? 8/4 Tommy AMPS 149, +6@266 , +12@320?

Tommy_15

Member Since 2022
8/2/22 post: https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...-8-185-pmps-250-1-25u-ok.266634/#post-2984761

8/3: tested at AM+7, BG is flat from AMPS level. Seems as a repeat of 7/31 run. Looking for an explanation how can it be a flat curve with insulin injection. Did we inject it wrong or the flat curve could be "normal" on depo insulin and since kitties are different? more surprises at PMPS with BG dropping to 179. Proceeding still with 1.25u dose since during 8/1cycle with BG at PMPS in mid 100th, in 12 hrs BG jumped back to mid 200th. Please advise if it is ok to continue the same dosing for a few more days to get to 1 week mark or we need to get more midcycle testing to build the new curve capturing nadir asap and see if the dose needs to go up. Not certain on this after reading a sticky on SLGS if a new curve building testing to be done 1 week after changing the dose or asap since nadir is not getting below 100? Please advise

8/4 AMPS was at 149 but in AM+6 it jumped all the way to 266. One possible explanation is that actual dose might've been less then 1.25u. Have been straggling with bubble forming in BD syringes when pulling the insulin from the pen. Not sure if this is a pen issue or mine. Wasting so much insulin fighting the bubbles... Any suggestions? please
 
Last edited:
When BG heads up after giving insulin or stays today and high, it could be because he is bouncing from lows. For example, in the AM cycle of 8/4, he was bouncing from lower numbers that he might have seen on the night of 8/3.

Here's more on bouncing:
"Bouncing is simply a natural reaction to what the cat's system perceives as a BG value that is "too low". "Too low" is relative. If a cat is used to BGs in the 200's, 300's, or higher for a long time, then even a BG that drops to 150 can trigger a "bounce". Bouncing can also be triggered if the blood glucose drops too low and/or too fast.The pancreas, then the liver, release glucogon, glycogen and counter-regulatory hormones. The end result is a dumping of "sugar" into the bloodstream to save the cat from going hypoglycemic from a perceived low. The action is often referred to as "liver panic" or "panicky liver". Usually, a bounce will clear kitty's system within 3 days (6 cycles)."

With SLGS you hold a dose 7 days unless the BG drops below 90 and he earns a reduction. You do a curve after a week on the dose. If he needs an increase you hold the increased dose for a week and then do a curve. If after week on a dose, you run a curve and the numbers are where you want them to be, you hold the dose and run a curve after another week.

A curve might not always give you an accurate idea of how he's doing on a dose. If he happens to be bouncing on the day of the curve, you will get high and flat numbers. The best way to gather data on how he's doing is to get a many spot checks as you can. A before bed test every night will tell you if he looks like he's going to head much lower.

It's pretty normal to get bubbles in the syringe. Getting rid of them sometimes can be very annoying. There was a thread a few weeks back discussing this. Let me see if I can find it for you.

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2968270/
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/posts/2967995/
 
Back
Top