8.5 mmol/l (153mg/dl)

Status
Not open for further replies.

Seth And Thor

Member Since 2023
Good Evening everyone

quick question, should I lower Thor's Dose to 1 unit starting this weekend as I would like to start his transition to Weruva? i have put leave in for Monday which means I have 3 days to monitor him.
 
Maybe you can get some of these where you live
BFF play chicken Checkmate
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 133%

BFF play chicken & turkey topsy turvy
Protein 32%
Carbs 5.20%
Phosphorus 134%

BFF play chicken cherish
Protein 31%
Carbs 4.90%
Phosphorus 132%

BFF chicken & turkey tiptoe
Protein 31%
Carbs 5.10%
Phosphorus 133%

BFF chicken duck & turkey take a chance
Protein 32%
Carbs 5.20%
Phosphorus 152%

BFF play chicken & lamb laugh out loud
Protein 31%
Carbs 5%
Phosphorus 152%

BFF play chicken & duck destiny
Protein 32%
Carbs 5.10%
Phosphorus 163%

BFF play chicken & beef best buds
Protein 33%
Carbs 5.30%
Phosphorus 175%

Don't know if your kitty likes pate but here is the list of the BFF line.
YOU WANT CARBS UNDER 10% AND PHOSPHORUS IDEALLY LOW 200's OR LESS


You want the metabolizable energy profile percentage of carbs to be less than 10%, and the phosphorus which Weruva lists in Minerals to be less than 250 mg per 100 cals. So you have to look at two different places in the Weruva charts.

https://weruva.com
You can look at all the cat foods here other than the pates,
When you click on each can of cat food click on
Detailed Nutrition Information that's in the left hand side
And it will give you all the information like I posted above
 
Last edited:
I just did a search on our site and found this posted by one of our members
Posted by a member
I've found some low carb wet foods that look to be available in South Africa, Sheba, Weruva.
Go through these lists and see which low carb options are readily available.
Whiskas in Jelly are low in carbs and okay to feed, but Whiskas in Gravy are high carbs. Little Big paw is low carb.

If you ever need to bring Thor's BG up you want to have available med and high carb food
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
Oh and some honey

You might be able to find some of these on the Weruva and the other links I posted
 
I just did a search on our site and found this posted by one of our members
Posted by a member
I've found some low carb wet foods that look to be available in South Africa, Sheba, Weruva.
Go through these lists and see which low carb options are readily available.
Whiskas in Jelly are low in carbs and okay to feed, but Whiskas in Gravy are high carbs. Little Big paw is low carb.

If you ever need to bring Thor's BG up you want to have available med and high carb food
Between 11% and 17% is medium carbs.

18% and over is high carb.
Oh and some honey

You might be able to find some of these on the Weruva and the other links I posted
Thanks so much on all this info, really much appreciated. Will look at all options I can
 
Hi Seth,
What dosing method are you following?. HERE are the 2 dosing methods for lantus. Can you have a look and choose which one you would like to follow please? Until you get all the dry food out of his diet, it will have to be SLGS but you might like to swap to TR once he is on all wet food. Can you put the dosing method into the signature and the SS please Seth.
By the look of the BGs on the SS he is doing some bouncing after the drops to green BGs. Here is an explanation on bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Thor has not earned a reduction in dose, however as you have been feeding Hills WD and the BG has dropped to 97, I think it would be a good idea to drop it to 1 unit and see how that goes. You will need to monitor closely. Don't do the swap over to wet food cold turkey but do it gradually or you might cause a tummy upset..
 
Hi Seth,
What dosing method are you following?. HERE are the 2 dosing methods for lantus. Can you have a look and choose which one you would like to follow please? Until you get all the dry food out of his diet, it will have to be SLGS but you might like to swap to TR once he is on all wet food. Can you put the dosing method into the signature and the SS please Seth.
By the look of the BGs on the SS he is doing some bouncing after the drops to green BGs. Here is an explanation on bouncing
  • Bouncing - Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast. The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". *Usually*, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles).
Thor has not earned a reduction in dose, however as you have been feeding Hills WD and the BG has dropped to 97, I think it would be a good idea to drop it to 1 unit and see how that goes. You will need to monitor closely. Don't do the swap over to wet food cold turkey but do it gradually or you might cause a tummy upset..
Thanks for this Info, i brought him back onto his M/D as he was plainly refusing to eat any of the W/D not even if I mix it with M/D. I will be monitoring him very closely as I only want what is best for him.
When it comes to the wet food I will start him on a 80/20 ratio. his BG was 12 this morning before feeding and 13.1 after and before shot, but I gave him his 1 unit.

keeping a close eye on him to make sure it doesn't drop to low. His Dosing is every 12 hours 6.20 and 18.20
 
Thanks for this Info, i brought him back onto his M/D as he was plainly refusing to eat any of the W/D not even if I mix it with M/D. I will be monitoring him very closely as I only want what is best for him.
When it comes to the wet food I will start him on a 80/20 ratio. his BG was 12 this morning before feeding and 13.1 after and before shot, but I gave him his 1 unit.

keeping a close eye on him to make sure it doesn't drop to low. His Dosing is every 12 hours 6.20 and 18.20
The MD dry is around 17% carbs whereas the WD is in the 30s%. Good luck with the swap to low carb wet.
 
