8/5 Bob AMPS=358 HYSTERICAL video....

Status
Not open for further replies.

Lkldcatlady

Member Since 2013
yesterday's condo

Good morning LL!

I'm so frustrated. Anyone know what's going on here? Is this really another bounce already? I didn't catch how low bob went yesterday. Maybe it was lower than I thought. What the heck do I do to keep this from happening? Does this mean that his insulin is too high and making him go too low when his bounces are over? Sigh.... Any advice would be appreciated!

Hope everyone has a GREAT Monday!!! :-D
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Please remember to include the link to yesterday's condo.

This may be a bounce. It also may reflect that Bob's dose is too low. Do NOT change the dose, though. You'll need to stick with the 0.5u dose for 6 cycles.
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Dara, hang in there! If you wanna see BOUNCES - look at Tashie's SS! I'm embarrassed half the time to post as she seems like the ONLY cat that in "HIGH" - look at my SS and see how much "black" and "red" there is! Trust me, I KNOW how frustrating this can be! I'm on RED ALERT this morning because Tashie was 312 @ PS ........ she is either HIGH or dive bombs! There is just no "surfing" with her. That being said, don't give up! I've learned that this is a game of patience and half the time it's like spinning the wheel in Vegas - you NEVER know what the number will be - that part makes me crazy!
I also get that you WANT to dose according to PS numbers - ME TOO! But I am fairly certain that Lantus does NOT work that way - it's based on the nadir and you have to "hold" as dose to see how he responds. I can imagine that having to go to work makes you frantic! Hang in there - look at the difference in the amount of insulin you are giving him now vs. a few weeks ago. Patience! Now, that is calling the kettle black!

B & T
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Hi there--

Gobbles and I are visiting some condos and we are stopping by with a bouquet of green and blue roses!!! Come on Bob--smell those roses :-D
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

@Sienne - I added my link to yesterday - I posted on my phone this morning and it's so hard to do that with the itty bitty screen...Sienne, I'm worried about how I'm going to have someone give Bob his insulin while I'm away if he keeps doing this. I worry about him being high while I'm gone and I worry about him being low while I'm gone. It's hard to track what's going on because I'm free feeding the YA. I haven't noticed him eating too much in the last two days and I wonder if he's going to give me a problem about this food. I'm about 2 minutes away from giving up and letting him eat the dry I KNOW he will eat and going back to 4.25 units of insulin. I just don't know what else to do. I'm starting to understand why vets don't recommend this - I agree the TR is better for the kitty, but I'm about to go insane and take poor Bob with me. :sad: I hate not being in control of this situation and having no idea what is going on. Is he eating? Is he not eating? Is he bouncing or not? Is it too much insulin? Is it too little?? @-) going slowly insane....

@Bern - I know Bern! I'm trying hard to remember some people are having a worse time than me!!! It just seems like I've tried so much stuff and nothing is working - especially with the food. Poor Tashie and Bob! Quit bouncing!!!!

@Kat - Hi Kat & Gobbles! Long time, no chat! Thanks for encouraging Bob to behave! I hope you guys are doing well....
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Dara --

I work. Gabby is prone to early, fast drops. What works for us is that I am up early and get early tests. I'm fortunate in that Gabby has an early nadir so if I need to bump up numbers, I can give her enough food (with or without HC) before I leave and feel reasonably assured that she's safe.

What you might want to consider is whether adjusting your shot times will give you more peace of mind.
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

oh dear Dara

I always feel so badly for you. you and Jamie always break my heart. Such a tough situation.

Well,,,,what can I say?

I think that what Sienne has suggested is FANTASTIC! what are your shot times? What time do you get home in the afternoon/evening? if you could give Bob his AM shot 12 hrs. from the second you get in the door.....that would be so much better for you.

