Anita and Dino
Member Since 2015
He's never been that high. I gave him 1U after 6 days of .5U. Is that ok?
You are so awesome. Thank you for checking in.Hey Anita,
Just saying hi and checking in on you guys. I'm glad you're hanging in there. The more testing you do, the better. Yes, his ear will be bruised. My Boomer's right ear was always bruised but after a while it didn't bother me because I knew every blood test was getting him closer to being regulated. I would give him treats after the test (freeze dried chicken or deli turkey) and he'd come running to be tested. A lot of cats here would also do that. You wouldn't think that could ever happen but it does.
Keep up the great work.
Traci
Thanks for that. Yes, let's see how Dino does this weekend.You're welcome. I tried to check back with you last night but the board was down.
I think he's pretty bouncy, and maybe not staying long in lower numbers when he touches one. Anytime you can get a test between shots it will help figure things out. I'd try to catch him when he clears this bounce, probably between now and Saturday pm, to see how low he gets, so you can tell whether or not the 0.5u is enough.
If you're around on the weekend, maybe you could get a few more tests in the day cycle.
Many people ask for help on whether or not they should increase the dose until they get the hang of it. If you want help, just put something like "dose help" in your subject line and experienced people will take a look at the ss and help you figure it out.
Sure. I will do that. Thank you.I think you're ok to go up to .75 but let's see what others have to say. To get more eyes on your post you can add the ? icon to the subject line and perhaps add 'dose ?' in the subject line.
Thank you for responding. Ok, .75 it is. Unfortunately I can only do mid cycle tests between AMPS and PMPS on days I don't work. How do I start a new thread? And how do I put the link of my previous thread there? This website is still a bit confusing for me. Thank you.Hi Anita!
Nice to see you. I think it would be ok too. Notice on 6/23 how he was black at pmps? Look back and you can see the blue 190 at +6 - I'd interpret this to mean that he's bouncing from blue numbers. I'd increase him to 0.75u and try to make sure I got a mid-cycle test in both am and pm cycles, just to be certain how low the dose is taking him.
By the way, go ahead and start a new thread for every new day.Then you can just provide a link to the older post in your initial post of the thread, and people will look back there to see whatever happened before.
You are awesome. Thank you so much. I still have a ways to go before I get the hang of this but I learn a lot from people like you. Tell me, how can the mom of a diabetic cat ever go on vacation? How do you guys do it, if you do? Seems it would be very expensive to have someone qualified care of their baby if you don't live with someone.I actually had to do a little looking to figure out how to post a new thread. I haven't done any, I don't think, on this new site. We moved over in January and I just reply to other people's posts. But I found it - You want to start at the main page for the Lantus/Levemir Insulin Support Group (ISG) here.
Take a look at the top right or the bottom right of the whole page and there's an option to "Post New Thread." Click there.
Then you get "Create Thread" and a choice of a "Prefix" and a "Thread Title."
For the prefix, if you have a question click on the question mark. Then people will see it and your question won't get missed. The other 2 options - 911 is for a medical emergency like low numbers or a cat having a hypo and "GA" means "Gone Ahead" or "Guardian Angel" meaning that the kitty has passed away.
For the thread title, we use the format "date, cat's name, last preshot and any tests after that" - so it looks like
"6/28 Dino AMPS 456, +5 350, pmps 492"
You can also include a topic of a question like "dose help?" in the subject line.
Then whenever you have sufficient answers that you are satisfied, edit the thread title to remove the ? prefix icon and the "dose help?" from the subject line. As long as it's visible, people will think you still have questions and will keep checking back.
For your first post, you copy the web address of the previous thread and paste it in the first post of each day. To paste it click on the little paper clip icon in the blue strip over the area you write. Then a new window will open up and you paste the web address into it. Looks like this:
http://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/6-28-dino-amps-456-5-350-pmps-492.139678/
If it's too complicated, just ask and people will help you. Lots of people need help the first little while, so don't worry about that. The "New to the Group?" sticky has lots of good info for helping people get started. Keep asking questions. You might want to bookmark this thread "Where Can I Find?" that serves as sort of an index to this support group information, plus it has some other topics that might be helpful.
It's ok if you can just get tests during the days you don't work. A pm cycle test is probably the most important because most cats go lower at night. Just do what you can - everyone has lives. The more data you have the more confidence you'll have in being able to adjust his dose.
You're off to a great start, Anita! Hang in there - everything gets easier.