? 8-5-18 “Nelli” AMPS 375 help with setting up spreadsheet please

Status
Not open for further replies.
Welcome :bighug:

Your signature "story" made me angry. Gizmo is one that has FD as a result of steroids. He was given them for pancreatitis. I didn't know at the time that steroids could throw them into FD but he probably would have died without them so...

Someone will be along to help with the SS.
 
Thank you very much. When Nelli was diagnosed with MILD asthma last April Vet spoke with me at that time about possibility of her needing to be on steroids at some stage. I made it crystal clear, very clear that I did not ever want Nelli to be on steroids. The vet understood and agreed with my adversion to steroids. I did not know that she was given steroid shot last August, why would I have been suspicious or inquire before they took her to give her a shot... that it was in fact steroid? I was confident I would never need to go there- it had become a non-topic?!
 
So has she been diabetic for a year? How much does she weigh? What dose is she on? How much are you able to test?
 
I don’t know how long she has been diabetic. I have gotten mixed recommendations by different vets, over past nine months from- she needs to be on insulin to... let’s just keep an eye on this?! All vets were responding differently to BG readings which were in the upper 300s into 400’s. I am sure, as I also know glucose reading can show FALSE HIGH under stresss.
She has dropped weight from 7.3 KG on May 3 to 6.4 KG a few weeks back.
She has not been continuing to lose weight or I should say has not lost weight rapidly but obviously based upon the above she has been losing weight. I should weigh her before her dinner today.
She is on 3U.
Her vet had me increase (within same day cycle) one unit. From 2U to 3U back on July 27.
Her BG readings are consistently in the upper 300 to low 400’s. I am very confused and worried about what this is physically doing to her.
NO rest. NO clear mind. (Oddly?), I am loosing weight.
I am trying to keep my business afloat am at crossroads with that. Nelli is my best friend and sole companion. I am a very strong person... who feels like a train wreck.
Thanks for your interest : )
 
I don’t know how long she has been diabetic. I have gotten mixed recommendations by different vets, over past nine months from- she needs to be on insulin to... let’s just keep an eye on this?! All vets were responding differently to BG readings which were in the upper 300s into 400’s. I am sure, as I also know glucose reading can show FALSE HIGH under stresss.
She has dropped weight from 7.3 KG on May 3 to 6.4 KG a few weeks back.
She has not been continuing to lose weight or I should say has not lost weight rapidly but obviously based upon the above she has been losing weight. I should weigh her before her dinner today.
She is on 3U.
Her vet had me increase (within same day cycle) one unit. From 2U to 3U back on July 27.
Her BG readings are consistently in the upper 300 to low 400’s. I am very confused and worried about what this is physically doing to her.
NO rest. NO clear mind. (Oddly?), I am loosing weight.
I am trying to keep my business afloat am at crossroads with that. Nelli is my best friend and sole companion. I am a very strong person... who feels like a train wreck.
Thanks for your interest : )
I have not eaten anything all day yet and I am very hungry… will be scarce for a bit in Forum.
 
One thing I do at vets, is cat is not allowed to be taken to "back" room, unless for xray and I've been known to stand in door of xray room.

Any and all procedures are done in front of me. Since I'm usually holding her on the table any needle coming at her is questioned before I move my arms. There are a few drugs I will not allow on any of my kitties.
 
With GLU readings consistently high since increasing from 2U- 3U 8 days ago and reading some scares about “high too long...” I am worried. Do you think, based upon days of, I should go up .25U?
 
Let's wait until someone has arrived who can help you with the spreadsheet. Then we can help with dosing. There may be more spreadsheet help if you post for help on the Feline Health forum, we just have a couple people here who do that. And like everyone here, they are volunteers, so not available all the time.

Don't increase until we have a better picture. It's better to be high for a day than too low for a minute. You don't want to increase too quickly by too much, and miss a good dose,
 
Let's wait until someone has arrived who can help you with the spreadsheet. Then we can help with dosing. There may be more spreadsheet help if you post for help on the Feline Health forum, we just have a couple people here who do that. And like everyone here, they are volunteers, so not available all the time.

Don't increase until we have a better picture. It's better to be high for a day than too low for a minute. You don't want to increase too quickly by too much, and miss a good dose,
Thanks!
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top