8/5 Mr. Howell AMPS 80, +2 75 PMPS 214, +3 147, +5 80

Status
Not open for further replies.

Emily & Mr. Howell

Member Since 2011
Good morning, LL.
Yesterday
I can only take so much more of this night testing and snacking - I am so exhausted by the time I finally get up that I can't even get anything done during the day. :YMSIGH:
Mr. Howell was frantic about breakfast so I knew his # must be kind of low. Now I don't know if I should shoot, or give a reduced dose, since he's been on the 2u for 9 consecutive cycles now.
Thanks everyone! Hope you have a great Friday.
Edit: P.S. Mr Howell... congratulations on your first 24hrs in the blues and greens yesterday!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMPS 68 - should I shoot?

Went to the kitchen for a minute and Mr. H had already finished his 1/2can for bfast.. I ended up tossing his dinner last night because he refused to eat anything during the storm, and only ate the 1/4can treat at +6 last night because I knew he hadn't eaten anything.
He was soo whiny I gave him the extra 1/4can, so he's had 3/4can FF for breakfast.
Still waiting on the shot...
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Since you fed him, it will be more difficult. Usually if you are trying to decide whether to shoot, you would not feed and test in 15 minutes to see if he was on his way up or down. However, since he has eaten now, it would be a food induced number.

You need to read the following link: Dealing with Low Preshot Numbers - viewtopic.php?f=9&t=46005

Are you going to be around to test?
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

I fed him because I figured he'd still keep going down since he hadn't eaten more than 1/4can of food since AMPS+12 yesterday.
Should I give him a reduced dose?
I have read the stickies and keep them open in my browser tabs. I still come here to ask because they don't give me enough information.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Melissa beat me to it!!!! If you feed and test at the same time (a lot of us do), and you get a low number, you need to take away any food that remains until you decide how you want to proceed with shooting. Your kitty will forgive you!! How much time has gone by since his normal shot time, and how long since he ate?
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

It looks like you shot this low last week. A lot of it depends on if you will be there to test.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Melissa - yes, and that was kind of an accident as well. He was fine but I'm more tentative to shoot now because his numbers were so consistently low yesterday.
Forgive me for missing some of these not so minor details..
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

I would shoot a reduced dose or skip the shot if it were me, especially since you are so new and with all of the greens yesterday. It doesn't look like many are online and I know you need an answer asap. If you skip the shot, just call it a fur shot. It really depends on what you are comfortable with.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Hi there,

Unfortunately I can't see Mr. H ss here at tbp, so I'm not sure how low he went last night and how much 'cycle management' you had to go through, or if you are "data ready" to shoot this low.

You know your 3 choices. Now you are kind of left with 2, since you fed him the next test may produce an artificially high #, so stall and retest is unreliable.

So that leaves you with shoot a reduced dose or skip it.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Thanks Melissa. I am much more comfortable dealing with his numbers when he is high. I think I'm going to go ahead and skip the dose, since I already failed at getting another BG test before he ate. Well it'll be interesting to see how he reacts to no insulin.
Some days...
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Forgive me for missing some of these not so minor details..

No worries. These are all things that will start to click with you later. We all were in your position at one time or another.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

You've shot a 70 before. This is pretty much the same. What about shooting the same dose as then -- a 1.5u.

Unfortunately, I'm on my way out the door to tbp and won't be able to check in -- or at least I may not be able to. If you're not comfortable with that dose, it's ok. I'd suggest shooting something so you don't deplete the shed with a skipped shot. You could shoot 1.0u or less. It's really you're call.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Hi Sandy, here's his recap from yesterday:
AMPS 192
+1 155
+3 63
+4 80
+5 103
+6 88
+8 147
PMPS 161
+2 132
+3 133
+6 91

I shot him once before when his PMPS was 70 and he had a great cycle, but that was when his PMPS the day before was 442 and I wasn't so scared that he would drop so much.
Thanks for your help everyone.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Sienne and Gabby said:
I'd suggest shooting something so you don't deplete the shed with a skipped shot. You could shoot 1.0u or less. It's really you're call.

