8/6 AMPS 172 - no shot? Joined 7/20/14 - IBS & diabetes

Status
Not open for further replies.
BJM said:
Until and unless you have a lot of mjd-cycle data to show it is safe, don't shoot below 200 mg/dL with Humulin.

Thank you BJM - it looks like we made the right decison. We did not shoot this morning with the 172 AMPS reading. We rechecked him at 9am and he was at 319. At 7PM, his normal PSPM time he was at 315, so we did give him his 4 units. I think it is a good sign that without his AM insulin, his evening PSPM reading was actually lower, not higher than his 3PM reading. Of course, the margin of error could still mean those numbers are not exact.

We had a wonderful meeting today with our vet. He is 100% behind our plans - he has never had a client as determined as we are, nor as knowledgeable thanks to what we have learned on this forum. He suggests we switch to Lantis insulin once we return from our three week vacation, on which Monkey will accompany us in our motor home. Since we are also dealing with IBD, he is concerned that we might trigger an episode of that - so we are prepared with both high carb Hills I/D, and also low carb Hills M/D, as well as a big supply of Halo low carb Spot's Pate ground chicken canned food. We will just go slowly with the conversion to more wet, less dry, and keep a supply with us of prednisolone in the event (horrors) that we might have an attack of the IBD while we are on the road. nailbite_smile

The new SS I made to help me keep track of what and when we are feeding him as we try to make the switch from high carb kibble to low carb canned is a big help to me. Of course, it is completely customized to our needs - but I thought perhaps I might share it in the event it would be something that someone else could modify and make use of too. I will try to do that tomorrow.

I should add that our vet was amazed at all the information and help we were able to compile thanks to this forum. I hope he will consider sharing it with any of his other clients with diabetic cats. :smile:

I
 
Monkey's got a spreadsheet!!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

And I see from a note you made on that SS, that you are going to switch to Lantus after your trip. You might want to go over to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum (within the Insulin Support Groups) and read all those STICKIES at the top of the forum if you haven't done that yet. Even if you have, more re-reading will help you out lots.
 
Deb & Wink said:
Monkey's got a spreadsheet!!!! :RAHCAT :RAHCAT

And I see from a note you made on that SS, that you are going to switch to Lantus after your trip. You might want to go over to the Lantus Tight Regulation forum (within the Insulin Support Groups) and read all those STICKIES at the top of the forum if you haven't done that yet. Even if you have, more re-reading will help you out lots.

Thank you Deb - yes, we were advised by our vet to try Lantus. I am reading a lot about it - and am especially following the posts about Lantus vs Levemir that recently started. It is a lot to think about!

All is on hold for now, as we leave this week-end for our three week trip to Redmond Oregon and the FMCA rally. Monkey has only had one short trip, two nights, in the motor home - so this will be a big adjustment for him. My travel list for him is now at two pages!

I am still fine-tuning the SS I created to track his various food types as we work to switch him over to low carb. I am considering trying to share it but not sure if I should - since I am really new at creating a Google doc spreadsheet. At least, it is helping me track our progress and I can read it a lot better than my squiggly notes! :smile:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top