Re: 8/5 Charlie - Vomit & Diarrhea BG 7am (54). SKIPPED.
Jill! Ugh, drat my luck, I'm so sorry I'm coming late to this as I'd have been happy to watch the cycle with you, had you shot. I *just* got your email, too. Got up five minutes ago, put coffee on, splashed cold water on my face, switched on my laptop, and found this... I'm sorry!
For what it's worth, I'm with Marje about that dose. What I'm seeing when I look at Charlie's SS is this:
- Charlie is a cat that's still quite new to insulin treatment.
- Charlie's liver need what we call "liver training" - it "panics" at healthy numbers and floods Charlie's system with sugars/hormones, making her BOUNCE.
- The bounces take a couple of days to clear.
- For Charlie on Caninsulin, there is little data, and ecepting the last few days, testing was not at consistent times, which explains the "colourful" look.
- During the first couple of Lantus-days, the shed had not yet built up enough to have a "strong" effect, and even though you saw blue, the bounces were both lower and shorter.
- As the she began to build, you stared seeing green, and the bounces became higher and more prolonged, but what looks
to me still pretty much like "standard bouncing".
- This morning's beautiful green AMBG (not AMPS due to skipped shot, this once) was the FIRST green one, but look at the trend: except when she was still in bounce-mode, she came nicely down, albeit "only" into the blues for her morning pre-shots. This was was just her first "extra-low" one.
- Because of the cumulative nature of Lantus, this cycle would have pretty much played out similarly or the same even, whether you'd shot or not - the sipped shot of this morning wont' have most of its effect on *this* cycle, but on the next one(s).
- I don't see that her dose is too high. Instead, I see a cat responding fairly well, actually, to the insulin (and the dose), that simply needs a bit more time to show which direction she wants to go.
That's IMHO of course. I can understand how frustrated you are at seeing those high numbers, and at seeing Charlie feeling yucky. Like Marje said, it's likely that you're going to see more of that still, so you'll need those BOS to try and grin and bear it, ok? Love her and cuddle her and watch her carefully today - you can always re-assess whether to have the vet look at her again on Monday/Tuesday.
About the pain meds: If you suspect pancreatitis *IN THE LEAST*, you need to know that that's often an extremely uncomfortable and painful condition, and cats' masterful ability to mask pain doesn't exactly make treatment easier! Karre came back onto Lantus due to a case of pancreatitis, and he was in considerable pain. The pain meds helped a lot. Are there *any* signs Charlie is in pain? Will she allow you to pick her up? Will she allow you to massage her abdomen? If you palpate it, are there signa of flinching, or pulling away, or vocalizing? If you *do* suspect pain, I'd give the meds. I know it's another factor to take into consideration - but a cat in pain can have just as affected numbers as one who needs a dosing adjustment... Pain and stress, you know. Same for us beans!
For the sake of avoiding terms that are considered to be, let's say, on the margins - let's refer to bounces/bouncing. No, a cat does not at att need to have a hypo episode to bounce. They bounce off any number that feels low to their system or a drop that feels too fast, it need not be a green or even a blue number! And yes, an infection would very likely affect Charlie's numbers - how many more days of ABs again? (Coffee not kicked in yet.) Are you able to take Charlie's
temperature?
How is Charlie behaving right now?
I'm so sorry you're so concerned and have all these stress factors to contend with! Hang in there, k?
Jane