8/6, Bell, AMPS 164, +1.5 142, +4 120, +6.5 102, +8 92, +11 110, PMPS 117, +1.5 164, +3 207, +5 219

Seth&Bell

Very Active Member
Yesterday

Bell had a bit of a rough night last night. She ate too much too fast and threw up a bunch. She then had an aversion to any food during the night, which led to her throwing up bile (she has bilious vomiting syndrome and throws up if she doesn't have food every 2-3 hours). This has happened a couple times since switching her to LC wet food. Seems to coincide with lower numbers, but that could just be a coincidence.

This morning I got her to eat without getting sick, which has helped the nausea. I did end up shooting at 164, which is one of the lowest numbers I've shot at, so I'm planning on working from home today so I can monitor her closely.
 
upload_2024-8-6_7-57-33.png
 

Attachments

  • upload_2024-8-6_7-57-33.png
    upload_2024-8-6_7-57-33.png
    248.6 KB · Views: 101
Thank you so much!

Yeah, her BVS has been an issue for a long time, and she manages well with smaller, frequent meals. A little harder manage with the wet food than the dry, but we are adapting. The times when she refuses to eat or has to fast for a vet visit are when she struggles with bile build up.

I've been giving her slippery elm bark twice a day and have started a multi-strain probiotic with S boulardii. Some members here have also recommended anti-nausea meds that I still need to follow up with my vet on.
 
Can someone help me with a dosage question for tonight? Currently I have about 4 hours until Bell is due for her PM shot. I just read a +8 of 92 (green!).

Bell has not had much of an appetite since her bout of vomiting last night. She has eaten maybe 1/2 to 2/3 of a can of fancy feast since last night, most of which she ate around her AM shot. I can tell she needs some more food in her because she is jowling like she is nauseous and licking any plastic she can find.

I think I will be able to get *some* food in her for her PM shot, but it might not be her normal amount. But her numbers are still on the downward trend from this morning.

Can someone give me an idea of what number they would shoot at? And if she ends up less than that number for her PMPS, what should I do (outside of the normal stall for 30 min and test again)?

This has been a frustrating trend with Bell. Seems like every time she gets into the greens, so loses her appetite and then her BVS causes her to have bouts of vomiting due to the empty stomach. I have skipped or reduced doses in the past but then she ends up bouncing or uses up her depot.
 
And right on cue, she just threw up a bunch of bile. Hopefully that settles her tummy down a little...
 
After Bell threw up bile at +8.5, she ate a bit more food. I just measured her +11 at 110, so it looks like we are on the trend upward.

I'm leaning towards giving her the PM shot if she remains at this level or higher and if I can get her to eat, but I'd defer to any input or objections from members here.

Thank you!
 
Yup thank you both so much! She ate about 1/3 of a can of fancy feast (usually she eats 1/2 with meals), so that's good. Has kept it down thus far. She seems a bit more like herself.

She's on the small meal ever 2-3 hr plan (great for her, hard on me :D). Tonight I'll keep feeding her whenever she is hungry.

I also suspect she may bounce, but have my fingers crossed she will tolerate these lower numbers. It is hard to see her not feel herself at the low numbers even when it is the best thing for her...
 
Yup thank you both so much! She ate about 1/3 of a can of fancy feast (usually she eats 1/2 with meals), so that's good. Has kept it down thus far. She seems a bit more like herself.

She's on the small meal ever 2-3 hr plan (great for her, hard on me :D). Tonight I'll keep feeding her whenever she is hungry.

I also suspect she may bounce, but have my fingers crossed she will tolerate these lower numbers. It is hard to see her not feel herself at the low numbers even when it is the best thing for her...
You’re welcome :). Keep eating your fuds, Blue!
 
Don’t feed her too much at one time. You might be noticing her eating faster at low numbers and vomiting because they get hungrier often when the bg drops. So if you can slow her down it might help. I’d shoot the full dose too.
 
Thank you tiffmaxee! The strange thing with Bell is that she loses her appetite at lower numbers and gets it back at higher ones. Is that abnormal? I assumed it had to do with her not being comfortable yet with this new low BG state her body is in, plus the fact that she can utilize the glucose in her food at lower numbers where she constantly needs to eat at higher numbers because she’s not getting the energy from the food, it is just passing through her urine.

I can very much tell she doesn’t feel as good at low numbers versus higher ones (sleeps under the bed, no appetite, lack of appetite causes bile buildup and nausea).
 
I don’t think anything is normal when it comes to cats and diabetes. You will hear people say every cat is different a lot. That’s where know your cat comes in. Many cats are ravenous until regulated. Many cats get really hungry in really low bg. That’s often how I knew Max might be wanting a reduction. But many is not all.
 
Back
Top