I wake up at 3:30.....to shoot Tom.....and I don't work!! I just want to be able to have him in the "safe zone" before the day actually begins for most: hubby bored and wanting to leave and go and play.......etc.

and then that PM shot is ideal as well.....Tom is usually in the "Safe Zone" at an ideal time for me to go to bed at a somewhat normal hour too

it is really easy: set alarm, stumble to kitchen, put on headlamp, put on 3x magnifying eyeglasses, get Lantus, find cat, poke cat, either sigh with relief or go to the bathroom earlier than normal, feed cat ......(that is where it is tricky with BOB) ......shoot cat.......maybe pet cat.....for sure kiss cat...smell cat's back for lantus :evil: :?: .stumble back to the sheets......set alarm. Alarm goes off: you try to remember if you shot the cat or not? stumble to the kitchen....put Lantus back in the fridge!

okay you get the point

Isn't there anyway of judging how much Bob is eating of the YA? I forget if you have other kitties?

Do you have any saved up vacation days? Any time soon? I just wish there was some way you could take 10 days and just get this cat OTJ! I know you could do it.....and that is why you and BOB are so heartbreaking to me.

He is demanding to get OTJ, but you just can't keep him SAFE to do so....and is not your fault....you are powerless in this....and I am so sorry.

Could your mom perhaps help "babysit" and pour syrup all damn day while you are at work?

you want to send BOB here with Tomcat? I would do it for ya!

Dara, I know,....I know....I know....you will see better days ...don't check out on us yet!!!
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Hi guys .. I'm sorry you are feeling so frustrated with this whole process .. I've been there myself many times but you can't give up! Moving the shot times around to early in the morning has helped quite a few people on the board, maybe that could work for you? Just hang in there guys .. there are some things in life you have to put a lot of work into before you see good positive results .. FD can be one of them!
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Hey guys - thank you so much for the encouragement. Unfortunately, I can't really move the shot times around - I work from 8:30 - 5:00 (and very often later) and get home at the earliest at 5:30. I could move it 1 hour earlier, but I don't think that will help me much. Also, I don't know anyone who is home during the day to check on him. Right now I'm just frustrated because I don't know why he is this high. I just want to know if it's the food or if it's the insulin or if it's another bounce. I just hate not knowing how to fix it. What if I am continuing to do the wrong thing? Also, what if he starts to refuse this food - that stresses me more than anything.

Additionally, I almost hurled this morning while cleaning out the litter. I cannot even describe the hideous smell of their poop now that they are on the YA. O.....M......G :o :shock: :o . I actually had to run out of the room and gagged for a few minutes and had to run back in, scoop, run back out, etc. I know I tend to lean toward the dramatic, but I'm not exaggerating this. And they were all staring at me like "what?". I have enough issues trying to get my crap together in the morning - I really didn't need that. :-Q

But i can't thank you guys enough for just listening to me gripe and understanding because we've all been there!!

Kelly - I'm packing Bob's suitcase right now!!!
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Kelly - I'm packing Bob's suitcase right now!!!


well.......ummmmm........I didn't know he came with stinky poops!! is it too late to retract my offer? :o
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Dara, I know this is hard and fussy eating can be the most frustrating thing! But just look where you have come from! Less than 2 weeks ago you were on 3.25 units and now Bob is just getting .5U!

I think Bob is bouncing, he was green again last night. You look at a number and think "Well, he shouldn't have bounced form that!" But Mr. L has his own criteria for bouncing. Sometimes it's how low, sometimes how fast or sometimes even how long numbers have been lower that Mr. L likes! ohmygod_smile We aren't in control of this, we cope as best we can. :YMHUG: :YMHUG:

BTW, if the litter box is that bad, put a little dab of Vicks Vapo Rub under your nose before cleaning the LB. :lol: :lol: I actually learned something from all those police shows on TV!
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Sending calming vines to Dara today. I think you need a trainload of them. Do you have some train tracks near your house? I'll just order up a special delivery of calming vines and deep breathing exercises for you and have them delivered door to door.
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

tomtom13 said:
Kelly - I'm packing Bob's suitcase right now!!!


well.......ummmmm........I didn't know he came with stinky poops!! is it too late to retract my offer? :o

Sorry Kelly! He's already on the way. I still have two kitties with stinky poop to take care of so don't feel so bad....

