8/5 Polly AMPS 236+7=153+10=162 PMPS 148 (7.5u)+2=174+4=138

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marilyn and Sheldon

Member Since 2014
Yesterday

Recap 8/4

344 AMPS
288 +2
305 +7
273 PMPS
250 +2
225 +4
278 +6

A much calmer day in the neighborhood! A pretty sleepy day, too, but that work-place won't afford opportunity for naps, I fear.

Miss Polly was out on the top of the big cat tree in the enclosure at +6 last night. Something very calming about seeing her curled up on that top perch taking in the cool night air without a care in the world...oh, save for the poke she was about to get! Hey, girl-cat, that's the price you pay for freeze dried chicken!

Thanks to everyone who stopped by our neighborhood yesterday with encouragement. This bean has some thinking to do. (Oh my, the bean isn't too good at that sort of thing. :lol: )

Question: Polly is toothless. Has been since '07. Might affect SRT eligibility? Nothing there to form a stay-put mold. One of those crazy thoughts rolling around my head when I should have been sleeping last night.

Vines and wishes. And gratitude for this amazing place called LL.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236

Sorry I can't answer your questions about SRT, Marilyn. I just wanted to stop in and offer more support for you and Polly. I know the lab results weren't good news, but now you know what you're up against and can formulate a battle plan. As always, you'll get wonderful guidance from the experienced users here.

If only we could swap places with our kitties for a few hours and not have a care in the world, right? ;-)

Shelly
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236

Shelly! Thanks for stopping by. Ohmygosh, you were such a help when Polly and I first came to LL. I still think of your teen age girl analogy whenever Polly's numbers follow a I-can't-figure-this-out pattern. It really took away the pressure to understand every little bump and bobble.

Thanks.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240

i've missed you too, shelly! nice to see you!!

they can make molds of gums for other things, i'm not sure why you couldn't do it for SRT as well.

I think I'd probably go up to 8u tonight. It won't quite be 3 days from the green numbers, so if you want to wait til morning you could, just to see if she's going to come down further. but i'm doubting it. it's your choice.

per your pm . .. here's the contact info for CSU for talking to someone about the SRT: http://csu-cvmbs.colostate.edu/vth/small-animal/Pages/default.aspx Just tell them you want to talk to someone about your cat having a diagnosis of acromegaly. In looking that up, I see that the doctor we saw, Jessica Timian, has left her residency there and is now at another clinic. Dr. Catherine Lunn also went to North Carolina State Univ. But I'm confident there will be competent experienced people there to help you.
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240

Marilyn

I'm sorry I didn't get by yesterday but I'm glad you now know for certain the results and can move forward accordingly. The most wonderful thing is the amazing people we have here in Julie, Wendy, Sandy, and Suzanne who are so smart with acro/IAA. I have been amazed at Suzanne's speed in amassing knowledge to help Cobb and trying different things. Smart ladies all so I would take advantage of their knowledge and experience.

And for you and miss Polly... :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG: :YMHUG:
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240

Hey Polly - enough yellow already, let's see blue please. Good luck with the increase Marilyn.

When Nancy's Pepper had SRT, their contact was Dr. Leah Ferguson. I'm going to PM you Dr. Ferguson's email information. I believe she is the replacement for Dr. Timian. They are great at replying to email (provided not on vacation). I had some questions about IGF-1 numbers last year and they responded promptly. At CSU there is usually an IM vetty (Dr. Ferguson) and a radiation oncologist that looks after each case. I also phoned the phone number Julie provided you when I was first thinking of SRT and talked to one of the radiation oncologists. If you want more information about the SRT route, both Julie and I put lots of details in our condos the days we were there and I've written up some notes I can share.
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240

Aww, Marje. Thanks!

Marilyn, if you're considering SRT, Julie and Wendy are definitely the ones to talk to. SRT was not an option for us, so we didn't even have Cobb tested for acro. I didn't want to feel like I wasn't treating something that was treatable. But that is just me. I didn't want to go into getting a test -- knowing I wasn't going to go to the nth degree. If you don't do SRT, you can manage the insulin need and other medical issues that arise. But do be prepared for a big gulper. Cobb is at 31units of Lantus right now. We are switching to Levemir when our vial runs out this week and will start him on a lower dose. If I can keep his dose within the confines of one syringe, I'll be happy. :-D But, you've got a long way to go with Polly before you have to worry about that!
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240+7=153

looks like she's on her way to clearing that bounce. if she's rising at pmps, i'd go ahead and increase, but if her numbers are still decreasing and she hasn't bottomed out on the bounce yet, i'd hold off the increase til morning to see how low she gets to when the bounce is cleared 100%.
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240

Wendy&Neko said:
Hey Polly - enough yellow already, let's see blue please. Good luck with the increase Marilyn.