I agree, so long as you are comfortable.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Okay. I think I was just nervous because I knew how little he ate yesterday.
I gave him another 1/4can of food (he's had 1can today). I retested anyway and he's at 80.
I gave him 1u since I'll be here today to test and I agree that I want to keep his shed stocked and ready.
Thanks everyone again. It's a lot to deal with immediately after waking up.. Good morning..
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Just start your day all over! :lol: :lol: :lol: Good morning! Nice numbers for Mr Howell today! Hope you have a great day!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

I'm glad you will be around. You'll get some good data today. How much past +12 did you hoot? Don't forget to note that on the ss (if you have forgive me - I can't see the ss from tbp). that's important info to note and remember for later when trying to get back to your regular schedule following a stall in shooting.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Haha, good morning Melissa! :-D Yes he's doing awesome!! Hope your day is wonderful as well! :lol: :lol:
Sandy, I gave 1u at +13 from his last shot, and it's noted in my SS. I'll keep testing him today and letting you all know. Am I right in thinking I'm going to give him his PM shot at the same time as usual (8 p.m.) even though I gave him 1u at 9 a.m. today?

Just decided to check AWD website and found my test strips 100/$30... yesss thank you Internet...now to get around the shipping...
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

ooh I am not familiar with this Mr. Rebates but I think I'll look him up and we shall be friends!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Definitely!!! It is totally worth it. Just sign up and then go to ADW through it and you get 8% off, plus discounts at all kinds of stores.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

your shot time tonight is 12 hours from your shot time this morning. you can work backwards by 15 minutes per shot or 30 minutes once a day to get back to your regular time.

might want to edit your subject line since you've resolved your question.

and good morning! mr howell is looking AWESOME today! :mrgreen:
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

dasypus said:
Am I right in thinking I'm going to give him his PM shot at the same time as usual (8 p.m.) even though I gave him 1u at 9 a.m. today?
Lantus has a cumulative effect, so hooting early is like increasing the dose.
In general if you get off schedule due to stalling, it's safe to either
1)shoot 15 min early per cycle until you get back on track
2)shoot 30 min early once per 24hrs until you get back on track

I'm not sure if being that you stalled and shot a reduced dose that would give you any more wiggle room to the above. Hopefully someone wiill chime in on that. . .
dasypus said:
Just decided to check AWD website and found my test strips 100/$30...
Should last a few days. . . ;-)
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

You have to shoot 12 hours from his morning shot time today, so that will be 9 tonight. If you want to dial it back to his normal shot time of 8 am/8 pm, you can shoot 15 minutes earlier with each shot or 30 minutes with one shot a day until you reach the time you want. You could shoot at 8:30 tonight and then 8:00 tomorrow morning.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68 - should I shoot?

Look at Mr. Howell go!! Beautiful numbers to start the day!

Not sure if this code will work for first time customers, but ADW811E will get you 5% off your order... would cover a bit of the shipping! Mr. Rebates may have some additional codes as well.

Good luck!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68

Thank you all, that makes sense. If I shoot him at 8:45 tonight and 8:30 tomorrow morning, that means I get an extra 30 minutes of sleep :lol: :lol:
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMBG 68

Good morning!! Wow...what an exciting morning you've had.

I'm so sorry that I haven't welcomed you into Lantus Land but looks like you all have been doing great.

I think you shot an 80 so your subject line should now read AMPS 80. That will let us know you did shoot. Great job. Hope he gives you an awesome cycle.

You've had lots of good help this morning. Hopefully, I'll be around more in the near future and can get to know you and Mr. Howell! Have a great day.
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMPS 80, +2 75

+2 75. Gave another 1/4can FF so he's up to 1 1/4cans but he deserves it since his numbers are soooo AWESOME! He is purr central right now, pretty much the happiest kitty I've ever seen. :-D
I'll keep testing, I reeeaaallly don't want to deal with a hypo situation on such a beautifully rainy Friday!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMPS 80, +2 75

dasypus said:
If I shoot him at 8:45 tonight and 8:30 tomorrow morning, that means I get an extra 30 minutes of sleep
Theoretically....assuming Mr. H takes a trip to Bounceville. . . :-D
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMPS 80, +2 75 PMPS 214, +3 147

PMPS 214, +3 147.
I am SO PROUD of Mr. Howell. He has been the best cat ever. The DBF has offered selflessly to get up and test him in the middle of the night so I can get some sleep - he truly is awesome, being the one who is working fulltime to pay for our lives while I look for work. :-D :-D
Thanks to everyone for helping me the last week - Mr. Howell has improved SO MUCH! I am so hopeful that we are going to have many years together.
We went to get him some more FF and I decided to pick up some freeze dried beef liver treats because he's been so awesome!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr. Howell AMPS 80, +2 75 PMPS 214, +3 147

What a great post!!! Hope you and DBF and Mr. Howell have a great night.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top