8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~PMPS=212~One Year on insulin

Status
Not open for further replies.

Pat+Raja+Shadow (GA)

Member Since 2009
PMPS=331
+4=340
+7=342
AMPS=341 ~1.75u Lev (start 4th cycle since dental)
Yesterday's Condo

Good morning to you all! ~O) Breffis is eaten and grooming has begun. I am thinking that I should go up a notch with his dose because these pinks are just too steady with no dips. What do you think about my giving 2.0u tonight?
Shadow was so affectionate last night...came to bed with me and was purring so loudly. He seems to be feeling good so that is a great thing for me to know. Raja finally unclamped her mouth and in went the Clavamox...I guess our little talk yesterday didn't sink in yet. Or maybe she was just saying "I don't agree that I need meds" :razz: Whatever it was, she is not being a good patient. :roll:
Hope you all have a wonderful Friday Eve!
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341

I love purry kitties ... no dosing advice here, but Im sure you know what is best for shadow ... I hope raja starts being a better patient for you ... have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341

Raja, you little stinker....open that mouth, and take your medicine like a good girl. It'll make you all better.
Oh Pat, what is nicer than a happy, purring kitty in bed with you? All warm and snuggly....oh yeah, that's the life. :-D
Wonderful day to you all. :smile:
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Hey Shad-0, Yep, I won today!! But we'd better both come down to better numbers or we'll "get it" from our mamabeans! Your's is even threatening a dosecrease!! This is NOT the way to celebrate your annifursary on the juice, man, so let's get with it!! Party for Heart tonight. I'll be needing you, and especially Raja, in the kitchen, so get your numbers down so we can have a good time. See ya later,

Stu

Hi Pat, I think you should wait for the effects of the "dental" to clear before you up Shadow's dose, but wait for some "real" advice. Thanks for offering to help Stu (and me!!) get through his dental on the 25th!! Have a good day today and don't fall off the ledge! How was the meal of desserts? When my Auntie Elsie went out to dinner she always wanted to order dessert first so that she could have two!

Ella
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

I should mention the passing of time and the anniversary of our beginning insulin. UGH! I picked them both up after their 3-day curve at the vet's. What an ignorant Bean I was.....we began our Vetsulin shots Aug 6th at home. Raja was prescribed 3.0u bid and Shadow as to have 4.0u bid. Raja vomited on the 5thd day after freaking out each time I gave her the shot. She was hiding and acting so spooked. Shadow slept a lot. I knew nothing. and learned precious little from the vet office.

I finally found the forum on August 13th and bought my first meter on August 14th. I still have the calendar page~~I began Shadow on 1.0u on Aug 15th and then gave Raja .6u on Aug 16th. That was the highest dose she was ever on...working her way down to finally going OTJ with her party on Dec 5th. I cannot believe what I was doing to her with the original 3.0u....I am so thankful that we made it through those early days. nailbite_smile

We began Levemir on Sept 15th. My vet only prescribed Vetsulin back in those days. I somehow managed to get my flex pens from a Canadian online pharmacy and began without my vet's knowledge on our journey with Levemir. Without the support from the people on this board, well, where would we be??? nailbite_smile With two kitties to test and shoot, I was like Lucille Ball and the conveyor belt. :lol: My days were a blur of SS and syringes. Two different doses, 2 separate SSs to study and two condos too! I have learned so much about FD from you all...and about kitties too! I guess I was never qualified to own a kitty before~I thought it was easy. Put down dry food and they will be fine. Wow! What a silly Bean!

What a year this has been! Shadow got a dental Aug 30, 2009. In March there were dentals for each of them and, Shadow had his 2nd for 2010 just this past Tuesday. We have tried so many different brands of canned foods...we have tried different meters and all sorts of different "things" during this past year. I have a ratty notebook with my printouts of all the blanks SSs from the past year that I carry with me all day long and note the BGs during the day...it looks old and worn, just like me! :lol: We have met so many wonderful people on the forum and have celebrated and mourned, have laughed so hard and cried even harder....what a year this has been indeed!