Gee, Wendy. You speak, Polly listens! Down to 153 at +7 when I got home from work. Suspect she was lower earlier. How 'bout telling the little diva to slowly slide to green!!!

Thanks Julie for the dose advice. I'll see where she goes through the day/night. But I want to be aggressive. Just hate being gone from AM+2 through AM+7 with that thing called work. Maybe we will go up; maybe, won't. I'll let Polly's numbers be my guide.

Yes, Marje. You are so right. We couldn't be in a better place for wisdom, experience and advice. So lucky to have the counsel of Julie, Wendy, Suzanne, and Sandy. My local vet is understandably not prepared for Polly's condition; he's very supportive, though, and also impressed with the info we're gaining here.

"Big gulper!" I love it, Suzanne. Well, I don't love that any of our cats need that much insulin, but it's a great description. I don't know which way we're going to go so it's nice to know I can help Polly no matter our direction. Just lots to think about now.

Whew! What would we do without all the support and wisdom here. I don't know; I don't know...and that's an overwhelming thought.

So much appreciation...

Thanks.

Marilyn and Polly
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240+7=153

shortly after i joined the board, there was a conversation about syringes, and in it, i mentioned i was using u-40 syringes. we'd started on ProZinc, which is a u-40 insulin. When the vet switched punkin to Lantus, he never said anything about different syringes. We thought punkin was getting 3.5u of Lantus at the time, but because of the syringe error, it was really about 7 units of insulin per shot. That was our first flag that punkin might be high dose. People on that thread realized that we were using the u-40 syringes with Lantus and someone fetched Libby, who asked a bunch of questions and gave us a couple of possible scenarios for how to proceed.

There is a lot of wisdom and experience here, and it isn't possible for a vet to know every micro-bit about the intricacies of FD and dosing unless they specialize in it. My vet hadn't heard of acromegaly either, but he was open to me teaching him. I wanted him to become a little more passionate about it so he knew more than i did, but that didn't happen. Overall he was a really good vet, just not so much experience in this. The clinic had really been more of a farm animal clinic, not primarily small animals.
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240+7=153

I agree with Julie. Vets just can't know about everything. It's like asking a general practitioner to be a cardiologist, oncologist, pediatrician, and every other kind of specialist. It really isn't feasible for one person to know all of it.

As much as I like the vet we now take Cobb to, she still thinks acro is a "rare" condition. Her colleague had an acrocat and they weren't making any progress on treatment (granted he was probably eating the prescription food that was too high in carbs), and he got to 25 or 26 units of insulin. His QOL was awful, and they made the decision to let him go. But she told me there was no need to test Cobb for acro because it was so rare. I know better, and we had already had his IAA test done, but I just smiled and nodded. She told me I knew more about feline diabetes that she ever would. She doesn't even ask for curves. She agreed I tested enough to keep Cobb from hypo'ing and said she wasn't concerned about the dose, although she'd never recommend it to someone who wasn't home testing. I have to appreciate that she switched Cobb to Lev without any questions, just "where do you want me to send the prescription?" Granted, I'm pretty sure walking into her clinic with a spreadsheet on my tablet, and spouting the words "Roomp and Rand" and "American Association of Veterinarians," it was clear I'd done my research. :lol:
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240+7=153

It's nice to see that blue today. How nice that Polly was relaxing on her cat tree last night.
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+2=240+7=153+10=162 PMPS 148 (7.5u)+2=

Hi there :cool:

Beautiful Blue Skies here tonight - very calming and easy on the eyes. . .
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+7=153+10=162 PMPS 148 (7.5u)+2=174+4=

Good job on holding the dose tonight Marilyn. :-D

Glad to hear you've got a supportive vet. That makes a world of difference, especially if they are willing to learn along with you. Neko's regular vet had her eyes opened but has since seen another acro cat in her practice. Her acupuncture vetty at a different clinic had done a bunch of reading on acromegaly before we showed up the for first visit, and is taking it as an opportunity to learn. It helped they'd already had a couple of clients go to Colorado State University for SRT for other conditions. I take the opportunity to educate every vet I talk to.
 
Re: 8/5 Polly AMPS 236+7=153+10=162 PMPS 148 (7.5u)+2=174+4=

Seeing that 138 ... apparently she was still clearing the bounce. Looking good!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top