8/5 Tidus AMPS 203 +4/207 +9.5/175 PMPS 279 +5/239

Status
Not open for further replies.

miso00

Member Since 2011
yesterday condo [urlhttp://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=76418#p826386][/url]
 
So I started him on FF Classic and his poops are much firmer but now his BG's are higher! UGH! The FF is supposed to be low carb, I believe 4% just like the Friskies I was feeding him. I think he should get a dose increase next shot.
 
One of the things I've seen both with Gabby and other cats is that you need to give any change in food more than a day or two before you evaluate whether it's a change for the better. Often, you'll see numbers go up before they come back down. I'd give a change a week or two. Also, I'm not seeing the same difference in Tidus' numbers that you're seeing. The pattern on the SS looks pretty much the same to me.
 
So I should keep him at 3.75u or increase to 4u?

I didn't realize the food change could be that long but that makes sense.
 
I see more yellow on his SS than blue so that distracts me from the true pattern I guess.
 
I think that given how you're testing, you're going to see more yellow. If you were to test every hours, you'd catch those blues. (I'm not suggesting you test more!! You're testing enough to know what the nadir is.)

I think you're fine to increase Tidus' dose to 4.0u.
 
Which FF classics are you using? I discovered that they are higher carb than the old charts indicate. Venita gave me info from another site but the two lowest carb FF classic ones were the mixed grill (green) and tender beef and liver (red) which were 5.45%. Most of the other meaty flavors were 6.81%. I'll dig up her email and forward it
 
I'm just feeding classic chicken and classic turkey and giblets. I have to say Tidus' poops are so much firmer but the smell is still horrendous! I'm wondering now if there was a wheat gluten issue with him. It is a drastic difference from when he was eating Friskies.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top