As I look back on this year...it seems so short a period of time...and yet it seems also like an eternity. Know what I mean? so much has happened and my brain has absorbed so many new things. I knew nothing about syringes or FD. This forum has empowered me with knowledge of what we are dealing with. You have given me tools to use and have been there at every step of the way. I thank each and every one of you for all that you have done for us...The three of us have thrived under your guidance. My two have put up with me and my "hobby" and have exhibited a level of trust that I would not believe possible unless I had seen it myself. We have gotten so close over these 12 months and the beauty that is THEM is so overwhelming! There is an elegance and grace that they show in their every move and in their actions. I have seen them in such a different way through this intimacy that we have experienced. I guess I have never been this conscientious about any one thing in my whole life! Even with my children, I didn't have to check on them every hour or two like I do with my kitties. "Let me see how you are feeling" as I do an ear prick. So strange to look back and see the amount of ear pricks that are documented. They have shown such acceptance and trust. It's really just amazing!

So, Raja is doing fine with her <100 BGs whenever I check her. Whew! Shadow is my Problem Child but we have a year under our belts now!! I messed up a lot in the beginning, but now I think we are in a good groove. When I found LL, things improved and well, I still have HOPE. I know that Raja did well with the change of diet and the insulin. Shadow had symptoms and Raja never did so I guess he will take much longer. As it is now, he has put on weight and his fur is silky and beautiful. What a difference form the scrawny dandruff-ridden dulled fur boy that he was a year ago!! He is looking good...and I am thankful. This would not be possible if I was not right HERE! Thank you all for the wonderful work you do....sending our gratitude and love to you all!! :YMHUG:
Thank you for reading this and celebrating our story....I think his dose should be raised...any thoughts? :lol:
HAPPY ANNIFURSARY to US!!! (I am trying to be positive about this...LOL...I am thinking that NOW we are ready!!)
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

What a wonderful tribute and it's just amazing looking back on the year and how far you've come. I am so very proud of you and all that you do for your family and this board.

I know congrats isn't exactly the right thing to say, but you know what I mean. And hopefully one day soon, Shadow will surprise us all and go OTJ. But if not, the important thing is he is healthy, well loved and doing well.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Hey Pat,

weren't those fun early days last year?
I think we've all felt that way in the beginning, knew nothing and follow the vets advice cuz they would know right?
Not always the case thou.
I am so glad you found the board too this time last year.

Our DX anniversary is coming up too, not the greatest thing to celebrate, so I'd rather celebrate the fact that we found the FDMB and everything turned around for the better.

You are one amazing mom to your kitties. :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Time does fly doesn't it I also regret my early days with Do Lou being on N but with being a vet tech and working with them for 16 yrs you thought they much know best and it was not until Do Lou started to do worse ( not eating well, peeing and drinking tons still loss of weight) that I just flat out told my vet I wanted lantus and it was like pulling teeth to get it.
I am so thankful as well for this forum and he did not even question my request for Lev just said he knew nothing about it but Do Lou has improved in so many ways since March that he now trusts what I am doing which was a big step for him.

Hope Shadows numbers improve today Do Lou is on the pink floor right with him :YMHUG: :YMHUG: cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

PAT!!! I'm crying already and it's not even 10:30am--You expressed my feelings so accurately--I also have given more time, love & concentration to this than anything in my whole life--And the cats, they just amaze us with their love, cooperation and ability to adapt to things we probably couldnt! We stick needles in them, and they just love us more--They know we are saving their lives..
This board has given all of us a second chance to look at life differently, thrugh different eyes cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon cat_pet_icon -
Love conquers all, these kitties & their beans, just proves it!
Happy One Year of success, & love, devotion beyond compare, you Pat, Raja, and Shadow are terrific!!

Big HUGS--Tonite the cats party :lol: :lol: :lol: party_cat dancing_cat party_cat
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Time flies when you're having fun, doesn't it?

I don't know if this is a congratulatory occasion but I guess in a way it is.... Shadow is happy and healthy and much better off than he would be if his Mom hadn't found FDMB, so even if he's still on insulin, at least he's got lots of beans looking after him and a mama bean who loves him a whole lot.

