8/5 Mr Cat AMPS 107 +2 82 +4 87 +6 93

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jess and MrCat

Member Since 2013
Hello! Mr. Cat is newly diagnosed and has been on Lantus for three weeks. I started with 2 units (per the vet's recommendation) but found this site, started home testing, and moved him down to 1.5U after switching to a low-carb diet. He then went down to 1U due to recommendations from this site but I moved him up to 1.25U for a bit due to high numbers.
In the past few days, he went back down to 1U since his PS's have been in the low 100's. I think he's he's on the right dose now (1U) and that I should hold this dose. However, since I am new and am technically not supposed to shoot below 200, I wonder if I am shooting too low (sometimes, his BG has been 106 - 120 before food - I have given food, then re-tested up to 138 or so, then given shot). He is a very large (not fat) 14-lb cat, so he seems to tolerate 1U fine. In the last 7 days, his lowest BG has been 78. Any feedback? Should I not shoot in the low 100's?
 
Re: Holding the dose?

It looks like you're getting beautiful numbers with what you're doing . . . don't fix what ain't broke :lol: What I wouldn't give for a spreadsheet with only blue and green on it!
 
Re: Holding the dose?

Thanks! I've seen some wild spreadsheets on this site and I am truly grateful for Mr. Cat's numbers!
 
Re: Holding the dose?

The 200 shoot/no shoot threshold is for new people when they first start to post on the Feline Health forum. Once you get the hang of testing and that SS starts to fill in, you usually move over here to the Lantus TR group if you are using Lantus or Levimir.

The shoot/no shoot and ask for help threshold over here in Lantus TR is 150. You've shot lower than that already and have some nice data. I'm not sure I would have dropped the dose from 1.25U to 1U. You did not have a number below 50 to earn a reduction. We can certainly let this new 1U dose play out for 6 cycles and go back up again if needed.

I would encourage you to get at least one test before you go to sleep for the night. What we call the "before bed test". That gives you an idea of where your cat is headed for the night.

Many cats drop lower at night and we want to see what happens in the evening cycle as well as the morning cycle. If you are not testing beyond the PMPS, you are missing half your data.

We like to see a certain format in your subject line. date, cats name, PS tests, other tests. Like this:

8/4 Mr Cat AMPS 121 +4 83 +6 94

As you get more numbers during the day or night, you go back to your very first post in your condo and update the subject line with any new BG tests. This gives the folks scanning the board, a heads up with any issues, because they can quickly see the numbers in your subject line.
 
Re: Holding the dose?

Welcome to Lantus Land.

I'm hoping that you were encouraged to read the starred sticky notes at the top of the board. In light of the information there, I'd like to make a few suggestions. If you are planning on following the Tight Regulation Protocol, you will need to consider that:
  • the TR Protocol requires that you feed low carb canned food. The Wellness Core Indoor formula is 12% carb. We consider low carb as below 10%. Most of us feed closer to 5%.
  • Since Lantus dose is based on the lowest blood glucose value (i.e., the nadir), it's important to get spot checks. You're doing a great job of testing during the AM cycle. You will really need to start getting tests during the PM cylce. Many cats experience lower numbers during the PM cycle. If you don't test, your cat could be in dangerously low numbers, you could miss a dose reduction, and finally, you're missing half of your data.
I would not do anything with the dose until you have some PM cycle tests.
...I wonder if I am shooting too low (sometimes, his BG has been 106 - 120 before food - I have given food, then re-tested up to 138 or so, then given shot).
It's not so much an issue of shooting numbers in the 106 - 120 range. Many of us shoot lower number on a regular basis. However, if you feed and then re-test, the numbers will be inflated by the effect of food. What this amounts to is your having a false sense of confidence. What we recommend if you are worried about shooting is to stall, don't feed, and re-test in 15 - 20 min. If the numbers are rising, in all likelihood, it's fine to shoot. When you are shooting lower numbers, it helps to remember that Lantus takes at least an hour and usually 2 hours to start working. This both allows for the effects of food to raise numbers as well as for time to pass and numbers to rise as they typically do at the end of the cycle. You might want to look over this post on how to handle low pre-shot numbers.
 
Re: 8/4 Mr Cat AMPS 121 +4 83 +6 94

I'm not sure I would have dropped the dose from 1.25U to 1U. You did not have a number below 50 to earn a reduction. We can certainly let this new 1U dose play out for 6 cycles and go back up again if needed.
Well, I was nervous about giving 1.5U since his BG seemed low and I hadn't yet found the information about <50 earning a reduction. I think you may be right about administering 1.25U but I'll stick with 1U for 6 cycles and increase after that, if necessary.

I only fed Mr.Cat one can of Wellness a week ago and it clearly raised his BG, so I didn't give him any more. Sorry, I forgot to remove Wellness from my signature.

I'll work on getting a few PM readings. The only problem is, Mr. Cat gets his shots at 10am and 10pm so I have to get up at 2am for his +4. @-)

Thanks to everyone for your feedback. Mr.Cat is much happier and healthier since his BG is under control (shiny coat and no more bleeding gums!). ;-)
 
Re: 8/5 Mr Cat AMPS 109

I followed everyone's advice and I got up last night to get Mr. Cat's +5 and tested again this morning at his +11.
So.... yesterday's numbers were....

8/4 AMPS 121 +4 83 +6 94 PMPS 119 +5 115 +11 103
8/5 AMPS 107
I may have to get up tonight and test more since it looks like his PM nadir may be later than his daytime nadir. Thanks again for your help!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr Cat AMPS 109

Hi guys, no dosing advice from me, just wanted to welcome you to lantus land! Sounds like you've gotten some beautiful numbers from mr cat already .. have a great day guys!
 
Re: 8/5 Mr Cat AMPS 109

Sounds like a good plan, to get a few different test numbers at night, different mid-cycle times.

Nadirs can move around from cycle to cycle also. They might not always be at +4 or +6.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top