Ann & Tess said:
Dara, I know this is hard and fussy eating can be the most frustrating thing! But just look where you have come from! Less than 2 weeks ago you were on 3.25 units and now Bob is just getting .5U!

I think Bob is bouncing, he was green again last night. You look at a number and think "Well, he shouldn't have bounced form that!" But Mr. L has his own criteria for bouncing. Sometimes it's how low, sometimes how fast or sometimes even how long numbers have been lower that Mr. L likes! We aren't in control of this, we cope as best we can.

BTW, if the litter box is that bad, put a little dab of Vicks Vapo Rub under your nose before cleaning the LB. I actually learned something from all those police shows on TV!

Hi Ann! I didn't think about the 98. Geez -how do you stop all the bouncing??? It's like a never-ending cycle. Do you increase or decrease the insulin?

Good idea on the vicks. I bought some when we had a dead rat in the wall at work. I walked around with Vicks smeared practically all over my face - thought I wouldn't make it - probably lasted 2-3 weeks. I can definitely handle the poop in comparison to that smell.
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Hi Ann! I didn't think about the 98. Geez -how do you stop all the bouncing??? It's like a never-ending cycle. Do you increase or decrease the insulin?
You don't stop the bonces. Bob does. Eventually. I've read this a zillion times.... "Kitties bounce...until they don't"

The best defense against bounces it to recognize them when you see them. The appropriate response when you do see one is "Yep, it's a bounce". Then you ignore it until it goes away.

Then one day, after staying up until 4am after a PJ party where Bob dropped to 40 at +3, you'll get an AMPS test. Expecting to see a 395, you'll look at the meter and see a 99! :shock: And you'll say "WHA????, No bounce???"

Then you'll do this :mrgreen:
 
Guys - I had to share this video - I laughed so hard I almost fell out of my chair. It's so cute.... all of the Pets Add Life videos are hysterical

funny video
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Um, we might not want Dara near train tracks anytime soon! :shock:

You can do this Dara! I don't know how the bouncing stops, but it just seems to happen, especially with consistency. I sucked at that, but apparently it works if you can stick it out! :YMHUG:

As for the stinky stinky, I was at my parents' last week and it seems their cat lost the stinky after about 3 weeks on the YA. I bet that'll seem like an eternity! :lol:
 
Carl & Bob said:
You don't stop the bonces. Bob does. Eventually. I've read this a zillion times.... "Kitties bounce...until they don't"

The best defense against bounces it to recognize them when you see them. The appropriate response when you do see one is "Yep, it's a bounce". Then you ignore it until it goes away.

Then one day, after staying up until 4am after a PJ party where Bob dropped to 40 at +3, you'll get an AMPS test. Expecting to see a 395, you'll look at the meter and see a 99! And you'll say "WHA????, No bounce???"

Then you'll do this

Carl!!! I'm not sure I like your answer! :-Q
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Geez -how do you stop all the bouncing??? It's like a never-ending cycle. Do you increase or decrease the insulin?
:? If you look at Tess's SS you'll see I haven't managed that yet! :roll: :lol: :lol: You get to know how they bounce and if it seems longer than usual you increase. Tess likes curve balls though. Yes, we adjust doses, but just by shaves. Tess will probably never be OTJ, we're just hoping to get her to stop bouncing! :roll: …… eventually!
angry25.gif


OMG on the rat! Yeah, LB should be no problem after that!
 
Ah, bouncing....welcome to the dance. It is frustrating, but as the others have said, they kitties are in charge here...big sigh. Hopefully the stinkiness will dissipate as their bellies get used to the YA.

That video is hilarious...but I wanted to see the kitten!!!
 
Re: 8/5 Bob AMPS=358 at a loss.....

Ann & Tess said:
Geez -how do you stop all the bouncing??? It's like a never-ending cycle. Do you increase or decrease the insulin?
:? If you look at Tess's SS you'll see I haven't managed that yet! :roll: :lol: :lol: You get to know how they bounce and if it seems longer than usual you increase. Tess likes curve balls though. Yes, we adjust doses, but just by shaves. Tess will probably never be OTJ, we're just hoping to get her to stop bouncing! :roll: …… eventually!
angry25.gif


OMG on the rat! Yeah, LB should be no problem after that!