Happy One Year On Insulin Shadow!

Lots of Love ♥
Caryl, Alex & Jackson

It looks to me like you could bump him up .25 as long as you're there to monitor him. He hasn't had any blue or green in 3 cycles...
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Pat, that was truly inspiring.
I've been doing insulin shots for only a few months. Checks was diet controlled for a few months, and I thought it would last forver.
It's been such a comfort to find this board, this forum especially, and all the caring, knowledgable people on here.

I'm so glad that Shadow is healthy, happy and beautiful now. I bet that black fur is sleek and soft and silky.
Congratulations to you on the wonderful job you do, keeping your babies healthy.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

I didn't realize that it has been a year for you guys .. I guess in my mind I always thought you and your gang were here long before us and mocha were. Pat, you always seem so confident in how you are treating raja and shadow its no wonder they have the amount of trust in you that they do. You are one good momma bean and I always look forward to reading your condos because even if shadows numbers are higher then you would like, you always seem to put such a positive spin on it. If your problem child ever straightens up and passes LTS I sure do hope you stick around because you are truly a great asset to this site.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Pat, your post really does express the feelings so many of us have about FD and finding this board. But most importantly you described the amazing depth of the bonding that happens when we care and treat for our furry little ones. The trust that they give us when they start to feel better is such a beautiful experience.

I wish we could celebrate other milestones for Shadow, as we did with Raja. But I CAN celebrate with you for the beginning of a fascinating journey that you began a year ago. I'm so glad you are here and for the friendship we began and for the many friendships you have given to so many peeps. You are a true blessing to the board; always with a kind or funny word... we love ya!

And I do think it is appropriate to invite the fellow that introduced me to you.... and here he is once again, hahahaha!

Camel-2.jpg
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

WOW Pat what a year you had. I just want to say what a bean you are .I think your story should be posted so all new comers can read it..Boy it sure would have help my frist two weeks....I too cryied and freaked it was so very stressful...Now with the help I recieved from all of you Trey is 10 days OTJ Thanks for being here....Kath ~O) :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :RAHCAT drinking11
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

Wow, what an inspiring post! Thank you so much for sharing, tears in my eyes now. I have only been here a few months, and a few weeks on LL, but it is the best community of people ever! Pat, I agree that you are a wonderful asset here, your posts are always positive and confident...even when things are not going great, you find a way to see the silver lining. Happy one year on the juice, may Shadow and Raja continue to thrive in your care! :-D

Good luck on the dose decision...I can't help with that!
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341 One Year on insulin

:lol: And that little Turkish camel is slowly on his way back here....Levemir delivery to Florida time again! :lol: I will never forget that first time you posted his picture...I thought I would die laughing! :lol:
While on Vetsulin, it seemed to take FOREVER to get that first batch of Lev!!!
I feel as if I can't even count the first 6 weeks that we were on Vetsulin. Not fair! But, it was what it was back then. That's a lot of insulin under the old bridge! :lol:
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

my how time flies.
I hope Shadow shows some better numbers soon.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

Is it time to party? Partys seem to bring Shadow back down. I'm glad you found your way here too. I can relate to the wasted time on Vetsulin (kick, kick) angry(2)_cat

About the dose.....I don't know I would like to see more movement and would say yea shoot em down, but he just had a dental (could be some inflamation still which the hormones that are released take some time to clear out) he also got a lowered dose and skipped shot so it's like he just got on this dose. If you raise it and he drops like a stone then you risk bouncing and the hormone flood again. In addition He may start earning decreases to fast.

Since he is S l o w l y dropping I guess you should wait and see if he pulls off a nice late nadir by shot time. Maybe give it one more chance and if no Blues make the increase.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

Pat, you are one of the rocks here in LL. You are always there and sharing the good and the bad, your own or ours. Uou put what we are all going through so beautifully. LL is blessed that you are here. When Shadow goes OTJ we need you to stick around and share your insights and help talk us down off the ledge when we are up there too long.

