8/5 Jessica AMPS 327 "Dosage advice"

Status
Not open for further replies.

ftsang & Jessica

Member Since 2013
Jessica previous condo

Good afternoon all,
Increased dose to 5.5U from 5.25U last Friday but still no improvement.
Every time when I increased her dose, I desperately waiting to see some blue, but as usual it was a disappointment.
Can someone tell me what to do? Is Jessica dosage abnormally high or extremely high for a 9.8lbs cat?
She got a diarrhea since last Friday after I've used a timed feeder with an ice pad on top of it.
May be the food was too cold for her.
She has more energy and less hungry but stilling drinking a lot. :sad: :!:

Have a nice day.
 
Re: 8/5 Jessica AMPS 327

Hi guys .. no dosing advice from me .. I sure hope this is the breakthrough dose for jessica though .. and she starts showing you some lovely blues and greens! have a great day guys!
 
Frankie

We don't start thinking about a kitty possibly being a high dose cat until they get over 6u. I would increase her dose again by .5u and hope for a breakthrough. It's possible that she just has some glucose toxicity and it's going to take some time to get through that. Take a look at Charm's SS and you'll see a good example.

With other cats doing these high, flat curves, we have them increasing after every four cycles until they start getting some lower numbers but I'm hesitant to do that with Jessica because you are gone during the day. How do you feel about it?

Is there any way at all for you to get an out the door, in the door test on your work days? Or do you shoot and have to leave and then get home and have to shoot again? I know that happens with some members. Forgive me if I've asked that question before. We have so many members now that I don't remember everyone's work schedule. Only who works and who doesn't.

But, you are doing a great job of getting night and weekend tests. Kudos to you!
 
Hi Frankie--

Just wanted to drop in and see how you & Jessica are doing. Let us know how the ReNew works. Does she still have the squirts???
 
Hi Frankie, I can sympathize with the going up and up. Very frustrating, but it's what you have to do to get Jessica into good numbers. As Marje suggested, a .5U increase should be next. Once a kitty goes over 5 units, increases of .5 are suggested unless you are just fine tuning. As a percentage of the overall insulin given, a .25 unit increase isn't as much for a greater than 5U dose. And it's much easier doing doses on the line. :-D

You mentioned today that Jessica is 9.8 lb cat, but at the beginning of the SS she is 8lb 13. Does that mean she is gaining a bit of weight now? Good to hear she has more energy and is less hungry now.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top