Jess and MrCat
Member Since 2013
Hello! Mr. Cat is newly diagnosed and has been on Lantus for three weeks. I started with 2 units (per the vet's recommendation) but found this site, started home testing, and moved him down to 1.5U after switching to a low-carb diet. He then went down to 1U due to recommendations from this site but I moved him up to 1.25U for a bit due to high numbers.
In the past few days, he went back down to 1U since his PS's have been in the low 100's. I think he's he's on the right dose now (1U) and that I should hold this dose. However, since I am new and am technically not supposed to shoot below 200, I wonder if I am shooting too low (sometimes, his BG has been 106 - 120 before food - I have given food, then re-tested up to 138 or so, then given shot). He is a very large (not fat) 14-lb cat, so he seems to tolerate 1U fine. In the last 7 days, his lowest BG has been 78. Any feedback? Should I not shoot in the low 100's?
In the past few days, he went back down to 1U since his PS's have been in the low 100's. I think he's he's on the right dose now (1U) and that I should hold this dose. However, since I am new and am technically not supposed to shoot below 200, I wonder if I am shooting too low (sometimes, his BG has been 106 - 120 before food - I have given food, then re-tested up to 138 or so, then given shot). He is a very large (not fat) 14-lb cat, so he seems to tolerate 1U fine. In the last 7 days, his lowest BG has been 78. Any feedback? Should I not shoot in the low 100's?