8/5 Ollie AMPS 158 +4 252 +10 324 PMPS 377

Status
Not open for further replies.

Klaree and Ollie

Member Since 2010
Morning LL,

Yesterday:
AMPS 190
shot 1.25
+4 167
+9 138
PMPS 223
shot 1.25
+6 46 (HC gravy - too much??)
+7 118
+9 133

I'm glad that I got up last night to check on him. I was really shocked to see the 46 at +6, then surprised again to see how fast the number came up - too much HC gravy??? Technically he earned a dose redux, right? Should I give it to him this morning (AMPS 158) even though it's only been 3 cycles since the last redux?

Thanks!!

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

yesterdays thread: viewtopic.php?f=9&t=21523&p=213906#p213906

Hi Klaree,

for next time, you may also want to re-test any 40's after giving some food, usually in 15 minute increments, instead of an hour later ok?

Good catch thou!

I'm not too sure, if you don't get any further response, can you hold the dose and we will see for tonight's PMPS?

Are you home this morning?
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

Congrats on the dose crease and NICE CATCH!!!!--Good Job! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

THanks Ronnie and Sienne!!

I will go ahead with the redux because I am going to be out most of the day. Also, fyi, I do test every 15 min after a low reading (it was a steady climb to 118 after the first dose of HC gravy - I'm thinking I may stick to the tiniest bit of it drizzled over his reg LC food), I only recorded the next hour reading to keep my spreadsheet simpler. I WANT to test like every 5 minutes, but I know that is excessive :mrgreen:. Any thoughts on why he is bouncing around so much, or is this normal (it seems like every kitty's SS is different - I suppose I just answered my own question...)? Is it because he keeps dropping below 50 and then rebounding?

Thanks,
Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

The food ingested will not register in the bg before 15-20 minutes so you would be poking for nothing
Leave out a Lot of food today, so Ollie can eat if he drops- Yes you can drizzle gravy it is fine-Cats will eat when they feel themselves dropping--Also.
A timed feeder will help you immensely--You can set it like I do at +3 where the initial drop in bg starts, and at +5 or +6 which is Moonie's nadir(lowest in cycle)That way it gets them through till you come home --
Ollie is doing great from the looks of your SS!!!! He likes Lantus!
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

Looks like Ollie's nadir is around +6 if that's any help! Have a good day! :-D
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

Thanks Roni!

Yeah, his nadir is around +6 although he's surprised me with <50 at +4 a couple of times too. The problem with a timed feeder, or leaving food out in general, is that his sister (civvie) is a huge pig! She eats everything I put out and will even go over to Ollie's bowl and push him out of the way and eat his - before hers is gone! He lets her too, he loves her and will just lick her while she eats his food. I've tried to separate them at meal time but she howls and it stresses him out and he won't eat. So I have to stand there and police her during every single meal/snack. I think that even if I got 2 timed feeders she'd just eat both of them! She is getting so fat..... I don't know what to do, he's gotten thin (although he seems to have stabilized at 15.5) and she is getting HUGE! Oh Little Kitty and Ollie, you both make me laugh and steam at the same time.... :lol: :lol: cat(2)_steam :lol: :lol:

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie 8/4 +6 PM - 46, AMPS 158 *DOSE QUESTION*

hey Klaree, can you update your subject line since you gave shot already?

Hope you have a good day with Ollie! :razz:
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie AMPS 158 +4 252 ?!?

I know I didn't fur-shot... what's up with the 252 at +4??? He seems to be yo-yo'ing lately. I wonder if I should increase the dose a little and hold it (regardless of #'s) for 5 days or so....

Thoughts?

Klaree and Ollie
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie AMPS 158 +4 252 ?!?

Ollie is still in LTS (Liver Training School), this is a reaction to going low last night. You have to get used to it, it will slowly get better. The liver produces glucose and releases it to the blood when BG levels drop suddenly. In fact this is how cats normally produce the glucose the brain needs when on a high protein diet. BG from carbs is not natural for cats, hence FD.
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie AMPS 158 +4 252 ?!?

Klaree and Ollie said:
I know I didn't fur-shot... what's up with the 252 at +4??? He seems to be yo-yo'ing lately. I wonder if I should increase the dose a little and hold it (regardless of #'s) for 5 days or so....

Thoughts?

Klaree and Ollie


Hi.....

my only suggestion is, you really need to be patient with the doses and give them a chance to work.
you can't rush a kitty, they'll do what they want, we're just there to keep them safe and happy. cat_pet_icon
 
Re: 8/5 Ollie AMPS 158 +4 252 ?!?

THanks Ann and Ronnie! Good info to know Ann, I didn't realize that LTS took this long (I know...ETC :lol:). I needed reassured :mrgreen:. I'm gonna play it cool... :cool:. I just wanted to check in and make sure that I wasn't doing the wrong thing.

Fingers crossed for a nice and easy come down. Have a great day you guys.

Klaree and Ollie
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top