8/5 Sister AMPS 100 +2 85 +4 91 +6 104 +8 89 +10 110 PMPS 107

She’s looking great, Ann. Do you feed her at about +9?

I’m asking because she’s earned a reduction which would mean no insulin but I’d love to see those PSs come down. When we see a cat doing this well on such a tiny dose but still having blue PSs we try to feed them at +9 (note for readers: a +9 snack is only tried in this situation where the kitty appears about to go into remission is and is on a tiny dose). Feeding at +9 should result in the PS coming down if the pancreas is working.

Can you try that so we can see if she’s ready for a trial? You would continue to shoot 1 drop for now unless we see a really low nadir like 50 in which case, we should definitely try a trial.
 
She’s looking great, Ann. Do you feed her at about +9?

I’m asking because she’s earned a reduction which would mean no insulin but I’d love to see those PSs come down. When we see a cat doing this well on such a tiny dose but still having blue PSs we try to feed them at +9 (note for readers: a +9 snack is only tried in this situation where the kitty appears about to go into remission is and is on a tiny dose). Feeding at +9 should result in the PS coming down if the pancreas is working.

Can you try that so we can see if she’s ready for a trial? You would continue to shoot 1 drop for now unless we see a really low nadir like 50 in which case, we should definitely try a trial.
Thanks, Marje
I agree with your assessment. Her blues are still a little high and I would like to see them lower as well.
I am giving her a snack at 4:00 a.m. although this morning I did not awake and it was more like 4:45 (but outside the 2-hour pre-shot rule).
I will continue with the +9 snacks and the wet food transition.
Hopefully, more time on insulin will heal her pancreas even more.
(Question: Doe the fact that the AMPS is not much lower mean that her pancreas is not working?? I never considered that.)
 
(Question: Doe the fact that the AMPS is not much lower mean that her pancreas is not working?? I never considered that.)
We don’t know what her +9 was last night. Her AMPS could very well be lower than her +9. ;) But who wants to test at +9 at night? :woot::woot:

How about testing her at +9 today during the a.m. cycle, feed a snack, test at regular PMPS. Then we can see what she does. :):)
 
We don’t know what her +9 was last night. Her AMPS could very well be lower than her +9. ;) But who wants to test at +9 at night? :woot::woot:

How about testing her at +9 today during the a.m. cycle, feed a snack, test at regular PMPS. Then we can see what she does. :):)
Thanks,
I tested at +9 this afternoon and she was 112.
Then fed a snack. Gave her 2 Greenie treats with the test.

Her PMPS at 7:00 pm was 123. :woot:

She had light lunch at 12:00 pm as usual.
Only ate 1/2 of her dinner at 7:00 pm. (Does this sometimes/wants the rest later.)
Will probably ask for a snack around 9:00 pm.
 
Thanks,
I tested at +9 this afternoon and she was 112.
Then fed a snack. Gave her 2 Greenie treats with the test.

Her PMPS at 7:00 pm was 123. :woot:

She had light lunch at 12:00 pm as usual.
Only ate 1/2 of her dinner at 7:00 pm. (Does this sometimes/wants the rest later.)
Will probably ask for a snack around 9:00 pm.
Well….I don’t believe she is quite ready for a trial yet. She should have come down, not gone up. I wonder how much food you gave her…a snack plus Greenies…is that a lot? If you can, keep it up for a few days and let’s see what she does.
 
I was thinking since the bag says 2 calories each they were not that harmful. But I am going to cease giving them to her.
I give her Pounce freeze dried chicken (not the dental treat) but I ran out. Have no data on it. It is like styrofoam.
Calories and carbs are very, very different. Something that is 2 calories each can be still be 20% calories from carbs :confused: If you give freeze dried treats, just be sure the only ingredient is meat.
 
Back
Top