8/5 Indigo +3 167, +4 131, +5 108, +7 70, +8 67, +9 72, +10 72, PMPS 58

Carole & Indigo

Member Since 2021
Yesterday

It is just over an hour to tonight’s PM shot, we are going to do the full dose. Hopefully he goes up a touch before then so I can feel better with a rising number.
He has not been interested in food today, he ate about half of his breakfast and ignored lunch. We didn’t give him his afternoon meal, he didn’t even flinch when we said foodies so hopefully he will be hungry by shot time. Fingers crossed
 
Gave the first green full dose :nailbiting:
Going to monitor closely and test frequently. He wolfed down the bit of food we gave him and will feed again in an hour. I feel like we are prepared but I’m so nervous.
 
For me personally, I feel like you are reducing his no-shoot value a bit too quickly. The Becoming Data Ready sticky says you want to start with that 150 mg/dL no-shoot value and then work your way down from there. You don't have much data about how Indigo performs with <150md/dL preshot values and 1.5-1.75u of insulin, so jumping to having <58 as your no-shoot value is riskier since you don't have the data to see look back on to see how he reacts when in that low preshot range.

With the lower values, it is even more important to know when the insulin kicks in and and if he is trending upwards or downwards. Seems like he isn't rising like he usually does with that 56 PMPS+1.

I started of Dixie with ProZinc which is an in-and-out insulin so it doesn't have the depot that Lantus does. I know that Lantus dosing is more complex with how one cycle can affect the next. I also didn't experience the same highs and lows that Indigo is showing on his spreadsheet, so I know that also complicates things because the greens don't come as often and you feel like you really want to take advantage of them! I just wanted to make this post so that you know to be extra vigilant and to keep a good eye on him tonight. Looks very likely that he may enter the lime greens tonight. Don't be afraid to feed him some spoons of MC/HC food to bring him up if need be. Do you have a hypo kit ready?
 
+2 65 fed LC

We do have a hypo kit and are ready to jump in with higher carb if need be.
I have been second guessing giving the full dose but in the past when we have reduced or skipped we have gone right back to higher numbers. We are hoping shooting the low number will keep him coasting instead of the ups and downs.
I’m super nervous and not taking my eyes off him
 
Happy to see him go up to that 65 :)

Yeah it is really just what you feel comfortable with and how much risk you are okay with. I hope he surfs safely throughout the night <3
 
It's great you shot the full dose. When you can monitor you can shoot any number over 50 with TR. Looks like he is heading up in a bounce and the full dose will limit the bouncing to some extent. He is looking great! Back in green in just 3 cycles after that BCS of 0.5U.
 
Thanks for the reassurance Bhooma, can’t tell you how much better that makes me feel!
I was questioning if we did the right thing since his PS was lower than +10 but I am home tonight and able to stay up so we followed through. These numbers are terrifying though!
I have to admit if my hubby had been flying solo tonight he probably would have given .50 again as he is still not 100% comfortable testing so frequently but he’s trying and I appreciate the support.
 
Yes, it is indeed terrifying at first. But once you get used to it, it is really addictive. Shooting consistently also helps a great deal in regulation. As he starts seeing lower numbers and flattening out, you will get beautiful flat blue and green cycles. He seems to have flipped a switch - touch wood.

Indigo is one of those cats that has end-of-cycle nadirs so you're going to have to get used to shooting low :-)
 
Back
Top