8/5 Hercules AMPS +341

B_Schweitzer

Member Since 2022
Hello this is my first posting to the message board. Hercules was diagnosed almost a couple of months ago. We have made progress with him gaining weight but i just can't seem to get his BG under control. A couple of times i have gotten BG values in the low 100s but the next 3 days all values have been in the 400s/500. He is consistently eating a LC wet food. He is on 0.1 mL budesonide which i know can cause insulin resistance. We have progressed to a dosing of 3 units. I feel like this is a pretty high dose and before i look to move to a higher dose just wanted some support.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1Zn9K9OL9Ke4ym1x_xh42gVUqZaViWl51tMjwbJHqsIg/edit?usp=sharing
 
Welcome to the best place for diabetic kitties! I had not heard budesonide causes insulin resistance, I was under the impression prednilisone does though. I'll flag a few others @tiffmaxee , @Wendy&Neko to look at Hercule's SS but it looks like bouncing to me, the liver not used to seeing the lower numbers. Good to hear he is gaining weight, good job.
 
Welcome! You are in the right place. I'm not one of the experts, but can identify with what you are saying about getting a few good values and then bouncing around in the very high numbers. It's so scary and frustrating when it seems like it should be under control, but is anything but. I don't have the wisdom or expertise to advise you on anything, but I know others will. Glad you are here.
 
Normally we ask new people to post an intro on the main forum but you have a spreadsheet and I am worried about your cat. The reason why is because I don’t think you understand how lantus works. Hercules’s bg dropped to 60 last night which is too low in a pet meter. Under 68 means you need to reduce the dose immediately. Your cat has likely been getting too much insulin which is why the amps and pmps are often high making it seem the insulin is not working. It’s actually the opposite. He is getting into low bg which causes his bg to go high. Lantus is dosed based upon how low it takes a cat,the nadir. For many cats that’s 4-6 hours after getting insulin. That’s why mid cycle tests are important. You are getting them which is good but you aren’t using that information to see if more tests are needed. If the +2-3 depending on when lantus onsets (starts working) is much lower than the pretest you need to get another test which you have done often but if that test is lower blue then get one more test if possible. Another test was definitely needed after that 60 as he could have continued down and had a symptomatic hypo.

Your ss says custom dosing. Who is guiding you?

On the day cycle on 8/3 there was a big drop at onset. That was a signal that it would be an active cycle requiring follow up tests. There was extra momentum because a bounce was breaking.

Budosonide for some cats does raise the bg but many cats can be on it and do well. I know of one cat here who did better on prednisolone but most do better with budesonide.

Please reduce his dose to 2.75. If your vet is the one guiding you call tomorrow if you don’t think I am right and let the vet know he got down to 60.

It would be a good idea I think to look at our dosing sticky and see if you would feel comfortable following either TR or SLGS.

If you have questions ask them all. We want to help and keep your cat safe.
 
Tiffmaxee (Elise) everything Elise told you is correct.
First of all do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings?
We don't increase doses by 0.5 units, we increase or decrease by 0.25 units
With that 60 BG reading thank god you cat could have had a symptomatic hypo
Please read all about Lantus/Glargine
I'll give you the link , read all the yellow stickys on here ,especially the 2 dosing methods and see which one you want to follow so you know when to increase or decrease the dose
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/forums/lantus-levemir-biosimilars.9/

Do you have your hypo kit ready if needed
Here's a few of med and high carb foods and get some honey
Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Beef Feast in Gravy 20% High Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Gourmet Chicken Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Turkey Feast in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Fancy Feast Gravy Lovers Chicken and Beef in Gravy 15% Med Carbs

Good idea to mark the cans with magic marker how many carbs
Or any ones on this food chart
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/dr-pierson-new-food-chart.174147/
 
Last edited:
Back
Top