Thanks for being such a good bean and a good friend.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

HAPPY ANNIFURSARY Pat & Shadow. You are an awesome bean and your kitties are lucky to have you. And don't ever give up hope for Shadow. Thank you for being here for me and others in LL. We want Shadow to go to the Falls, but we don't ever want you to leave.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

What a beautiful post, Pat. So very eloquent and heartfelt, it mirrors what so many of us here feel. Our kitties are truly a blessing, no matter their needs or issues. Your words are particularly apropos, as we will be "celebrating" the same milestone in just a few days' time. Raja and Shadow are certainly lucky to have you as their bean, and you have done so well and learned so much more than you could have ever imagined in one year.

Thank you for all the smiles, laughter, jokes, and even tears you have brought your fellow LLers. You are much appreciated here, and when Shadow goes OTJ, you will be sorely missed (more positive thinking!).



:RAHCAT :RAHCAT Pat + Raja + Shadow :RAHCAT :RAHCAT​
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

Happy Annifursary, Pat and Shadow. This journey we are all on together brings some sadness and some blessings, doesn't it? The wonderful community here has been one of the biggest blessings for me. I am grateful for still having my kitty with me, for the knowledge I have found here, and for people like you, who brighten even the darkest days. I know there is a condo at the falls for Shadow, and that one day the best party ever will be held there. Your positive attitude and sense of humor will get you there, and you have a lot of fans cheering you on.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

I am all verklepmt, farklempt...teary-eyed by you sweet posts...thank you darling friends.... :YMHUG:
You have really warmed my heart with your thoughts....thank you ever so much!

+8=273

I have been out and about. Lost my test strips somewhere between here and Walmart! grr_red
Scoops: Petsmart does not carry allergy Greenies pill pockets...but they DO have Wellness now!!!
Newsflash! It was $1.59 per can though.
Went to another store, Petmart, where I usually buy my Wellness ($1.39) and he didn't have the Greenies Allergy pill pockets either but said he would order some. AND, when I asked abut the "Cat Attract" he gave me the bag for free!!!! It's normally $13.98!
I had an awful time with Raja and her pill. I put it in cheese again today, but this is the 3rd day I have tried to pull that on her and she foamed at the mouth and let it dribble down her chin and onto the floor!
I did get it in there and had to pick her up to comfort her. She rolled herself up like a cuddly ball and stayed in my arms. sniff sniff. She is SO dramatic!
Never a dull moment around here!
Guess I will go back to Walmart.... :YMSIGH:
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

160-1.jpg


:lol: look at the flyer Pat!!:lol:

You always seem to know where the good deals are!
I wonder if someone is helping you? :lol:

Nice to hear Petsmart is getting with the program and selling Wellness now! It's still cheaper down south, up here I pay $1.89 a can, but if I buy 11 I get the 12th free :lol:

Poor Raja! So unlady-like for her to be drooling like a baby! Feel better soon kitties!
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

Hi Pat,
Happy Anniversary to you and Shadow. Your tribute was very touching, and you've had quite a year, as you had two furbabies together diagnosed with diabetes. I thought you had been here much longer as you have so much knowledge, and I remember you and others sure helped me with Maggie. I think Shadow will be coming around soon. Maggie is waiting for him at the Falls, so hurry up Shadow.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

Hi Pat!
What a beautiful post, right from the heart. I've saved it and when anyone asks me why we do this, I am going to send them your writing. It's just beautiful.

I have to say it's been an honor getting to know you, even if it has been bad for my waist the last couple of days! :lol:

Purrcie has sure enjoyed movie night and the Full Thunder Moon Party with Shadow and Raja too. Thanks so much for allowing him to come over and hang out with your fur kids.
 
Re: 8/5~Shadow~AMPS=341~+4=324~ One Year on insulin

CUTE picture Ronnie! :lol:
Thank you Ann and Myla....it is a pleasure knowing you guys too!