This is the current situation. Thor had his meal this morning of M/D kibble but his AMPS was 12mmol/l then gave him the M/D and took a BG again at 13.1mmol/1, it has been dropping all day so i have been fighting to keep it from dropping to low, his eyes are a little watery and his not really in any mood to nibble on anything, i have given him a bit of honey now just to raise it as I'm worried its going to plummet. I have updated his SS with all the readings from today so far.
 
It looks like Thor's numbers may be heading up. At least from what's on your spreadsheet, your last test was at +8. The insulin should begin to wear off since you're close to the end of the cycle. You can always test in 30 min to see where numbers are heading.
 
It looks like Thor's numbers may be heading up. At least from what's on your spreadsheet, your last test was at +8. The insulin should begin to wear off since you're close to the end of the cycle. You can always test in 30 min to see where numbers are heading.
I'm going to be testing him again soon after feeding but with them being so low all day I doubt he will be getting a shot tonight.

I gave him his shot this morning on 13.1mmol/l and it really dropped him super low. So I'm a little concerned that if I give it to him hey might become hypo.
 
Thor's numbers are not dangerously low. There's a good chance there's some carry over from the 1.2u dose to the current 1.0u dose. As long as you can monitor the numbers closely and have high carb food on hand, your cat will not become hypoglycemic because you will intervene to raise his numbers. I know it's scary! The key is for you to not panic and just think thing through.

This is information on how to handle low numbers. (We have posts on just about everything!!)
 
Thor's numbers are not dangerously low. There's a good chance there's some carry over from the 1.2u dose to the current 1.0u dose. As long as you can monitor the numbers closely and have high carb food on hand, your cat will not become hypoglycemic because you will intervene to raise his numbers. I know it's scary! The key is for you to not panic and just think thing through.

This is information on how to handle low numbers. (We have posts on just about everything!!)
Thanks for all the advice. His BG seems to be keeping a bit higher now. I just worry when it goes under 5mmol/l because I have already seen him at 2.3mmol/l with mild hypo luckily I got him to the vet on time. Rush him there at 4.30 in the morning.

Never knew that there would ever be a carryover. Was always under the impression that it would wear off before 12 hours.

Thanks again
 
Lantus is a depot type of insulin. It's what makes it different from most of the other insulins and it's why it's long-acting and gentle. Basically, when you inject Lantus, it forms crystals that are deposited in the fat tissue. Over the course of the cycle most of the crystals dissolve. However, not al completely dissolve so when you inject 12 hours later, there's still a bit left and the previous and current dose overlap. It's why. you may not see an increased dose bump up numbers immediately or why a reduced dose may not drop the numbers immediately -- the depot has to readjust to a new dose. There is a sticky note on the Lantus board that discusses the depot.
 
Lantus is a depot type of insulin. It's what makes it different from most of the other insulins and it's why it's long-acting and gentle. Basically, when you inject Lantus, it forms crystals that are deposited in the fat tissue. Over the course of the cycle most of the crystals dissolve. However, not al completely dissolve so when you inject 12 hours later, there's still a bit left and the previous and current dose overlap. It's why. you may not see an increased dose bump up numbers immediately or why a reduced dose may not drop the numbers immediately -- the depot has to readjust to a new dose. There is a sticky note on the Lantus board that discusses the depot.

Thank you so much for all this useful information, I am so happy that I came to this forum as everyone is so knowledgeable and are always willing to assist, 2019 we lost Thor's brother to what we think was Diabetes which we caught to late, and we could never get a clear answer from the vet, the day I was supposed to pick him up they from the vet they asked to keep him one more night just to make sure all is okay.
The next morning i got the call that he had passed away in his enclosure.

Ever since that day we are very uncomfortable leaving any of our cats at the vet for long periods of time and very neurotic when it comes to Thor.
 
Thor's current feeding structure is like this, mornings he gets kibble @ 25g Hills M/D. every second day is 1 full pouch Royal Cannin Diabetic or 25g Hills M/D
we average around $74 a month on his food and I mention this because sometimes its just going to waste but thanks to this forum I see that there are more options available for feeding him than the vets say.
After reading about the benefits of LC wet diets I am now slowly transitioning him over to Weruva, I have also noticed the constipation he gets from to much kibble, when he gets like that I generally give him a stool softener (i.e Laxapet). I know this isn't good for him to continue down a path like that and thus the change over to a LC wet diet, all we want is a wholesome life for him.
 
So I have been monitoring Thor again after yesterday and I noticed his BG has been in the lower numbers today and now I have skipped his shot as it will drop it into very dangerous territory. but it seems like it is still coming down even though he has eaten.
 
Last edited:
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top