Hi, Jenny,
The short answer is: Give him the initial dose (0.5u or 1.0 -- whichever you choose) for at least a week UNLESS his BG at pre-shot is below 200 OR the cat is refusing to eat. (Test, Feed, Shoot in that order.) Give nothing if the BG is that low or he is on a hunger strike, but go ahead and take tests during the day.
It's important that the cat has food available after the shot and up until 2 hours prior to the shot time. If you want to, you can freeze half his daytime food and put the unfrozen part down in the morning for breakfast and the frozen part down when you leave for work.) If you can, try to keep him from eating for 2 hours before the Amps and Pmps tests UNLESS you are worried that his BG is getting low during that time. (If you aren't home at the time you need to pick up the food from the floor, don't worry about it. You can incorporate that part of the treatment later or not at all unless you find it's necessary.)
Also, test him at +6 as well as Amps and Pmps. Try to test at +6 in the middle of the night as often as you can stand it. If you can, test him at +1 and +2 and +10 and +11 as often as possible. Once you gather up all this data, you will have information to help in raising the dose, and you might even get an answer here that tells you that you can raise the dose before the 7 days at 0.5u is up. Post everyday (or every other day if that's all you can do), and use the question mark in your post if you want an answer to a specific question.
Don't worry about high numbers during this initial time. Most cats (who are otherwise healthy) are very resilient to high BGs, unlike dogs, and it takes a long time of having a high BG to really hurt a cat that is newly diagnosed. Unless you think your cat has had diabetes for a long time before he was diagnosed, try to relax while you are waiting to increase the dose.
You may wish to check out this link:
http://binkyspage.tripod.com/SLGS.html until someone who is very experienced with dosing answers your questions. This is Binky's page explaining the Start Low/Go Slow approach to regulating diabetes in felines. It says in Step 2: "Don’t increase the dose until your cat has been on it for at least a week. If you have reason to be concerned about hypoglycemia, or if your cat won’t eat, do decrease the dose and contact your vet. Do test your cat’s urine frequently during the regulation process using Ketostix or Ketodiastix, and contact your vet immediately if the cat tests positive for ketones. Do be consistent in the timing and type of food. Do give the shots at about the same time every day." (By "about the same time" usually means within 15 minutes of the same time. Thirty (30) minutes past the time (or before the time) is too much, and if I missed by 30 minutes when I was new at this I would skip the shot, and give the next shot at the regular time in the evening or the next morning, unless I had posted about the problem and someone suggested differently.**** Test for ketones when you have to skip a shot either because of low BG or because you missed the time.)
It's fine to post here in TR even if you are using Start Low/Go Slow. Just remember that you have to evaluate -- as best you can -- what people on the board suggest that you do based on what you read in the Stickies at the top of all the posts and all the other information on this site. This is just the same as you have to evaluate what your vet tells you. If something seems scary or dangerous to you or you just aren't comfortable enough with this whole crazy FD thing to take someone's advice, don't. Wait, think about it, and read more answers until you feel like you know the right thing to do.
****The exception to this is, let's say you wish you were giving him the shot at 6:45 (or even 7:15) instead of 6:15, and you accidentally missed your 6:15 shot by almost 1/2 an hour AND you are committed to using 6:45 (or 7:15) for the future consistently. Test at 6:40 then feed and shoot (or wait until 7:10 and test, feed, then shoot).
If you want to give the shot a 1/2 an hour early, and make your new time 5:45, it's possible to do that, but not advisable. You might end up with a very low number about 2 hours later around 7:45, and if you are not there to catch it or stay with him that would be bad. However, 15 minutes early is okay. Then to get to 6:45 you can give the shot 15 minutes early at the next shot time or even the next day to get to the 6:45 time you wanted to use. It is best to be very consistent and not move the time around even by 15 minutes if at all possible, but it's just very difficult sometimes to keep the time exactly. (If you have daylight savings time in your area, you'll have to use this process of moving the shot time in 15 minute increments twice a year to adjust to the Time Change.)
I hope this isn't TMI at once! I had such trouble with shot times and incorporating all of this FD stuff into my busy life that I had to find out all the "exceptions" to everything I could.
Have a good day today!