x daily. I think I will increase it to 1 unit ...so an increase of .5. I want to see what that does for her numbers.

She has kept her food down today so far. ....small victories :)
 
Well there is your problem with testing. Treats are the key. But just like all food is not created equally neither are treats. Anything pure protein works. Now with my tribe I don't use commercial made. But instead both Autumn and Cassanova get plain boiled chicken breast, water packed tuna or sardines even bites of low fat cream cheese. Now we're not talking a pile but bites about the size of a piece of kitty kibble and 2-3 of those.

Next is attitude, a cat to cat language is 10% vocal and 90% body. They read us like a book. If we're stressed, they're stressed. If we're happy and confident then they are happy and confident. We can smile and talk sweet to them all day long but if that smile stops at our lips and doesn't reach our eyes they know we're faking it.

When you have multiples its like having a house full of 2 year olds. If one is sick they're grumpy and their siblings irrate them. And their siblings will pick on them. Usually not when mom is watching. Just like human children you don't pull your sister's hair in front of mom you do it when her back is turned. Now because a cat's language is mostly body language you may not even be aware of it without watching closely.

I have one who we affectionately call the Sh*tten. He's a sweet guy but mentally he's stuck in kitten mode. He is the true obnoxious little brother to my older cats. He won't attack them outright but he'll pull the "I'm not touching you " game just like a little kid until they get fed up and run then the attack is on like Donkey Kong. Or he'll lay and stare at them until he gets the same results, they get fed up and run and he chases. To him its play to them its an attack and they hate him. Maxwell has had so much of him that he'll growl if Myrrdin even walks in the same room. But Maxwell is very submissive and doesn't fight back. Myrrdin tried it with Autumn but she's a retired barn cat, she tolerants no bad behaviour, she knocked the stuffing out of Myrrdin and it never happened again.

The biggest mistep I see people take with cats is stepping to stop squabbles. As long as no is drawing blood or removing flesh let them work it out among themselves. Cats have a pecking order. Cats are also matriarchal and Queens are territorial. When Calley was very ill she lost her rank and possibly in subtle ways Buddy tried to raise his so now that she's feeling better she's trying to put him back in his place.

Or at least that's one thing to consider. The other is that she just doesn't do well personality wise with Lantus because of its acidic base and would do better with a neural base insulin like Levemir or Prozinc or even BCP PZI Autumn had stellar numbers on Lantus her personality sucked on it , she was vicious on Lantus and a purring mass of love on Levemir.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
My cat is a bit edgy as well. I think the puke could be part of the insulin and the way the cats body is reacting to it.
My cat was diagnosed about 2-3 weeks ago and I remember waking up to clear pools of puke. My obie is a bit more aggressive than usual, hungry as hell.
I think a lot of that is the cats body trying to adjust to the change of getting insulin again.
My cat went far below 200 into the lower 100's and I was so excited! The vet had me rush home and do another test and it was over 500 on the glucose meter.
We cut his dose and his numbers remained high, we upped his shot to 1.5u 2 days ago and he is around 428-438 when tested at shot time.
I'm hoping it's down at least in the 200's when I test him in about 90 minutes. I am worried as hell about him right now.
Tonight he gets 1.5 u lantus and SQ fluids. I Imagine that if he isn't in the 200's pretty quick that the dose will probably go up.
Also, I know very little about what I'm doing. I hope my cat makes it through the learning curb
 
Kris,

Where are the curve numbers for Calley? I've been watching for them. This is Alsoan insulin I have used for about 10 years. I have 2 cats currently on it and one in remission who was on it.

If I can see the curve, I can help. Dosing changes with Lantus should be done in .25 units, not full 1 units.

Claudia
 
Yeah, I think not going for a full unit increase is a VERY good idea. I'm not qualified to actually give dosing advice, but that's a huge dose increase for a cat that is actually curving down during the day rather than staying at 350+ all day even with the insulin.

How much will you be able to test over the next few days? Do you think you should be able to get PS and +6 numbers?

Also, have you tried entering your data onto the speadsheet yet? It looks like Mel has it all fixed for you to use.
 
We're still working on the spreadsheet issues it's letting her open it but not edit it. Don't know why yet every thing I can see says it should be working fine but isn't. So trying an end around. Only thing I can think is we have a user conflict since its on my account and my phone keeps me signed in automatically.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
Calley's PMPS was 292. She is dehydrated. I'm afraid to put a lot of water back into her meals because I don't want her to start the watery puke again. But she is not drinking as much as she used to and her pee is reduced too.

But her attitude is much changed. I can deal with her behavior if she were to show me that she is doing better. But I don't see much change. I hate her having to go through such pain. :(
 
Drinking less and peeing less are signs of improvement. None of my cats drink from the bowl because they get their water in their food. Cats are desert creatures they have a very low thirst drive.

Mel and The Fur Gang
 
When someone created Alska's spreadsheet for me - they emailed it to me and somehow gave me rights - in fact Alska's sheet still shows jm-thomson as the owner and me with editing rights. Please don't get me wrong - I am not assuming that Mel didn't do that. I was just wondering if there is a disconnect or bug between the droid app and a pc.

Alska was scrappy and moody on Lantus and is very different on Levemir. Come to think of it - Alska also vomited a few times - clear liquid with fur in it but only in the beginning.

I hope Calley feels better soon. I think you are right to not raise her dose a full unit.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top