AMPS=341
+4=324
+8=273
PMPS=212 ~1.75u Lev

[quote="Monique & Spooky".....
About the dose.....I don't know I would like to see more movement and would say yea shoot em down, but he just had a dental (could be some inflamation still which the hormones that are released take some time to clear out) he also got a lowered dose and skipped shot so it's like he just got on this dose. If you raise it and he drops like a stone then you risk bouncing and the hormone flood again. In addition He may start earning decreases to fast.

Since he is S l o w l y dropping I guess you should wait and see if he pulls off a nice late nadir by shot time. Maybe give it one more chance and if no Blues make the increase.[/quote]

:lol: Guess Shadow read Auntie Monique's post and he decided to pull off a late nadir. Ok, so it's not BLUE, it's still a welcome change around here! I keep forgetting about the hormones and Monique has to always remind me. Thank you Monique! :mrgreen: Guess there are hormonal involvements no matter which way you turn! Let's see how he does tonight folks.

Raja took the Clavamox a little better tonight and she certainly has been affectionate! She seems happy. I do hope these meds help her out.
So, we managed the dreaded one year mark today and are now relaxing here. I really appreciated all your kind and loving thoughts today.Your posts are all so beautiful. This would be a pretty scary and frustrating thing to deal with on your own, so the community we have here changes all that.
You all mean a LOT to me.... :YMHUG:
 
Loved that photo Ronnie! I'm glad my kitties can't read.

And Pat... sniff... sniff... we lubbs you berry berry much!
 
Hi Pat,
I agree every newbie should read your story. You do such a wonderful job of expressing the fears and being so overwhelmed. But you do so in a way with humor and a positive spin. Its always been very encouraging. Can we have a Pat/Raja/Shadow sticky??? :mrgreen: This place would never be the same without you guys!

Im so glad to see the dental went smoothly with Shadow. Whats up with this infection Raja has?!?! :? Poor thing! Are you doing liquid or pills with that clavamox? The liquid is icky...but if you cant pill, then its the way to go.

I hope to see Shadow pull out of the numbers and put you back to work REAL soon.

(((((pat))))) Miss ya!
 
Hey Pat - so nice to read your story - I can relate to so much of it. You were smarter alot sooner than I was. I used to think my vet new everything, and did what they said, for way too long. OMG. We've been hypo, on too much on too little, no clue on anything. Well - guess we both wised up. I think you have done wonders with them both. Very nice!

Hey Shadow! HAPPY ANNIFURSARY!!
 
Well, for a year you and your crew have graced us, entertained us, taught us, partied us. Thank you for all that you have brought to LL. We celebrate you, raja and shadow on your milestone day!
 
I concur, the sugar dance can become a hobby of sorts. So much of your post I could relate to, and I only have one sugar kitty. A bitter-sweet anniversary maybe, but you have done well, and contribute so much to this board. We're very blessed to have you and your precious brood in our group.
 
Vetsulin - blergh :roll:

I echo what many others have already said. It truly is a pleasure to have you on LL, though I also wish you didn't HAVE to be here. I've been thinking about your Problem Child a lot recently, and I have come to a conclusion.

Shadow is colorblind :shock: :cool:
So when you say "Give me some green, Shadow", he's like confused_cat

But no matter what color he decides to be, we all love him to bits anyway.

MJ&Donovan
 
I can't believe I almost missed the celebration!

I do think one year is a thing to celebrate. How many of us, when we heard the word "diabetes," thought we were going to lose our cat within a few months? And how many of us thought we were going to have to PTS within days? Lots of people, I bet. But a year later, Shadow and Raja are not only still here, but they are feeling GOOOOOOOOD. You did that for them, and they know it. :smile:

Happy one year, Pat!
 
Happy Annifursary, Shadow! I think there's great things and numbers ahead for you. Pat, thanks for sharing your feelings about being a FD mom. So, so true. I can't imagine what it was like with both diagnosed together. LOL at the Lucille Ball reference. I bet it's pretty accurate, knowing what we went through with just one. :) And hooray for Raja and her continuing good numbers. Kudos and good karma to you all! You've been such a great support to so many, myself included.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top