Awwww.....Tess IS a bouncy little girl! I'm just confused as to why his bounces (if he had one) were very small and short during his week on wet food. Now we are on the YA and it's all crazy! I guess I really got my hopes up while he was eating the wet food. My hopes have been dashed against the rocks and I guess I just have to adjust....lots of people are dealing with the same thing! At least I have support and am not alone. :-D

Amy&TrixieCat said:
Ah, bouncing....welcome to the dance. It is frustrating, but as the others have said, they kitties are in charge here...big sigh. Hopefully the stinkiness will dissipate as their bellies get used to the YA.

That video is hilarious...but I wanted to see the kitten!!!

I did too Amy! I was waiting for them to introduce the kitten to the dog. :sad: Oh well, it was really funny anyway.

mariko said:
Hi Dara,
Hang in there! You're doing great!

Hi Mariko! thank you for stopping by and lending your encouragement. I really appreciate it! :-D
 
Dara

Actually, I think you should have taken him back up to 1u this morning because you shot .5u last night as a BCS. When we shoot a BCS, we usually go back to the regular dose the next cycle unless there is some reason not to. Because your condo from yesterday wasn't linked and there is no note on your SS, I think Sienne just thought you the reduced the dose. It was not clear that you shot a BCS. If you had just reduced the dose and not shot a BCS, I would have agreed with her. Remembers there are several of us helping you so we need to be able to tell what you did just by reading the condo or looking at the SS.

Dara....dear Dara. You gotta dose more consistently. I'm sorry :YMHUG: :YMHUG: Hate to give you tough love when you are down but those teddy bear balls aren't helping Bobby. We aren't going to be able to see where he's really at by your trip if his numbers are wonky because of dose changes.

And on the bouncing....you have a huge crowd of supporters. Look at Gracie's SS. I'll have her with very minimal bouncing for several cycles and then out of nowhere....ICK!!! But I know she will come back down.

The protocol addresses nadirs of 50-120 and that once you have them there, you hold the dose. But, I look at Gracie's nadirs when she clears a bounce and decide whether it is too high or too low. I like her nadirs to be around 70. So if she is nadiring in the 50s (outside of a bounce clearing cycle because I know she always goes lower then), then I fine tune the dose down just a hair. If she's nadiring in the 120s, I take the dose up just a hair.

Bob is newly dx and may respond better to increases of .25u. ECID. I just thought I'd share with you my approach at getting my head through the bounces.

But I also shoot low (above 50)......just sayin'.

PS: Remember that the TR protocol has as a requisite that you feed low carb canned or raw food and that is what the research was based upon. It does not say anything about feeding zero carb dry food. So my suggestions are geared towards you feeding canned/raw food and not the dry. If you are going to feed the dry, my comments are not applicable.
 
The other thing about YA zero-carb.... From all I've read here and elsewhere, that claim of "zero" seems to be up for debate. I've read that there are sources of carbohydrates in it, just that they are supposed to be "non-digestible carbohydrates"? It sounds to me like some sort of magical elixir like "Dr. Johnson's Miracle Potion" or something. Even the really really low carb canned foods have some carbs. Shrimp is extremely low (zero according to nutritional calculators - probably "trace" in reality) in carbs, but if you eat three pounds in a sitting (yeah, I have :mrgreen: ), you're eventually going to get a cumulative gram of carbs into your system.

I just don't understand how you can get "zero" out of a pet food. It isn't like pet foods have perfect nutritional ingredients. If they did, nobody could afford to buy them.
 
And there are a lot of ways to calculate carbs, "Guaranteed Analysis" (well, usually they skip the carbs w/ that, but I have seen a few),"As Fed" "Dry Matter" "Metabolized Energy" (which is the most accurate and the one our food lists use). But the companies will go with whatever makes their food look the best and it is often hard to figure out which one they use.
 
