8/5 Celia AMPS 164, PMPS 193 Won't eat bc constipated. Shoot?.

Angie & Celia (Cruz)

Member Since 2023
Fyi, This is an emergency to me bc Idk whether to shoot in a rare situation like this or not & I've already skipped once today:
Constipated since Sat. eve 8/3. Gave her pumpkin puree 8/4, Gave her MIRALAX powder 1/2 tsp on 8/4 evening, then twice on 8/5. Trying to poop frequently, only 1 or 2 tiny drops of diarrhea came out today but will not eat, only a few licks off top of one meal. Dr. told me to skip her shot this morning, I guess bc she wouldn't eat even though her BG is never that high. Then now tonight: BG even though higher & now vet closed! Still won't eat. Shoot or no? And how long do you wait for Miralax to work before getting worried?
 
What does s mean in the dose box? Can you syringe feed if she won’t eat? Without any nadirs I can’t advise you. Maybe someone else will feel comfortable doing so.
 
Her bg is low enough that I would skip again. If nothing happens by tomorrow I would call the vet. I know people have done enemas at home but I never have had a cat that constipated. :bighug:
 
Her bg is low enough that I would skip again. If nothing happens by tomorrow I would call the vet. I know people have done enemas at home but I never have had a cat that constipated. :bighug:
Problem is vet doesn't have anything open this week & I already took off work today. Looked up cat home enemas but they're all things I don't have on hand & don't know where (in a brick n mortar) or have the luxury of time to buy, given the urgency. Did just feed her though via syringe but she only got about half her meal bc she fought me off by then. Idk whether to shoot tonight or tomorrow either.
 
Last edited:
Problem is vet doesn't have anything open this week & I already took off work today. Looked up cat home enemas but they're all things I don't have on hand & don't know where (in a brick n mortar) or have the luxury of time to buy, given the urgency. Did just feed her though via syringe but she only got about half her meal bc she fought me off by then. Idk whether to shoot tonight or tomorrow either.
Try giving her 1/4 tsp raw egg yolk. Do not give raw egg white…only egg yolk.

I give my cats egg yolk powder twice a day as it encourages motility so they never get hairballs or constipation. I like that it’s more natural than Miralax and they like the taste.

I took the 911 down since you have some responses. I hope you can get her feeling better soon.
 
Poor kitty, I hope the suggestions above will get things moving. For the appy issues, there are some helpful tips here on Stimulating Kitty’s Appetite

Hopefully both situations resolve quickly, but if the appy issues continue you may need to check in with your vet to get to the bottom of why she’s not eating since it may or may not be related to the constipation.
 
Something to think about, insulin does more in the cat's body than counter carbs in the food. Even cats who are going to have anaesthesia and cannot eat, can generally have a half dose.

If you skip, please makes sure to test for ketones. Inappetance, not enough insulin, plus possibly infection/inflammation if needing a dental, are a bad combination. Yes, ketones can happen in lower numbers too.
 
Something to think about, insulin does more in the cat's body than counter carbs in the food. Even cats who are going to have anaesthesia and cannot eat, can generally have a half dose.

If you skip, please makes sure to test for ketones. Inappetance, not enough insulin, plus possibly infection/inflammation if needing a dental, are a bad combination. Yes, ketones can happen in lower numbers too.
I'm sorry, so are you saying I shouldn't have skipped? Bc believe me, I was very hesitant myself. If that's the case, I'll syringe feed her again in the morning after i test her & shoot her if she seems high enough.
 
Last edited:
Try giving her 1/4 tsp raw egg yolk. Do not give raw egg white…only egg yolk.

I give my cats egg yolk powder twice a day as it encourages motility so they never get hairballs or constipation. I like that it’s more natural than Miralax and they like the taste.

I took the 911 down since you have some responses. I hope you can get her feeling better soon.
Just
Try giving her 1/4 tsp raw egg yolk. Do not give raw egg white…only egg yolk.

I give my cats egg yolk powder twice a day as it encourages motility so they never get hairballs or constipation. I like that it’s more natural than Miralax and they like the taste.

I took the 911 down since you have some responses. I hope you can get her feeling better soon.
Just ran to the store to buy eggs. Gave her 1/4 tsp yolk. Have to get up for work in 4 1/2 hrs, but I knew it was now or never.
 
OMG, she's finally eating on her own! After snubbing food, water, & cat broth all day: she finally ate some pate I put in front of her! She never loses her appetite so I'm hoping this was from the constipation (upset stomach, pain, etc.), idk. Still trying to poop though & licking her anus.
 
OMG, she's finally eating on her own! After snubbing food, water, & cat broth all day: she finally ate some pate I put in front of her! She never loses her appetite so I'm hoping this was from the constipation (upset stomach, pain, etc.), idk. Still trying to poop though & licking her anus.
Please let us know how she is doing.
 
