8/5 Charms AMPS 184, +2 199, +4 176

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sam and Charms

Member Since 2013
Yesterday's Condo

Getting so much great support and feedback from everyone, thank you. Charms is being Charms today! Demanding, active, alert, bright eyes! I love it, thank you all for getting us this far! Greedy for more greens but also just as scared of the low greens as I was of those blacks! So please keep me going here everyone!! - Sam
 
Hi guys .. I can't remember if I've been to charms condo before or not so welcome from us! These numbers are looking perfect! I know those first greens can be scary but soon you won't want anything else :lol: have a great day!
 
Good Morning Sam--

I don't think I've introduced us: I'm Kat and Gobbles is my sugarboy-in-remission; we live in NE Ohio and he is quite a handful (in fact, he's needier since going OTJ...go figure!). He went OTJ exactly 6 months, to the day, from his dx.

I looked at Charms' SS and gotta tell you--you are doing fantastic and yeah for Charms' great cat report today :-D

As Devon said, those early greens are scarier, but that is definitely what you want to see. Just curious--what is the lowest number you feel confident shooting? I note that you shot a BG of 107 on 7/28--good for you and Charms! It is good to put that number in your head because at the rate Charms' is regulating, you're sure to see some green pre-shot numbers soon. I remember that it scared the patience pants off me when I shot Gobbles' first green number, although it was both nerve wracking and exhilarating at the same time.

You sure are getting lots of tests in which is absolutely fabulous! Keep that up for sure.

Have a great day :mrgreen:
 
Just stopping by to say hi!
Wonderful news that Charms is doing and feeling great!!!
 
Go Charms! Love those blues and greens!

fyi: here's a great post by Marje on how to use calipers.

Here are some really good photos of calipers from Vicky and Gandalf from this post.

Here's a magnifier head strap with lights that I was thinking about getting. It's also from Harbor Freight.

From the levemir101 sticky:
If you're unsure how to dose in tenths, visit these pictures of small doses. Also the drop method works well for doses of under .5U: drop method pictures, drop method instructions.

Hope this helps. You can bookmark these links for future reference. Good luck!
 
Oh, forgot to answer your question about zyrtec. Sammy has periodic sneezing and coughing due to pollen/dust allergies. The vet diagnosed her via a blood test and prescribed steroids, which likely triggered the diabetes :sad:

When her allergies started up again recently, I decided to try zyrtec instead. She gets 5 mg twice a day; I just crush it up and blend it into her food. It seems to be working really well so far. She's been on it for about 9 days now, and only has a small sneeze or cough once or twice a day (unlike the long sneezing/coughing attacks she used to get). It took 2-3 days to kick in. The down side is that Zyrtec is excreted by the kidneys, and Sammy has CRD stage 1/2. So I am planning to reduce her dose and taper off soon. Hopefully she'll only need it occasionally.

Before giving zyrtec, I urge you to discuss with your vet.
 
Sam, I'm raising a fisted arm/hand for you and Charms and giving a whoop! whoop!

GO CHARMS----GO CHARMS----GO CHARMS---- GO CHARMS-----GO CHARMS

The Lantus although expensive, to me lasts so much longer than the Prozinc in two ways. I'm thinking it's the difference in syringe and most importantly it's control lasts longer in the kitty's body. Take it from a previous Prozinc user, Lantus is well worth the switch. Just think, it hasn't been long since you were wondering if Charms was ever going to come down and here Charms is showing great numbers. Sam, I knew you could master this. It doesn't take long does it. You are now giving a shot like a seasoned pro. Charms' bean is doing a great job. :mrgreen:

I still learn so much from being on FDMB. I've been doing some reading from your previous condo about Zyrtec. I never knew a kitty could be given that as an alergy med. So far, knock on wood, I haven't had to use an alergy med with a kitty, but my sister has been prescribed Chlortrimeton before (not sure of the dosing). It cleared her kitty's sneezing and cough right up. I'll have to make a note about the Zyrtec.

Sam, keep up the great work. Charms is looking Grrrrreat!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top