Marje and Gracie said:
Dara

Actually, I think you should have taken him back up to 1u this morning because you shot .5u last night as a BCS. When we shoot a BCS, we usually go back to the regular dose the next cycle unless there is some reason not to.

Actually, I did shoot 1 unit this morning. Not sure why I put the .50 - mind's just kind of all over the place.

Marje and Gracie said:
PS: Remember that the TR protocol has as a requisite that you feed low carb canned or raw food and that is what the research was based upon. It does not say anything about feeding zero carb dry food. So my suggestions are geared towards you feeding canned/raw food and not the dry. If you are going to feed the dry, my comments are not applicable.

Marje - I would love it if Bob was eating the canned. I'll bet a million dollars he would have been on his way to being OTJ very soon if he had - did you see his ss the week I was feeding canned? Even his bounces were very small and short. He didn't eat for almost 2 days towards the end(maybe a lick here and there). I don't know why he was eating it the majority of the week, but even then he was being really weird. One day he would like it and one day he wouldn't - he would just stare at me like "where's my food?". I know it took Dr. Lisa's cat 9 months to convert, but Bob has to eat NOW obviously. I've even tried to give him the canned again and he shows no interest. I'm going to give the YA a fair shot, but he's already starting to act weird about it. He sniffs it and looks at me and if he refuses to eat this too, I'll put him back on regular dry food and just have to give him high doses. I just don't understand - Hector and Penelope have eaten ANYTHING I put down. Not sure why Bob is so dang weird. I want more than anything to do the best by him and get him OTJ, but it's not totally up to me. Bob knows I'm his ***** and he's going to make sure I know it. Love him anyway tho! :roll:

Carl & Bob said:
The other thing about YA zero-carb.... From all I've read here and elsewhere, that claim of "zero" seems to be up for debate. I've read that there are sources of carbohydrates in it, just that they are supposed to be "non-digestible carbohydrates"? It sounds to me like some sort of magical elixir like "Dr. Johnson's Miracle Potion" or something. Even the really really low carb canned foods have some carbs. Shrimp is extremely low (zero according to nutritional calculators - probably "trace" in reality) in carbs, but if you eat three pounds in a sitting (yeah, I have ), you're eventually going to get a cumulative gram of carbs into your system.

I just don't understand how you can get "zero" out of a pet food. It isn't like pet foods have perfect nutritional ingredients. If they did, nobody could afford to buy them.

I'm not sure what the deal is with it but it's the only option I have right now. It's that, or the 20% carb Orijen. I won't feed my kitties Evo because of all the recalls (P&G is SATAN!!!). Yeah - my favorite meal is corn and potatoes with that white country gravy made with flour. I started testing myself with Bob's meter and I'm like "uh-oh!!". I'm falling into the pre-diabetic zone. Yikes!
 
Dara, I know it's tough, but hang in there. We all have to deal with bounces and it drives me just as crazy not being able to figure out why she's bouncing or when she'll quit. It makes it more difficult to have to go to work and not be able to test during the day. I just keep reminding myself that I'm doing the best thing for Furball to either get her OTJ or get her regulated and feel good.
 
Yep. "Me, too!" said Me, too.

Can't really add a whole lot to what's been said here, except I agree with pretty much everything said :lol: - Tigger bounces & bounces & bounces. At least I get some sleep - except the one time he bounced - I thought - & slept the rest of the night - then woke up to a 110 AMPS - & thought I'd died & gone to Heaven, heard the chorus & everything & thought we were heading over the hump... Except the next PMPS was back to a bouncy 320 - then 360 - & tonight 371. Patience pants.... :roll:

Regarding the YA,
Carl said:
From all I've read here and elsewhere, that claim of "zero" seems to be up for debate. I've read that there are sources of carbohydrates in it, just that they are supposed to be "non-digestible carbohydrates"?
I was on their site this AM checking it out & I see they use cellulose in their food (same as McDonald's, boca burger, ice cream & lots of others) - which is a fancy word for tree fiber - apparently not digestible, & doesn't have calories. Don't know if that's true, but that's the smear on the street.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top