Thank you so much for asking. Well, I gave her 1/2 tsp Miralax & 1/2 tsp yolk this morn, then she ate a little food from a bowl that was out overnight which shocked me bc she hadn't been eating plus she's picky so it's gotta be fresh. Then later, I found a sufficient amount of soft poop on the floor next to litter box. None of my cats poop on the floor & I had seen her earlier that day struggling to poop there once when she couldn't go. So I've been PRAYING that was HER poop. Then I waited 2+ hrs to TFS. She was 168 so I shot her about 3/4 of her normal dose bc I had a feeling she would refuse to eat and she did, so I syringe fed her as much as I could (only abt 1/2 her meal or less) until she growled & yelled so much at me: I knew she'd swipe soon. I also didn't see her running to the litterbox nonstop like she did all day yesterday, another reason for me to think it was her poop. I had her locked in with me in the kitchen where the litterboxes are for at least a half hr prepping for her test & she never tried to defecate. I don't even recall seeing her try after that, before I left for work. Come to think of it, I don't recall seeing her in a box all morning. So I've been checking my security cameras, worried to death all day. Can't tell much, just that she's laying on the floor like older cats usually do all day. Found 2 local vet hospitals today (other than my own that only has appts. about 2 wks out, ugh) that I haven't exhausted (i.e., have tried them before and they suck), so today will determine if I have no choice but to take her there. Really can't afford an ER. Already made an appt 2 wks out w/my vet to see if she can do a diagnostic (Xray, etc.) to see if there's a blockage or something bc starting to think too like a mod said above here that her infrequent, although chronic, hacking might be connected to this bc constipation is unprecedented for her (not that it doesn't happen though). The psyllium husk powder arrived today, the Vet's Best Hairball Relief tabs are on the way, and I'm looking for pumpkin or egg yolk powder for her. Will be home in 2h. Will keep you posted. Thanks for your help.
 
Came home tonight & Celia came out to scratch on her scratching board when she saw me, which usually means she's in a good mood, but I could be wrong. Then she went straight for the kitchen stool like she always did for her test/shot bc she knows it means food, which she didn't do ystrdy aft. once she stopped eating. So she waited while I prepped without running away like yesterday and I tested her and she was around my lowest BG limit to shoot so I gave her half a dose just in case something was off in her body with the lingering constipation/not eating issue. Then gave her Miralax mixed with yolk in a syringe. Then fed her wet food sprinkled with the psyllium husk powder that just arrived & she ate happily on her own! Didn't find any feces in the litter boxes though so Idk what to think. Playing it by ear again.
 
Took her to a different vet yesterday bc hers is booked for two weeks & he examined her abdomen & said he felt no poop & that she wasn't constipated, just diarrhea from "senior stress". Gave her Metronidazole. Not satisfied, would like to know why she's staining to poop then, why her anus is inflamed, & why she's got diarrhea to begin with & why is she still occasionally crying in pain like today. She's running less often to the box at least, but still only very small quantities of diarrhea. Taking her to different vet today.
 
Maybe start a thread on main to ask for vet recommendations for your area. I’m so sorry for you. I’ve never heard of senior stress. That vet is clueless. What are they teaching in vet school?
 
Maybe start a thread on main to ask for vet recommendations for your area. I’m so sorry for you. I’ve never heard of senior stress. That vet is clueless. What are they teaching in vet school?
Oh, I know. Thanks so much. Problem is: I've exhausted all the vets in my immediate area & even worked at 1, so I know how incompetent &/or overpriced they are. I took her to my former elderly vet of many yrs who I stopped going to bc he's trying to retire so never reverted his curtailed Covid hrs of 9-1p, which I could no longer do and he also doesn't have a lot of high tech equipment for certain needs & is the only doc there besides his son who just got out of vet school (you can't make this stuff up!). He examined her a day later & said the same thing: felt no poop/constipation so the straining & irritated anus must have been just from diarrhea & that it could be just a random occurrence in her digestive system (same thing I heard in the past from vets abt a fmr cat), but would check her fecal for parasites anyway (due Mon.). Prescribed her two 16mg Cerenia pills, Diagel, & I forget the third med's name (not w/me), but it was a paste in a syringe that you turn a dial & give 1ml twice a day (the 2 latter: antidiarrhea meds). Been giving her psyllium husk powder supplement & got probiotics on the way. Haven't been able to see yet if she still has diarrhea since then, but her mood and behavior have definitely improved 100%.
 
The only other thing that came to my mind based on some of what you described is possibly that she has impacted anal glands, although I would have hoped at least one vet you visited recently would have checked for that :rolleyes:.
 
Back
Top